We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tastefull and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
Ranked #25 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
“tastefull and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed one week in this lovely Riad. (2 adults and our son of 4 years old). The place is decorated tastefully and especially the bathroom of our room (Berbere) was wunderfull. (all in Tadelakht)The staff (Lahcen,Nissrin and Zohra) were very friendly, the place was clean and the breakfast on the terrace was great. We can advise this Riad and will definitely come back some time

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank folkert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    53
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
92
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

I don't know why these people started a hotel, they seem to hate it. The manager Lahcen is a rude man who is only after your money, he doesn't know a thing about hospitality. We would'nt have cared about him as long as the hotel was fine, but that wasn't the case:
We had a room the size of a prison cell, we couldn't even open the doors of the closet because there wasn't enough space: We had to put our stuff on the floor (20cm space on each side between bed and wall).
The rooms have very thins walls: we could hear our neighbours brushing their teeth and when you're at he terrace you can hear people on the first floor having a shower...
The bathroom is so small, it only fits one person at a time and the shower was broken. The beds felt like we were sleeping on the floor. The sheets weren't clean, they use horse blankets with stains and with holes in them.
We couldn't have breakfast on the terrace, so we had to sit inside. Breakfast was just old bread. When we had a look at the terrace we saw dead mice laying there!

All together it was the worst experience we had in Marocco!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2008

The riad is very, clean and elegant and in pure morescan style,
especially Berbere suite with is suggestive bathroom. The staff is candy and disponible for all requests. The manager Lahcen will show you the "secret" of this beautiful city and its restaurant. The owner control the security and the is however disponible.
If you want to visit Essaouira go there!!!

  • Liked — traditional features, clean, and comfortable room
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank villabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at Riad L'Ayel for 5 nights in June. We really did not like this Riad. Booking online through the owner (who is not on site!) was easy and he seemed like a nice person. When we arrived we had trouble finding the Riad and then the manager gave us a hard time for not letting him know when we were going to arrive. We were coming from Marrakech and had not been sure what our arrival time would be. This set the tone for our entire stay. We felt like the manager was repeatedly rude to us and we were uncomfortable the whole time we were there. It was made even worse by the fact that we were the only guests staying there for almost the whole 5 days. Looking back I really wish we would have just cut our losses and gone to another Riad. We stayed in 4 other Riads during out travels in Morocco (all in around the same price range) and L'Ayel was the only one we had any negative experience with at all.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TallulahMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

....from your stay in Essaouira. The riad is ok, but neither exceptional, nor frightening. A little dump, you can't wash your bath suit and have it dry by the next day...
breakfast on the terrace is the best part....

  • Liked — breakfast on the terrace
  • Disliked — the room was wet
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dida_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#35 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#16 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Madina
Riad Al Madina
#28 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira

Property: Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
Address: 28 Rue Mallek Ben El Morahhal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful street in the heart of the Medina of Essaouira, Riad Ayel invites you to take advantage of the serenity of this ancient house souiri completely restored according to the purest Moroccan traditions with all the necessary comforts. It is 5 min from the port, the beach and also the souks and the excitement of the medina, while taking advantage of the peace of the street which shelters it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad l`Ayel d`Essaouira Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing