We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean View Tastique”
Review of Riad Mimouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Mimouna
Ranked #15 of 182 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We flew in to Marakesh and after a long taxi journey of near misses (people, dogs, cyclists and other cars with no lights) at night we arrived at the gates of the city. We then had our bags portered in a hand trolley and trundled at some pace through still busy alleys. An exciting start to our stay!! The Riad was a haven of tranquility and peace from the constant movement of the rest of the city and we were glad of this rest time. Our room had the sea view which was constantly changing and we were fascinated by the daring exploits of the young lads tombstoning off rocks and men collecting seafood from the rock pools below. The breakfasts are continental in style with the thrill of an extra treat from the kitchen each day: pancakes/muffin/crumpets. All with delicious honey and wake up coffee served on the top floor in a covered terrasse, if its too windy to brave the outdoor space (cleaned every morning). The hotel is well oiled and the staff are very good at what they do. I highly recommend.The city is exciting and lots to discover in the maze of streets. We ventured out through the city to the outskirts of town past the horse and carts and the car mechanic repair zone to find a supermarket for some lunch items; although this was more expensive it turned out than eating out. There are also clothing quarters where the ornate trims are made and jewellery sections where you can browse without being pressured. We loved Silvestro for Italian food and Taros for cocktails and magician who got my watch without me noticing or feeling!

Room Tip: Ocean view mini suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3toedsloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRiadMimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear client,

We would like to thank you for your special comments, we do appreciate that !!!

we are very pleased to count you among our best clients

And I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Amazing riad in a nice location. Our room was overlooking the ocean and had a glass wall. The sound of the waves in the night is unforgettable. We'll maintained, clean riad, nice staff. Definitely worth visiting!

Room Tip: Choose the suite with the ocean view, worth paying a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdicA000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiwixmimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear client,

Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate that !!!

I will transfer your compliments to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort

And I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Best regards, and ave a great week !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Amazing views down the rampart walls and ever-changing coast. As an artist I spent some hours just looking out the window at the rocks that emerged from the waves and painting the coastline (yes I brought my oil paints and canvases to Morocco with me). Food was okay...by this time we had had enough tajine for the time being anyway. Service was fine. People are very friendly. Be sure to visit the Berber store just steps from Mimouna's front door. The proprietor is wonderful and he is happy to pour you some tea and discuss the meaning of the many Berber designs of jewelry he carries. We recommend Essaouira and Merzouga where we stayed at Auberge du Sud at the edge of the desert. Love, love, love both these places on our trip organized by Ibex Expeditions who are focused on real experiences so we knew we'd get the flavor of Morocco.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a water view. Ours was a corner room right above the reception desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank technokitty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiwixmimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear client,

Thank you very much for your message,for your nice words.

We appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will transfer your compliments to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A beautiful Riad built into the Medina wall, We would recommend a room facing the sea, as the views are simply spectacular. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we were made to feel welcome. The terrace is exposed to the sea winds, so we found it to be too cold to enjoy in February. The meals were disappointing and the dining room was depressingly empty. We stayed for 10 days on half board and no choice of menu was offered for breakfast or dinner. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance however. Although in the Medina it is not within the Souk which is about 5 minutes walk - 15 minutes from the port. The traders in the Souk were far less aggressive than in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgiegirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiwixmimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear client,

First I would like to thank you for choosing hotel Riad Mimouna

I would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback,and like to express my sincerest apologies because the food in the restaurant wasn't as good as you imagine it.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Had a superb room overlooking the sea.Beds extremely comfortable and excellent bathrooms.
Lovely to have breakfast on the terrace and sunbathe afterwards.For me quite a long walk but sorted by sitting in the luggage cart.Drawbacks no wifi in the room and no lift.
Otherwise loved it.Forget Marrakech,make a beeline here.

Room Tip: Obviously one overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiwixmimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear client,

Thank you very much for your message,for your nice words.

We appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will transfer your compliments to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I chose this Riad quite last minutes and the "best" Riad were all fully booked
Honestly I was very happy with this choice. The Riad is located on the perimeter walls of the medina, literally on the sea. The view from the terrace is probably one of the best than you can get in whole essaouira even if it's quite it's quite impossible to have breakfast outside for the number of bees that jump on the jam and honey.
Nevertheless you can have breakfast in the indoor terrace ( with view) and relax on the outdoor terrace
Rooms are fine, Wifi connection quite a disaster. It's definitely more a hotel than a Riad
Overall a very good value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Massimo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiwixmimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear client,

Thank you very much for your message,for your nice words.

We appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will transfer your compliments to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Unfortunately while the views of the sea from the Riad are excellent, even special, the overall experience of the Riad is very disappointing.

The Riad is large, dark, dank, cold and tired which is in stark contrast to the more intimate, well managed cared for and beautiful Riads I had the pleasure of staying at in Fes and Marrakech. The Riad is tired and needs to be refurbished, paint is peeling and cracked, the bathrooms need a significant upgrade and while the room is clean it does not appear clean

A pity

M Melbourne

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkOzAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiwixmimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear client,

First I would like to thank you for choosing hotel Riad Mimouna

I would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback,and I would like to express my sincerest apologies for that.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0 mi away
Fontaine Bleue
Fontaine Bleue
#23 of 75 in Essaouira
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palais des Remparts
Palais des Remparts
#31 of 75 in Essaouira
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#17 of 75 in Essaouira
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mimouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mimouna

Address: 62 Rue d'Oujda | Sandillon, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £44 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mimouna 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Mimouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mimouna Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing