We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Le Grand Large
Ranked #42 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewed 19 January 2011

The Riad Grand Large was a good riad, with helpfull (although only french speaking) staff. Real value for money with good location, clean rooms, and a nice terrace. The kitchen served great food, but the breakfast was a bit plain. As previously mentioned on tripadvisor, the rooms were a bit damp, but it wasn't a big problem.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2010

We expected a cheap backpackers place, but this was the best riad we stayed of the 8 riad's we visited. Moreover, this place offers the best value for money. By far!

The atmousphere was great, very relaxing. The riad is perfectely situated in the medina, but this place is very quiet en peacfull.

This riad has severall nice lounge corners where you can read, play games or meet other travellers. We loved the roof terrace! The staff was extremely friendly and helpfull! The ladies were so nice when they found out that may boyfriend suffered from food poisening. They offered him green tea, hot chocolate and medicines.

Just lovely!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shesports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

I stayed at the Riad Le Grand Large a couple of days ago. If you're looking for a place for a night, i recommend this hotel.

Pros
-Nice reception and very helpful.
-Good Internet Connection
-Staff are all very nice
-Middle of Medina

Cons
-Bathroom flush keeps breaking
-Floor is always wet in the shower room
-Dangerous to walk at night after 10 pm, and I am a guy.
-Long stairs to the terrace to get breakfast
-Not easy to find the place
-Very noisy outside
-Not the most comfortable bed

Although the hotel is cheap and the staff are all very nice, i won't come back to the hotel. I rather pay a bit more so that i can have a cleaner room and less noise outside.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chriseverclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Very hard to find a decent riad at 25 euros but this is it. Took us ages to find it as we used google maps....bad idea. Great location, no frills and fiendly receptionist. Go for it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystalpalace1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

A small Riad in the heart of the old Medina, very atmospheric giving a real feel of Marocco. They were very good in cancelling one of our night stay with them without charge when we found that we had to leave after one night due to the local holidays and the cancellation of the bus service to Agadir.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Good location close to everything in the old town. Bright and colorfully painted on the inside. Great value - we paid about $35 a night for an en-suite double room. Excellent showers compared to other riads we stayed in! Staff was mostly French-speaking.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This riad is in a perfect location.In the centre of the medina and easy walking distance to the beach.The price reflects the standard of accomadation.The rooms are quite small but functional.Breakfast served on the roof terrace is lovely.The staff at the riad are friendly and helpful.the fact we payed £75 for three nights was fantasic value for money.Essaouira is lovely and this riad was perfect for our short stay.Would recomend this riad to anyone travelling on a tight budget but like to be in the heart of things.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#33 of 75 in Essaouira
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#43 of 75 in Essaouira
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sahara
Hotel Sahara
#70 of 75 in Essaouira
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 75 in Essaouira
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caverne d'Ali Baba
Caverne d'Ali Baba
#39 of 75 in Essaouira
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Grand Large? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Grand Large

Address: 2 Rue Oum Rabia, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#24 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £18 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Le Grand Large 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a superb view over the medina and situated in the heart of Essaouira's historic centre, this enchanting guest house is set around a luminous patio, which leads to a Moroccan living room.Built around the communal patio, lined with plants, the 10 sober and elegant rooms, furnished in moucharabieh, sabred, and wrought iron, are fully equipped with a private bathroom and feature typical Moroccan décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Le Grand Large reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Grand Large Hotel Essaouira
Riad Le Grand Large Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing