We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, top service, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Mimouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Mimouna
Ranked #19 of 173 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great views, top service, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We discovered this riad whilst wandering the back streets of Essaouira, looking for somewhere interesting to have dinner. It is an absolute gem - beautiful traditional interior, which we saw whilst walking up to the top floor to the roof top restaurant and made us want to stay there next time we visit Essaouira. The view as you walk in the restaurant is genuinely breathtaking, with glass walls all the way around, stunning views of the Medina's rooftops on one side and the crashing waves on the other. Unexpected and incredibly lovely. The views alone would make this place worth a visit, but this was topped off by attentive, polite and hospitable service, and gorgeous food. Fresh bread, salads, and fish were cooked perfectly and elegantly presented. Would wholeheartedly recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRiadMimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for your nice words, hoping to see you next time in Hotel Riad Mimouna,

best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    143
    43
    18
    14
See reviews for
58
233
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

A great hotel, who work very polite, very clean and very much concerned. You can choose comfortably.wonderful nice like like like...........................................................././////.........................

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erdal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRiadMimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear client,

Thank you for taking time and writing such a nice words about the hotel,

Looking forward to welcoming again in the hotel,

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My room transported me to a fairy tale land of crashing ocean waves protected by a walled city!
Great food.....shopping... Views and a true experience of morocco.....the hotel itself invoked another time in history....don't let the 4 star rating deter you.....true...no room service or pool or gym etc....but if you want a unique experience don't miss riad mimouna

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRiadMimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Sir,

we are glad to read those special words from you,

whising to welcoming you soon in Riad Mimouna

all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

He had the chance to get into this hotel and took a breakfast in the morning on the roof terrace.
The experience was amazing to see this hotel for the internal decoration which respect marroccan style, friendlyness of the personel and terrace on the top.
We sow some rooms which are really with great sea views!
The breakfast was excellent served on the incredible roof terrace where wall glasses protect you from the wind but still allow you to see and incredible 3D view on the sea.
The place is not for backpackers, like we were :-) so it is not cheap, but it deserve it!!!
We have seen quite a few hotel/riad and it is defetely the top in Essauira expecially if you what to spend a real experience, if you care of respect of tradition, style and confort, not just for western organised tour masses and trash lux!
this place is a must in Essauira!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRiadMimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear client,

thank you so much for your positif comments !!

we will tell the staf of Riad Mimouna about your compliments; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort

And I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked a sea-view room and were upgraded to a suite. The room was very spacious and comfortable with floor to ceiling sliding windows which gave great views over the sea and part of the medina as well as cooling breezes. The dining room was spacious as was the outside deck area on the top floor.
The food choices were very good and the breakfast adequate. The only dining down side was the inability to purchase alcoholic drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRiadMimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear client,

We would like to thank you for your special comments, we do appreciate that !!!

we are very pleased to count you among our best clients

And I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The view was perfect. You are right on the wall with the waves crashing beneath your window. The room was large with a nice seating area facing the floor to ceiling windows. A beautiful bathroom with shell shaped double sinks and a tub to soak in with an ample supply of hot water. The room and bath were very clean. Breakfast was hearty and very good, although once served, staff was hard to find to get a second cup of coffee, water, etc. WiFi was easy to connect.

So windy that it was impossible to leave the windows open at night - wind whistled through the older windows which did not shut tightly. This may just be a product of the time of year that we were there - first couple days of May.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieSnOwflake123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRiadMimouna, Front Office Manager at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear client,

We want to thank you so much for your precious comments, we do appreciate it so much !!!

of course i will tell everyone about your compliments; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort

And I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were doing a private tour through Morocco, organized from Australia with Ibertours.This riad was chosen by our tour company and as such I don't know the price. We stayed for two nights including breakfast.

This Riad is located in the Medina, right on the sea wall. It's close to everything the tourist wants to see and in a quieter part of the Medina.

A friendly welcome, questions answered efficiently. The young man who helped us with our luggage and walked us to the Riad was also friendly. Check out and various times when we had a question was also handled in a friendly and professional manner by different staff. A map was offered without asking.

The foyer area, with its subdued lighting, trickling fountain and beautiful furnishings is a relaxing place to sit. Wifi access, free and fast is available here.

There is no elevator, but the stairs are very easy. Our bags were carried to our room for us.

We were allocated room 303. The room is magnificent with a full length openable window affording the most wonderful view to the ocean. It's safe as there is an additional 1/2 height glass partition, so you can't fall out. Apart from the seagulls and the waves hitting the sea wall, there is no other noise.
The ensuite is very spacious also, with a double hand basin, bath with a shower over, WC and bidet. Toiletries are minimal but most people travel with their own anyway.
The bed is very comfortable, there is a seating area overlooking the water. The room is nicely furnished. Nice rugs on the tiled floor.

Breakfast is served on the 4th floor overlooking the same view we had in our room. A lovely selection of food. Fresh orange juice, breads and pastries, hard boiled egg, yogurt, coffee all served by a friendly waiter. We were very satisfied with the breakfast. Everything was very fresh.

We arranged to have laundry done. It's a next day service costing an average of 10 dirhams per garment (not smalls). The clothes arrived back on time but unironed.

Every member of staff we encountered was very friendly, helpful and professional and such an asset to the Riad.

There are no disadvantages of this place and we recommend you stay here. We loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRiadMimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear client,

We want to thank you so much for your precious comments, we do appreciate it so much !!!

of course i will tell everyone about your compliments; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort

And I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais des Remparts
Palais des Remparts
#32 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mimouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mimouna

Property: Riad Mimouna
Address: 62 Rue d'Oujda | Sandillon, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mimouna 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Mimouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mimouna Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing