We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“kite surf holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
Ranked #25 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Valganna, Italy
1 review
“kite surf holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

The hotel is clean, the food is very good ! people of the hotel were nice and the room very confortable. I enjoy my holiday by this hotel i can recomand it . I spent 10 days alone to have a kite surfing holiday on the first week of october 2012 ...unfortunalty not enought wind ! Enzo

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enzo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    53
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
92
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Riad l'Ayel and couldn't have wished for better. This white washed riad the Riad far exceeded our expectations: the owners, Jean Paul and his wife Christine, and the staff (Lachen and the sweet Nisrine) could not have been nicer. Nisrine produced every night wonderful Moroccan meals for us and every dinner, jowing with Christine and Jean Paul, was a pleasant moment, followed by a delightful mint tea and biscuits.
The Riad was positioned just off the centre of the medina, and was a great base from which to explore Essaouira. We stayed in the Berbère Suite which was charming furnished in Berber style and very clean, with a gorgeous bath room. All was perfect so, really highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolacarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

A great place to stay. Very clean and comfortable and felt very homely. The staff were extremely kind and helpful, and we enjoyed really good home made Moroccan cooking in the riad which can be arrange each morning. Room was very clean and comfortable - not too hot even in the middle of August. Located right inside the old medina easy walking distance of pretty well everywhere. which means you can explore various parts of Essaouira in the morning and then come back and have a peaceful afternoon on the rooftop terrace!! We spent our 25th wedding anniversary there and it was really great. Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only slight drawback was that our room (Cherafa) was on the side of the side street and that could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

First of all, don't rely on google maps for the location, because the riad's marker is a few streets off from the actual address (bad google!). Just pay one of the cart guys 20 dhm and save yourself the hassle of trying to find it (the riad's emailed directions aren't helpful, either).
My room, the Mogador, was really small, but I didn't mind since it was clean. Interestingly, noise was less noticeable in this riad than in most others because the walls are about a foot thick! As with most riads, the rooms face into the courtyard, so noise echos around. Service was ok, neither special, nor bad. About the wi-fi, you can only get it in one spot on the ground floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khai_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

A friend and I have just returned from a week long trip to Morocco, with three days/2 nights in Essaouira both here. This Riad is very beautiful, run by a lovely family and right in the heart of the Medina.

We received an email in advance with some directions on which were very helpful and finding the Riad straight forward. On arrival we were given mint tea and cakes while we filled in a quick form with passport details etc. We were asked whether we wanted to have a nerby Hammam booked for us which was a nice touch.

We were taken to our room which I forget the name of but it was the first on the left once you go up the stairs. Our room was very large (could of slept 4), well decorated, very clean and smelt of a lovely incense from downstairs.

Breakfast was up on the lovely terrace roof and was really enjoyable; strawberry/apple/banana slices, freshly squeezed OJ, coffee and crepes and bread.

All in all, we found a website which had an offer on meaning we paid £25 per person for the two nights which made this an incredible find and out of this world value for money!!

I thoroughly recommend visiting Essaouira and you must stay here.

Room Tip: First on the left on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robboshef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in January and really enjoyed the city. The riad was ok-- it is owned by a Frenchman and the staff speak a little English, but it was difficult to communicate most of the time (especially when a pipe burst in our room, though this was fixed quickly once we sorted the language barrier problem). We stayed in the room on the top floor (with the roof terrace), and although it was lovely and we enjoyed the privacy and comfort, the ventilation was non-existent. Apparently Essaouria as a whole has a problem with plumbing, and there was often a toilet-type smell coming from the shower. It wasn't enough to make us find another place though.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend the room on the top floor, but we didn't get to see the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NilikutaShani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

The staff were not only friendly but helpful and kind. The riad is clean, beautiful, and right in the heart of the medina. My room was beautifully decorated and I felt like a queen at a reasonable price. I needed to find a place to buy bus tix for the next day and the manager walked with me through the winding streets so I'd be sure to find it. The food was tasty and plentiful and ready when I came down in the morning. I can't praise it enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite. It's not very expensive but is clean and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patlarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#35 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#16 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Madina
Riad Al Madina
#28 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira

Property: Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
Address: 28 Rue Mallek Ben El Morahhal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful street in the heart of the Medina of Essaouira, Riad Ayel invites you to take advantage of the serenity of this ancient house souiri completely restored according to the purest Moroccan traditions with all the necessary comforts. It is 5 min from the port, the beach and also the souks and the excitement of the medina, while taking advantage of the peace of the street which shelters it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad l`Ayel d`Essaouira Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing