We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxed place to stay”
Review of Riad Lalla Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Lalla Mogador
Ranked #131 of 180 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We booked Riad Lalla from Marrakech for two nights intending to then continue travelling through Morocco. We ended up staying for six nights! The Riad is in a great location if a little hard to find at first - look out for the helpful signs at alley junctions. Our first room was spacious and comfortable with a large bedroom and separate sitting area & shower room. At breakfast we took a look at the balcony above the main terrace & realised there was a 'penthouse' room up there. We changed rooms to that one (a little more expensive but well worth it). It is a wonderful room, all very beautifully decorated & furnished, large sleeping area, shower room, lounge area with fireplace where we had a cosy night in with a fire one evening, private terrace with great view of the sea where we had our breakfast each morning. Siham and the waiting and night staff are all very friendly and helpful, but not intrusive - you have your own front door key. You are able to use the pool and facilities at Riad Zahra about 20 minutes walk along the beach - we did this several days and had our lunch poolside - great food and service, very relaxing days. The owners & staff are all very helpful and friendly. No problem here with swimwear & I would suggest doing this as on the beach you wouldn't feel comfortable 'uncovering' yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yerominas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

Cute enough, not really that special. VERY LOUD! VERY CENTRAL. Did not really get a feel from the staff that they could be bothered to be nice or help out. They seemed very put out by doing pretty much anything. The only time I saw the owner was when she showed up for her payment. Other than that she was pretty much invisible. Anyway good value for the price but I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allygallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

This Riad was a lovely surprise, it is simple and comfortable without any pretensions at being anything else. I stayed there with a friend and we had a very pleasant room with sleeping areas that provided privacy and intimacy at the same time. The staff was very very helpful and very kind. Muhamed who works in the evening especially went out of his way to help us and was a great source of information about the city and it's peoples.

The breakfast space on the roof terrace is lovely and every day we would hate to leave that little piece of paradise...and would often return in the evenings to soak up the last rays of sunshine. Beautiful

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markandrew419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

After deciding to try out Morocco with a friend that had been once before (to Marrakesh) I was pleasantly surprised when I got through the door of the Riad Lalla and saw the courtyard setting of place I would call home for the next six nights. We were greeted and shown to our room which was a quaint traditional Moroccan room with stone shower and sink which made a great change.
The room was clean, the maid came each day to tidy and make our bed, which being two 28 year old girls was a great!! The receptionist and owners were extremely helpful for our entire stay and even organised a trip to one of Lalla's sister Riads a few miles away, where we had lunch and used the pool, it was a very tranquil. We also used the Riad Zahara's pool (about a 20 minute walk/5 min taxi ride) which was lovely and we were made to feel really welcome. Riad Lalla is in a great location within the Medina and the beach is only about a five minute walk away.
Our Stay in Essouria was a fun one, the weather was amazing and there are a lot of characters in the town. If you are wanting to escape the typical tourist spots of Agadir and the likes this is definitely a good place to come. There were some great places to eat ('After Five' has amazing food and chilled atmosphere) and lots of shops/stalls to walk round. The only thing I would say is bring your bargaining powers as you have to barter for practically everything, however we also found this on our four night stay in Marrakesh so its just the norm!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaysareheaven29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

We were very dissapointed with this riad. The location is very good but that is the only good comment. I saw a few rooms and they all looked scruffy. We ended up cancelling and ended up going to the Ibis hotel, where we were very happy. It was finally quite and clean. I am sure you can find better in Essaouira. The owners need to renovate it to higher standards. Beds were not comfortably either, with a dip in the middle. (unless you like banana shaped beds). Bathroom ceiling had plaster coming off. 2 inch gap under the balcony door, where insects get it.
I tried not to be too fussy, but this was just not good. had to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cannelleMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Nice relaxed atmosphere, friendly, personal & helpful service. Highly recomended. Thank you very much...

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sarah057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

We stayed one night at the Riad Lalla with my wife and three children. We read the reviews and we had some expectations. Well, first of all we were "welcomed" by a workman who was scraping off the walls and after that by a maid who led us to our room (the number 5). The overall impression was of a place left alone: there was nobody at the reception, the hall was a mess, work in progress and fresh paintings everywhere....basically: no service, no warmth, no welcome, no "home away from home" feeling. Finally at the reception desk I saw a small note "This riad is for sale. If you are interested contact....etc. etc." So if you're interested in buying, go there. Otherwise at the moment there are many more attractive choices in Essaouira....

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tronko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
675 reviews
7.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
1.2 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 75 in Essaouira
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#33 of 75 in Essaouira
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lalla Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lalla Mogador

Address: 12 Rue de l'Iraq, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Lalla Mogador 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Riad Lalla Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing