We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Le Grand Large
Ranked #43 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
ORADEA,ROMANIA
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“An amazing find”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great hotel with a fantastic location, very easy to find.It is in the middle of Essaouira , next a commercial street.Walking distance to bus station, short walk to beach, harbour or city walls.
The staff was wonderful, very attentive and helpful with every tourist.
The breakfast was the best in my Morrocan trip, very tasty and fresh.It was served on a splendid rooftop terrace with a lot of comfortable chairs.Some sea-gulls will try to eat some food in the same place.
My room was basic but I had a lot of space for me and my bag.Very clean room and comfortable.Wifi was OK.I had hot water all the time in the shower.No lift.
It was a little noise around the hotel but the place have a relaxing atmosphere .
I had a lovely time here and wished I was staying longer.

Room Tip: If you want to change the room because the noise of the street is too loud it's better to ask th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    57
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
27
84
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed two nights at the riad. It was about a 10 minute walk from the bus station and we only got lost once but people were helpful and showed us where to go. The sign for the riad was only facing one direction and of course it was not the direction we were walking. Upon our arrival we were given a glass of mint tea that was very good. The room was comfortable and had a view to the side street which also created a lot of night noise. People were outside talking until 2 AM and we could hear everything they said so not a lot of sleep. The shower in the bathroom had no lip around it so when you showered the bathroom floor got wet. The location was on one of the main streets in the medina so the location was great. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was good but slow. Three kinds of bread/rolls, orange juice, coffee, egg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 22Bikegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent 2 nights at this raid. Before arrival we had sent them an email asking them if they could book a taxi for us from Agadir airport since we had no other means of getting to Essaouira. The taxi driver was waiting for us at the airport and we had a pleasant ride. The riad itself is in the middle of the medina, easy to find and easy to get back to anytime. We were in room 6, which was a family room ( we had only asked for twin), with two single beds and a double. It was a good size room. Since the room overlooked the street side it was very loud, but all in all it was an enjoyable stay. Breakfast on roof terrace consisted of omelette, jam, butter, different types of bread, orange juice and coffee. They also helped me find a place for a massage. I would recommend this riad but maybe go for a more quiet area if you plan to rest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vidainbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, we were bothered by construction noises in our room and could not use it to take a much needed break from the sun when we returned to the Riad around midday. Also, we had no water to take a shower on several occasions, and the shower head had no wall mount so you had to shower one-handed. Staff were unable to amend these problems, and would not agree on a discount. Hard to take seriously when basic needs like rest and shower can't be had. 1/5, 1/10, 1/20 and maybe 2/50.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steinar_mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Centrally located Riad with comfortable rooms, good breakfast on roof terrace, staff were friendly and helpful, mint tea on arrival. The room was on the small side for a triple but bathroom was good with plenty of hot water

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerdmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed here with a friend for a week a couple of years ago for the music festival and a few days to chill. It was quite hard to find and it is worth paying a porter to help you with your bags etc. We were given a room on the top floor of the terrace and seemed to have the terrace to ourselves for a few days. It is in the middle of the medina and close to the main squares and sea. We were greeted with tea and biscuits each afternoon and breakfast was served daily on the veranda by the two most friendly ladies. On a couple of occasions we chose to eat dinner at the hotel and the food was all fresh and good. Our room was of a good size and very clean. We loved our stay and I am only sorry to the owners and their wonderful staff that I have not got around to posting this review until now.

Room Tip: The room on the top, opening onto the terrace was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

this has some bad points, but the kindness of the staff compensate, for example the room was not ready by 14h30, but the man in the reception cooked us moroccan tea to apologize, which we really appreciated. the standard rooms are so small that I felt I would lack oxygen during the night, and the sunlight enters the room unavoidably at the morning due to the light curtains, so I, like many other previewers here, woke up many times since dawn. Overall, it is a good place for the price and for the location.

Room Tip: standard double rooms are too small sunlight enters the rooms very early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ouzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 74 in Essaouira
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#34 of 74 in Essaouira
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sahara
Hotel Sahara
#69 of 74 in Essaouira
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caverne d'Ali Baba
Caverne d'Ali Baba
#40 of 74 in Essaouira
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Grand Large? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Grand Large

Property: Riad Le Grand Large
Address: 2 Rue Oum Rabia, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#24 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Le Grand Large 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a superb view over the medina and situated in the heart of Essaouira's historic centre, this enchanting guest house is set around a luminous patio, which leads to a Moroccan living room.Built around the communal patio, lined with plants, the 10 sober and elegant rooms, furnished in moucharabieh, sabred, and wrought iron, are fully equipped with a private bathroom and feature typical Moroccan décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Le Grand Large reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Grand Large Hotel Essaouira
Riad Le Grand Large Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing