We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly located Riad”
Review of Riad Mimouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Mimouna
Ranked #14 of 175 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfectly located Riad”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

After a long 3 hour plus coach journey we were very tired and could not wait to get to our hotel. Inside the City walls is pedestrian only and there were plenty of men with carts to transport your bags to the Riad. Once enetering we were impressed with the beautiful traditional interior. The hotel receptionist was friendly and helpful and immediately offered us an free upgrade on our room. We were given Room 301. Wonderful room with the most incredible sea views.Heavenly waking up and going to sleep with sound of waves hitting the rocks below. Room well cleaned every day and fresh linen given without asking. Breakfast was superb, everything you could want and great coffee. Good tea also available. Note: It can be incredibly windy...with patio sliding window in room open, makes a suction wind tunnel so bedroom door can slam if you are not careful. Read many reviews on this Riad, but we found no problems at all. Staff excellent, room lovely, breakfast perfect. It can be dark at night negotiating narrow lanes to medina, but nothing a good torch cannot solve. Felt very safe. No Alcohol unless you are prepared to pay a massive amount of money at a couple of expensive restaurants that do sell it. But Mint tea delicious and one week without any wine was no big deal. Would definitely recommend this Riad....Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maveanddandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    144
    44
    18
    14
See reviews for
60
241
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

RIAD MIMOUNA a huge converted family home that offers comfort & spendour in the most amazing location right over the water .
Staying there you have a sense of how some Moroccan have lived , the gracious building has no been converted into a very comfortable elegant Riad , maintaining an authentic feel.

We could open the windows to feel like the ocean was ours looking down the coastline was quite splendid .

Friendly helpful staff in a town that is relaxed friendly & yes Essaouira its one of the many tourist well worn paths in Morocco ,but it is still worth a visit .The contrasts of morocco are vast & the coastline should be part of your itinerary .My only regret is that we did not have more time there.

It was again one of the many splendid Riad chosen for us by the highly skilled professional travel company MOROCCO TOURS .

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank supermumSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

If you are lucky enough to visit Essaouira (which is well worth an overnight stay) then we'd whole-heartedly recommend this gem of a traditional riad in one of the most privileged spots of this lovely town. Which room would I recommend you book? Without hesitation: room 210, which has perhaps the best spot within the riad, a corner room with all windows looking out to the crashing waves and the fortresses around town.

In case you prefer a bit more shelter from the "wuthering heights" then you you can certainly find that within the riad: a charming, beautifully decorated gem of a building with gorgeous ceiling, inner balconies. In any event, be sure to visit the rooftop terrace where breakfast is served and one can commune with the elements right outside (if it's not too windy), or indoor (where you can still have the windows open to enjoy the unparalleled views).

The staff here is wonderful: friendly and genuinely helpful. The riad is spotlessly clean throughout.

Two big thumbs up for our favorite place in Essaouira, with many thanks to all members of the great staff :-)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donpedro1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Depending on your room, you could have an absolutely breathtaking view of the ocean from your bedroom window. We were in room 203 and were awed by the view of the water and ramparts. Our room was very spacious, and it was nicely decorated with a lot of thuya wood the area is known for. Breakfast on the roofdeck was tasty and plentiful. The website doesn't do this place justice, it's a beautiful riad with incredibly nice staff. I read previous reviews about theft here, but when I forgot my camera bag, including cash, at the hotel restaurant, the waiter came running to find me to return it. We had no problems here at all and found the staff very accommodating and helpful.

Arrive during the day, and take note that you'll likely need to have a porter with the blue wheelbarrow carry your luggage to the location (no cars allowed in town). It's also easier to have someone show you the way the first time, as the town can be a maze at first. Pay the porter about 20-30 dirhams. At night the streets can be a little dark, but we were two women traveling and never felt threatened at all.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snochou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed at Riad Mimouna for a couple nights last week & loved it.
The location was amazing - right ontop of the medina wall, overlooking the ocean. The hotel was within easy walking distance to everything in the medina and the adjacent beach. Our suite had a amazing view of the water & was certainly the nicest place we stayed during our entire trip to Morocco. We found the staff to be very friendly and attentive. Rooms were clean & well maintained. Breakfast each morning on the rooftop terrace was great. It was a little pricey, but worth it. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ec1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights. We had booked a mini suite but for the first two nights, another story not related to the Hotel, we were upgraded to a Suite. It was very nice. The only criticism is the light in the rooms are insufficient and make it hard to read. The breakfast on the indoor terrace was superb and there were no compaints on the service. The location was a little out of the way bbut Essaouira is so small that you are everywhere in a short time. If you are a light sleeper the ocean sounds can be a little putting off. The staff were very friendly & helpful. We walked everywhere as there are no taxis allowed in the Medina. We ate at the fish market for lunch, Chez Sam for dinner, Silvestros for Dinner and the Number 1 rated restaurant for Essouria on Tripadvisor, all of which were fine.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardportnoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We didn't even last one night. The hotel stinks of damp, there was standing water on the stairs. Great view, but doesn't make up for a riad that desperately needs a complete refurbishment. The £100 a night price tag is outrageous - we walked down the road and found a great maison d'hotes for half the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais des Remparts
Palais des Remparts
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
324 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
615 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mimouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mimouna

Property: Riad Mimouna
Address: 62 Rue d'Oujda | Sandillon, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mimouna 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Mimouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mimouna Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing