We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average decor, friendly staff, decent location, funky smell”
Review of Riad Asmitou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Asmitou
Ranked #35 of 173 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average decor, friendly staff, decent location, funky smell”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Just inside the medina walls, this riad is in a fairly good location and the directions on te website are fabulous.
The rooms are clean, although there was a few ants in the bathroom.
The breakfast was huge and quite lovely.
The Internet was a bit sporadic, but it seems to be the norm throughout Morocco.
My only complaint is that the room had a bit of a sewage odour and was a bit musky. The Riad was full so we couldn't change rooms, but they gave us a few candles to try and mask the smell.
The staff were quite friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbumandbumette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    54
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

The warm welcome I received as soon as I arrived at Riad Asmitou, together with a cup of mint tea, made me feel relaxed and at home from the moment I arrived. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and happy to assist with any requests. The evening meals were excellent, delicious traditional dishes. All of the sites of Essaouira were right outside the front door of the Riad, where it is easy to navigate around the medina and souks. The bedroom was beautiful and there were plenty of places to relax during the day, on the outside terraces or the large reception room on the ground floor. I had a wonderful stay in this quaint and charming hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaanneoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Great Riad; very good value for dollar. Fantastic front desk manager that speaks fluent English and is only too helpful to make your stay in Essouria as easy as possible. Located in back streets of the old town, yet easily accessible. When making reservation, request a back room, as front room/corner faces onto local street watering hole (that operates 24/7). Good breakfast, neat and tidy rooms with good facilities.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorthKnowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Situated in the heart of the medina in Essaouira, the riad was easy to find and close to the bus station and an easy walk to the beach. Staff were welcoming and friendly and extremely accommodating. The room was cool, clean with a very comfortable bed. breakfast was delicious. Stayed five nights and would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed at this Riad for two days in July. Service was excellent and staff were very friendly. We stayed in the Savanne suite which exceeded all of our expectations. It was very spacious and clean. The riad is located in the Medina close to both the beach and the Supratours bus station. All in all a very pleasant stay - many thanks to all the staff at Riad Asmitou!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Travelling_Tidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

After a couple of days in Marrakech, my partner and I descended onto Riad Asmitou to find a lovely warm welcome in a clean and visually attractive Riad. The Riad is located about a 10 minute walk from the bus station and coast line, however, this is based upon knowing exactly where you are going. Be prepared to wander the winding roads and narrow passageways to find this RIAD which, hidden behind a small door, opens up to a 4 level building with a roof terrace holding a handful of sunbeds. The rooms are well laid out and are far from bland, with a tasteful mix of colour and furtniture. The room we had contained a hairdryer, a comfortable double bed and a warm shower. The one minor issue with the room was that due to the openess of the bedroom and bathroom, sounds can travel!! The breakfast was lovely and above usual standards. The Riad were happy to accomodate requests that went off menu with fruit salads, yoghurts, chocolate croissants and pancakes. I would definitely venture back to this place as it employs local people who are keen to help you find your way around town and can offer interesting ideas for how to spend your time in this lovely town.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank distanthorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

A lovely welcoming riad in the middle of the medina. We had the Kenya room at the top which was very light, airy and clean. The top terrace is great for sunbathing but unfortunately there were no mattresses for the wooden sunbeds so slightly uncomfortable. Breakfast on the terrace was a delight. Essaouira is a lovely fishing village, full of life but not at all pushy which allows you to browse amongst the shops reasonably unhassled. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llearnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Asmitou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Asmitou

Property: Riad Asmitou
Address: 32 Rue Bagdad | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Asmitou 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Asmitou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Asmitou Essaouira
Riad Asmitou Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing