We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel -- not a riad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Mimouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Mimouna
Ranked #17 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel -- not a riad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

This is a well run hotel with about forty rooms The spacious rooms are a bit dark and cold in the winter, but they provide a space heater that works well. They upgraded me to a room overlooking the Atlantic ocean and I could hear the waves crashing up the hotel walls. My TV did not work at all. The room had an electronic safe. They served a blah breakfast on their roof terrace restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlgm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    141
    41
    18
    13
See reviews for
57
228
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

I am not usually one to write reviews but I feel i must add a few words about this absolutely fantastic place. The first thing is the location – beautiful, quite possible the best location in Morocco if not the whole world – it literally took my breath away. The Riad is actually built into the seawall so although the sound of crashing waves may not be everyone’s cup of tea we found it very therapeutic. The views are another thing that must be mentioned, if possible ask for the rooms with the best views, I cant remember the numbers but I’m sure the staff will enlighten you if the rooms are available. We got the best price by booking with Moroccan specialists luxury-riads.com, they really know their stuff and are able to secure the best prices for accommodation and also the airport transfer. This place is absolutely superb and we have already contacted the guys at luxury-riads.com to make our reservation here for 2011!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_me28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Beautiful palatial Riad, staff are friendly, rooms are large and comfy. The food on the rooftop restaurant is excellent and moderately priced. The rooftop view is worth staying in this Riad for.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

You couldn't look for a better location - the sea views were fantastic! The hotel was clean and friendly and I thoroughly recommend it

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solotraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol , england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Although the sea view from our room was amazing the noise of the crashing waves against the rocks kept us awake at night and we were disppaointed by the gloominess of our room and the general depressing decor of the riad. Breakfast was seved in a restaurant on the top floor with magnifiacnt views which were unfortunately spoiled by the dirty windows and the room again was depressing. Staff seemed a bit down too!
We spent 2 nights there and then moved to the smaller chepaer riad next door which we preferred. Sorry!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retcouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

True to form, I had great luck once again with Tripadvisor. Booking at the last minute, as I work for an airline, I was happy to find that the Riad Mimouna was not only available, but that had the famous 110-410 rooms available (it's a 4 story walk-up). The views from these rooms are absolutely beautiful, and you'll be lulled to sleep each night with the sound of waves hitting the rocks below. The rooms are neatly appointed and very traditional looking. The breakfast room on the roof is also very nice. You can find lower room rates in Essaouira, but if you stay here and they will reserve a room ending with a number 10, you must give it a strong consideration. You'll remember the room, and the experience for a very long time! Also, as an aside, we much prefer Essaouira to Marrakech if you are with a family. Happy Travels!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank flyqatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
Level Contributor
236 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

We added an extra day in Essaouira after being roasted in the Sahara. It was the best decision we made in our travels and the best place we visited. The Medina is extensive and felt quite safe unlike other areas. Lots of happy people on holidays from all over the world. It is a beautiful and colorful city that should be on any traveler's itinerary for Morocco.

The hotel is great. Beautiful interior courtyard and wonderful rooms with comfortable beds. Beautiful architectural detail throughout. Free WiFi (they say weee feeee here) and a great rooftop terrace restaurant as well as outside rooftop patio for photos and panoramic view of the city. You'll need to get a porter outside the Medina to cart your bags and lead you but for 25 DH, who cares! Well worth it.

If you need a complaint to know I am a real traveler, I guess I would love to have better towels in the bath as they were pretty thin but it was the best hotel we stayed in during our trip including much more expensive ones.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais des Remparts
Palais des Remparts
#32 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#11 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mimouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mimouna

Property: Riad Mimouna
Address: 62 Rue d'Oujda | Sandillon, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mimouna 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Mimouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mimouna Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing