We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Roof Terrace view of Atlantic, impressive intererior but cold”
Review of Riad Mimouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Mimouna
Ranked #14 of 175 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Amazing Roof Terrace view of Atlantic, impressive intererior but cold”
Reviewed 18 May 2008

Loved Essouira, went by bus from Marrakesh, after train from Fes and train from Tangiers. Sleepy, 1960s seaside/fishing port. Lovely lovely place, from the ramparts, to the family wood carvers below the rampart walls to the icecream sit outside shop in the main square( can not remember the name), Laid back and not in your face like Marrakesh. Try the fish from the little cafe's near the fishing harbour. They are hard sale, but part of the charm and atmosphere of the place. Have lunch above one of the restaurants at the corner of the main sq near the fishing port and listen to live music by a 2008 Dylan look alike.

Anyway, Riad Mimouna - of the beaten track and down some dirty and badly lit alley ways, but when you get to a big old wooden door and beyond, worth the walk - only 5 mins really from the main fishing harbour sq. Set on the Ramparts, Ask for a seaview room as it is fab. Forget the review from a previous reveiwer saying that the sound of the white breaking waves of the Atlantic Ocean 24/7 kept him awake and was a negative. It is what is all about, amazingggggggggggggg.............. open your little wooden shutter window and let the Atlantic in. It was not possible in Mar for us to keep the window open, as the door of the room acted as a wind tunnel, facinating. However, in warmer months, I would have slept with both windown open and listened to roar of the waves on the rocks, just beneath the window. If you get a room, on the corners facing the sea, next door to us, we sneaked in when maid left door open and they had a panoramic styled wall to ceiling window looking out at the atlantic, white water and rocks and a flat screen tele. On the roof for breakfast, all be it windy and March, but sunny a panoramic view of Essouira and the whole of the sea - absolutely fab.

Room, small and functional, tired really, but clean. Small shower room, nothing special, but probably traditional - with the two windows that looked out on the sea which made the whole thing for us. The rest of the Riad, that does not remotely resemble a windmill, or a trad RIad, is quite impressive, with stone floors and the view up from the middle to the other floors is impressive. The fountain on ground floor is to. Very dark in lobby and reception. Needs an injection of life from the owners really as they are missing fab opportunities re location and size and potential. Enough now I think. Sharon

  • Liked — The view from the roof terrace and the room
  • Disliked — smell of the stairwell, musty and the dark cold reception area
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roesmetravel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    144
    44
    18
    14
See reviews for
60
241
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

Loved our time at Riad Mimouna, which is richly decorated. We had a clean, spacious sea-view room where we could hear the ocean waves crashing on the rocks. Staff were friendly. We'd recommend the delicious French-Moroccan dinner and breakfast. The riad can be hard to find on a dark Essaouira street, but not a major issue.

  • Liked — Richly decorated interior, friendly staff, tasty food
  • Disliked — Low lit street to access riad
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

My partner and I went to this lovely hotel for just over one week, in August 2006. What an oasis! The staff were absolutely lovely- so helpful and welcoming. We had a room with a sea view and I would recommend that you spend the extra money for this feature. We opened our arch-shaped windows and we literally had the sea straight before us, and crashing against the rocks directly below us- sensational!

The room was really lovely- well cared for, traditional Moroccan décor, and the bathroom was great (top to floor mosaics, a hand beaten copper basin, and a round shower). Lots of cupboard space and all the cupboards locked. We felt that our belongings were really safe here. The breakfast is great too- traditional Moroccan breakfast, plenty to eat, and you can have it on the roof terrace (looking over the sea and the surrounding rooftops) or in your room.

There are lots of lounge spaces too that you can sit in and chill out and they are very ornate- walls covered in amazing mosaics.

This was such a fantastic hotel, it a great location at the back of the medina wall (nice and quiet), with stunning sea views. I would definitely return and would recommend it to anyone visiting Essaouria. It was a very special part of our trip.

  • Liked — The ornate Moroccan decor and the stunning views and sound of the ocean
  • Disliked — The street leading to the riad is quite dark at night
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Imogen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Spent 2 nights at this fantastic Riad. Definitely worth paying a bit more for a room with a sea view. Breakfast was a small feast, eaten up on the roof overlooking the beach. Fantastic fishing village, the locals are more interested in their work than hassling tourists. Watch them sort their catch down at the port, enjoy freshly grilled fish at the shore and shop without hassle. The beach is HUGE, and not too windy to sunbathe, as some reports suggest. Theres windsurfing, fishing and jet skis but will probably develop more. Lots of lovely restaurants, quite reasonable price, Restaurant La Petite Perle was full of tourists but cheap and good food with a fun atmosphere.
Easily a long w/e break from the UK - fly to Marrakech, transfer by bus to Essaouira (2.5hrs) then relax on the beach.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank happytraveller2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#17 of 74 in Essaouira
197 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais des Remparts
Palais des Remparts
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mimouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mimouna

Property: Riad Mimouna
Address: 62 Rue d'Oujda | Sandillon, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mimouna 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Mimouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mimouna Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing