We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable room with a view”
Review of Riad Mimouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Mimouna
Ranked #15 of 175 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unbeatable room with a view”
Reviewed 19 June 2009

I have stayed in this beautiful place 3 times. Make sure that you book a sea-view - the rooms overlooking (literally) the Atlantic are stunning. I walk into the room, throw open the windows and think "I can't believe I'm here". The hotel is built into the town defences with the waves breaking against the building directly below you. The service of the staff is very good and simple but very tasty food is available in the evening. Breakfast is served on the roof-top terrace - what a start to the day. I love this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulsphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    144
    44
    18
    14
See reviews for
60
241
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I was supposed to spend two nights here with two friends. At 12:30am on the first night we were ready to leave owing to the appallingly bad hygeine when we discovered dirty bathroom and hairs found on the uncleaned bed.
When confronted the staff offered to move us and thus began the two hour process of moving room and one floor. The offer of complimentary refreshments for the trouble and inconvenience was billed to us when we try to leave. When in the morning we asked for a refund we were told firstly "everything should be fine now", then on the second assault that we had fabricated the story then finally an external party was bought in to intimidate and hurl abuse at us.
I have never experienced anything so traumatic at a time that should be exuberant. What may seem a nice place is run by thugs who ought to be ashamed and closed down.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zariakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarynamanda
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Riad Mimouna was a wonderful place to stay in Essaouira. Good accommodations in Essaouira aren't cheap and for the money (850Dh) it was really nice. The decor is elegant, the staff was friendly, and the free breakfast on the roof terrace was delicious. Our room looked right over the ocean and the view was beautiful.

The only thing is that the hallways and corridors can be a little dark--just make sure that the push the circular light switch so you can see to get into your room.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarynamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

On entering the Riad you are amazed by the incredible decor. The ceilings and furniture in the public areas are lovely. The rooms themselves, whilst small, are nicely presented and opulent. If you manage to get a sea view room, the view is also spectacular, as this is one of the few Riads right on the ocean.

Pros:- Decor, Service and location

Cons:- My only minor issue was the stairwell lighting, which wasn't good and you need to take care

If you have heavy luggage, hire a man with a trolley as vehicles are not allowed within the old town walls and the streets are crowded and narrow.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJEColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed two nights here and could not be happier. We upgraded and received a room with a sea view and was very, very happy with it. The view is amazing-definitely worth the extra money. The room was clean and well managed. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was served on the roofdeck which had gorgeous views of the ocean and city. Loved this place and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaGal28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I read different reviews of this riad - some positive, some negative. Again coming from the Riad Fes we were quite spoiled, but I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff were very friendly and the view from the rooftop is amazing. Some people complained that is was "musty" on the reviews on Trip Advisor - but what would you expect? This riad literally sits on the edge of the ocean, it's pretty amazing. I liked the spot, it was tucked back along the ocean wall, but yet very close to the souks. It's very easy to find your way around Essaouira. The rooms aren't fancy, but it's comfortable and very quiet. I would recommend this riad.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank providencemelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marrakech
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We had a wonderful stay in Riad Mimouna which overlooks the Atlantic Ocean. The soothing sound of the gentle waves helped us to sleep soundly and then to wake up to the sounds of waves and seagulls was perfect!
The riad has been tastefully decorated using traditional interior style and sumptuous fabrics have been used for curtains and bed linens and cannot fault this riad at all! I highly recommend a stay at this Riad.
Riad Mimouna's breakfasts are great; orange juice, fresh croisants, Moroccan fresh bread, boiled egg, fruit youghurt, butter , honey, fruit conserves and endless helpings of fresh hot coffee and last but not least a 300ml of bottled water and all this is standard!
I would most definately stay at Riad Mimouna on my next trip to Essaouira! 10 out 10 is what I would give to this lovely riad for its opulent look, cleanliness, good breakfast and its location!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moroccovisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais des Remparts
Palais des Remparts
#32 of 74 in Essaouira
324 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
614 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mimouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mimouna

Property: Riad Mimouna
Address: 62 Rue d'Oujda | Sandillon, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mimouna 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Mimouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mimouna Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing