We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant fault this boutique hotel... just brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ocean Vagabond Essaouira
Ranked #74 of 180 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel, truly brilliant.
Hotel balcony's over look the beach which is 1 street away, beautiful for morning walks before breakfast which is served til 11 am. Rooms are clean and comfortable with towels, bath robes, slippers, pool towels and fantastic room service.

One of the few hotels in Essaouira with a pool, great for cooling off in the afternoon sun and to escape the wind. (Essaouira is a windy town, which is why kite surfing on the beach is popular). On site Hammam also which can be booked to include massage, just check before hand what is in included and what your paying for.

Breakfast is fit for a king with lots of choice, fruit, bread, eggs, tea (inc english), coffee...
Staff are friendly, happy and helpful.

5 min walk to the Medina where there is soooo much choice for great food local, cheap and exotic.

Essaouira is now one of my top 10 places to visit and i would definitely stay at the Hotel Ocean Vagabond again.

Kerry, Cambridge UK

Room Tip: Ask for beach facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glitterstar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed there during a trip to Morocco. The location is very good, overall the hotel premises are quite nice, but rooms need refurbishment and maintenance. We found a scarab at the bathroom. The staff is very nice and friendly, but helpless. We asked for a reservation at the local restaurant, which they told was done, and once we arrived at the restaurant it was closed for 4 days. The hot water never seemed to be hot and we are told it was just a small problem to be fixed anytime; same happened with the Hammam (good heating but cold water). Good value for money but not a stunning stay. To highlight the nice and honest service: our ipod was left in the room and mailed to us, at our request, couple of days later.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritinha74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Morocco at its best - beautiful interior, wonderful staff and great location! Me and my travel company (including small children and elderly in wheelchair -so not the easiest clientele) spent a short getaway here last week, and everyone was very happy with our stay. Service was outstanding, the rooms were very pretty and the pool are perfectly set out for a relaxing day. I had an excellent massage and rate too many crepes at the bar I care to admit. I will definitely return if I am in the vicinity!
Also I found the souks in Essaouira a lot more pleasant than those of Marrakech and I ended up doing an incredible amount of shopping, which was not my original intention. The wind on the beach was a little crazy though, so good job I bought so many scarfs!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-sailors-wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I just got back from my stay here yesterday. We pretty much had the hotel to ourselves, it was lovely!
The weather was a bit chilly so they lit a fire for us, the staff were really friendly. I loved the hotel, it was so nice to be staying somewhere that wasn't a soulless chain.
I loved our room, the little touches like the roses next to our water.
Location was fab, a minute walk to the beach and a few minutes to the heart of the town.
Breakfast was always plentiful, I loved the yogurt with the honey, always good to have fresh fruit and freshly squeezed juice.
I really hope I can go back next year, maybe when its a bit warmer, but definitely back to this hotel.

Sara Denholme,
London.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank sara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great. This hotel is so beautiful and attractive with Moroccan style furniture. The back yard with swimming pool is so beautiful. It takes 5 mins walk to medina and port of Essaouira. Breakfast buffet is good and homemade yoghurt is very good and very tasty! All staff are warm friendly. Moroccan Mint tea and biscuits are providing on arrival. The biscuits are really nice. We want to come back to this hotel again in the future. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 1992Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a fantastic view of the sea from our room which was a good size, comfortable and clean. We did have a couple of issues with the room, and the staff were very helpful and without hesitation upgraded us to an even bigger room with a balcony and better views. There was a really relaxed atmosphere with plenty of room to chill out inside and out by the pool, which was a great temperature and very inviting. The staff were helpful, attentive and very friendly, nothing was too much for them, they even packed us off with a breakfast as we departed at 5:30am, we didn't have to ask for this. We celebrated our wedding anniversary here and they presented us with the most delicious gateaux and flowers. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here, it was a great distance to the medina, and very close to the beach, we didn't eat in the restaurant but breakfast was very nice, particularly the yoghurt with honey.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Excellent position, next to the Medina and 100 meters from the beach.

Rooms are large, clean and very nice.

Breakfast is good but absolutely not served on time… 30 minutes late is nothing.

We had an issue with the door of our room because it did not close from inside. This did not improve the quality of our sleep. During our 2 night say we have asked 5 times to get it fixed. Each time they replied that they would have sent somebody immediately, but nobody ever came!

There was a big plastic cover on top of the stairs/roof with banged all day and night due to the heavy wind, it made a lot of noise. We asked twice (as other guests did too) to get it fixed but it never has been done.


Safety deposit box not fixed in the wardrobe, could just take the entire box out.

The hammam for the guests is only available 30 minutes per day and needs to be reserved in advance.

Nice garden but swimming pool does not look very nice… needs to be painted… never saw anyone in the pool!

Room Tip: View on the Medina is not nice, try ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchmanFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.7 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
497 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocean Vagabond Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean Vagabond Essaouira

Address: 4 Boulevard Lalla Aicha | Angle Rue, Almoukawama, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £58 - £746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ocean Vagabond Essaouira 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIK PALAIS enjoys the best of both worlds: a perfect location in the enchanting Atlantic resort of Essaouira, just a stone's throw from the fine sandy beach of the bay, yet it is only a few minute's walk to the colourful souks and shops of the old walled Medina. The hotel offers14 well-equipped rooms and suites, each is unique and stylishly designed, but all are spacious and bright, united by attention to detail and comfort. All rooms come with an en suite bathroom (bath or shower), mini bar, safe, heating, satellite TV, phone and Wi-Fi. Most rooms have a private terrace or balcony with views, overlooking the ocean, the gardens or the Medina. There are also several inter-connecting rooms, which are ideal for families. Outside, a good-size heated swimming pool is set in a pretty garden, provides an ideal spot for guests to while away the hours, sunbathing, reading or just relaxing. Tucked away at the back of the garden, is the hotel's intimate Oriental Spa, offering guests a good choice of beauty treatments, massage and hammam. In addition, guests can participate in the many activities available on the beach, just across the road from the hotel, such as swimming, water sports or even camel riding...... Our charming "L'O' Restaurant, looks out over the gardens and offers an enticing selection of Moroccan and Mediterranean cuisine. Unik palais offers plenty of communal spaces and quiet corners for both adults and children to chill out in: a cosy lounge overlooks the gardens and has comfy sofas, floor cushions and an open-fire. Our library and reading room on the mezzanine floor, with its comfortable leather chairs, good selection of books, 42" satellite TV and DVD player, is a great favorite with our guests, as is our cozy African Colonial-style bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ocean Vagabond Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Vagabond Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing