We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!”
Review of Dar Mouna Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Mouna Mogador
Ranked #70 of 178 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Dar Mouna is a perfect place for your stay in Essaouira. It's cosy, clean, the breakfast on the roof is super. We had a family room, where the kids slept on an entresol, which was nice. Jane is the perfect host. She's friendly, knows everything about the city and Marocco, has a sparkling laugh and she really enjoys her work. She spoiled our kids by giving them special yoghurt or serving pancakes with 1000 holes for breakfast. We really enjoyed our time (3 nights) in Dar Mouna.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Astrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Very warm welcome! Jane and her lovely staff take care about all the aspects of staying in Essaouira. The rooms are lovely and very clean, the breakfast is done with love. Yes, I would like to stay there again! I traveled alone, but at the same time there was a family with kids and a couple and they were very happy as well.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Mabcine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

After six days of horse trekking without access to a toilet/bath etc. it was great to arrive to this little guesthouse in the center of Essaouira.

It was a great pleasure to stay at this hotel because of the warm welcoming atmosphere - especially the hotel manager Jane is a fantastic smiling and attentive woman :)

The hotel/guesthouse has a nice and sunny roof terrasse where a delicious breakfast was served.

I recommend this hotel/guesthouse, and will stay there myself if my way passes through Essaouira again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have spent 5 nights in Dar Mouna Mogador and it felt like home to me. Jane is an excellent hostess who makes all the guests feel comfortable and at home. My room was big and well equipped. The nights were very quiet. One evening Jane had arranged a lovely fish tajine for the guests, we had a lovely evening... I can recommend this riad to all travellers who are looking for a quiet and comfortable place.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Toos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

You do not only get a big breakfast with fruit salad, eggs, Moroccan pancakes…. but you also get Jane!
Originally from Australia she has been living for more than 10 years in Morocco and even longer working in the tourist industry. As a walking-talking guidebook-library on Morocco and Essaouira, any questions you have… Jane will find the correct answer and can help you organize your trip in no time… And she does it with heart and soul which makes the difference! Morocco made easy!
Thank you Jane, for your help and smile!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thalie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very nice place to stay :) Jane is amazing and very helpful.
Breakfast is completed with eggs, pancakes, toasted bread - simply all you need - otherwise you can always ask and they will do whatever it needed to let your wish come true :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Dar Mouna Mogador is the new kid on the Essaouira medina block. The manager, Aussie/Brit travel industry veteran, Jane, has a wealth of local information for visitors and offers a warm, friendly welcome to all guests. She is as happy to accompany you to the Sunday flea market as to recommend a local restaurant and can draw on over a decade of experience to organise Morocco-wide excursions and tours for guests and groups. The house is a typical old medina townhouse, with lots of original features and a sunny roof terrace. Jane is patron to several local artists and upcyclers and you'll easily spot the house by the beautiful mural painted on the outside wall.

Room Tip: Rooms can be adapted for singles, couples, families and groups, so enquire when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank mikanqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Iles
Hotel des Iles
#49 of 75 in Essaouira
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#17 of 75 in Essaouira
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 75 in Essaouira
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Mouna Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Mouna Mogador

Address: 44 Rue Ibn Khaldoun, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £31 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Mouna Mogador is a typical Essaouira medina townhouse located in a neighbourhood of tailors and wood workers. It is just a few minutes walk from the souks, the port and the beach. The house maintains much of its original character, with old tiles and wood work still in place and has 5 en suite rooms including family rooms. A generous breakfast is included, served on the roof terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Mouna Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing