We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Mimouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Mimouna
Ranked #17 of 173 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed at Riad Mimouna for a couple nights last week & loved it.
The location was amazing - right ontop of the medina wall, overlooking the ocean. The hotel was within easy walking distance to everything in the medina and the adjacent beach. Our suite had a amazing view of the water & was certainly the nicest place we stayed during our entire trip to Morocco. We found the staff to be very friendly and attentive. Rooms were clean & well maintained. Breakfast each morning on the rooftop terrace was great. It was a little pricey, but worth it. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ec1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    143
    44
    18
    14
See reviews for
58
236
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights. We had booked a mini suite but for the first two nights, another story not related to the Hotel, we were upgraded to a Suite. It was very nice. The only criticism is the light in the rooms are insufficient and make it hard to read. The breakfast on the indoor terrace was superb and there were no compaints on the service. The location was a little out of the way bbut Essaouira is so small that you are everywhere in a short time. If you are a light sleeper the ocean sounds can be a little putting off. The staff were very friendly & helpful. We walked everywhere as there are no taxis allowed in the Medina. We ate at the fish market for lunch, Chez Sam for dinner, Silvestros for Dinner and the Number 1 rated restaurant for Essouria on Tripadvisor, all of which were fine.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardportnoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

We didn't even last one night. The hotel stinks of damp, there was standing water on the stairs. Great view, but doesn't make up for a riad that desperately needs a complete refurbishment. The £100 a night price tag is outrageous - we walked down the road and found a great maison d'hotes for half the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

My wife and I stayed here with some close friends whilst doing a brief tour of Morocco. It has to be said, we've not stayed in a hotel that boasts such a dramatic setting - the hotel is perched on the side of the sea wall and as the Atlantic rollers come crashing in, it's a pretty attractive scene.

We couldn't fault the location of the hotel, apart from the dark, winding alleys that lead up to the front door. Nor could we fault the architecture once inside. However, this is a 'nearly excellent' type of hotel. The kind of place you'd stay in and then think 'If only they could sort out x,y,z then it would be amazing.'

Let me explain - the front desk staff was very helpful and attentive, but room staff were anything but. It took over an hour for room service to deliver water to our room (I was ill in bed and couldn't walk downstairs) and they didn't really seem too happy about being disturbed on the number of occasions that we contacted them.

The rooms were not well partitioned, which meant that we could hear next door's every move, including them brushing their teeth. Unfortunately for them, they could probably hear the effects of my food poisoning too...

All in all, this is a fine hotel in a world-class setting, but with a few tweaks it could become a great hotel in a world-class setting. You can't rely solely on a majestic sea view to make a great hotel. Yes, it helps, but it's not everything...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeds81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breukelen
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

Tasteful decorated in a architectual morocan style.
We enjoyed the exelent seaview from our room and on the roof with a very good breakfast.

When it got dark we didn't feel comfortable in the narrow alleys poor light.
Strange that we had to pay cash fot the taxis we used.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjeerdje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

This place was a real mixed bag, both best of and worst of. Best first, it has beautiful architectural detailing and an amazing setting (in spite of the "dark alley" approach) with many rooms directly overlooking/overhearing a wild, rocky ocean surf zone, and serves an excellent breakfast with real French press coffee (not Africafe instant). And the worst? It was the only place in 2 weeks, in 4 Moroccan cities, where we got robbed. Watch out for this scam: when you first get to your room the safe is "jammed", won't open; you think what a beautiful place, certainly we can deal with this later; you sleep, go to breakfast, nice breakfast, the waiter asks for your room number (be suspicious) as if to check you off for breakfast; when you return to your room your bags have been rifled through and any cash Euros or Dirhams stolen; finally (too late) you ask that the safe be fixed; a smirking staff guy "fixes" the safe; you tell management what happened and they shrug; the waiters do not routinely ask everybody at breakfast for their room number. It's a teamwork scam with management assent.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e0r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

We arrived after a big trip, weary from the trip. The town was busy and as we walked the little streets we didnot know waht to expect. Entered a small door and then: wauw, what a beautiful room. A tremendous view over the city walls and the ocean. you could open the window and it was like sitting in the ocean. All night the sound of the see is great.
A very, very pretty and big bathroom. The room had even a flatscreen and it workes!
The breakfast is good on the covered rooftop, a knew restaurant that still needed some decoration, but the were working on it when we were leaving. The city is very easy and beautiful. Many restaurants and very good to explore on your own. There is even a beautiful beach to make long strolls.
Go there please! and don't forget to eat fish near the harbour at Chez Sam, ask for the route, it is near the hotel and very, very good! It is almost at the end of the real harbour, great lobster for a great price.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldreamers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais des Remparts
Palais des Remparts
#32 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mimouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mimouna

Property: Riad Mimouna
Address: 62 Rue d'Oujda | Sandillon, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mimouna 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Mimouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mimouna Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing