We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Riad Asmitou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Asmitou
Ranked #35 of 173 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Great place, very friendly though the owner was a bit pushy about the payment...
There is a wonderful solarium and the Savanne suite we had is very comfortable. Good hospitality, clean and nice decoration. On a scale from 1-10 (10=very good): 8.

  • Liked — the suite and the solarium
  • Disliked — very friendly but a bit pushy personnel
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MurielAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    54
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Riad Asmitou for 5 nights during the Gnaoa World music festival last week and it was really excellent.
Lovely staff, well located, delicious breakfast of pancakes, fresh bread, jam, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice.
There is much less hassle here in Essaouria than Marrakesh and there is a nice breeze coming in from the ocean which makes it comfortable to sunbathe on the couches on one of the terraces.

I would definitely recommend a stay here...it's clean, relaxing and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shehezerade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Upon Thames
Level Contributor
101 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

We were a party of 5 (2 twins and 1 single room) that stayed here for 4 nights for the festival. Its located at Bab Doukkala gate and in a great spot really. All staff charming without exception (very much including gracious owner Solange and night porter Ibrahim).

Rooms and bathrooms were simple, nicely decorated and very comfortable and spotlessly clean (i saw three different rooms and they were all consistently good). Communal areas of the riad (roof terrace, breakfast terrace etc) also very good.

Cold beers, wine and spirits are all available and very welcome as a sundowner before going out.
Breakfast were fine, nothing special but perfectly adequate.

I am giving this review 5 stars not because its a five star place (its 3 stars in my opinion), but because i struggle to find anything to mark it down (with the minor exception of not very nice coffee for breakfast) and the value for money is simply excellent (£40 per night).

Would i stay here again? - extremely likely.

  • Liked — Incredible value for such a good place
  • Disliked — Inferior coffee at breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NicL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Despite initial uncertainty about online reservations and transit to Essaouira, Riad Asmitou satisfied our expectations completely.

We loved the location down a tiny alley, facing a neighborhood gathering spot: the communal water spigot. Just a couple of minutes walk away from the cobbled center of the medina. No cars allowed!

We loved the careful, tasteful decor and delicious breakfast, served on the rooftop. We loved the warm staff and their responsiveness both in person and via email. To our amazement, as we checked in we were invited to sit and take tea!

Although this riad offers quiet repose, including no TV, we did catch a local wi-fi signal. We could focus on the place and each other, and still make sure the kids were OK back home.

The Supratour bus stop is a 20 minute walk away. Since no cars enter the medina, walking is the way. Relax about the luggage: upon descent from the bus, you will find eager carriers with ubiquitous blue carts to escort you to your hotel. They know the way, freeing you to enjoy the sights and smells of this gem of a place!

FYI, note that Riad Asmitou is not near the beach; this location satisfies curious shoppers and people watchers inside the medina. The beach is 20 minute walk away. Also note that initial deposit can be paid with credit card, and the balance is payable in dirhams, cash only.

  • Liked — Location in heart of medina.
  • Disliked — Room a bit too cramped and street sounds are quite audible.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JQFlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2008

We had high hopes for Essouira (lonely planet reported great accomodation for every budget) but were rather dissappointed by this one.

The riad is right off the main street and has a door open at street level and windows opening to the outside wall and to the open terrace. As such it is noisy until fairly late at night and then again from early morning. This riad does not have the same 'escape from the outside into a private world of calm' that Riad Safa in Marrakech had (and that was cheaper!).

The Riad feels safe and clean, with a few interesting decorative touches but was not the soothing hideaway we had hoped for. Having the reception staff sitting around smoking and watching tv with their friends throughout the day also spoilt the feel of the place, although waitresses and cleaning/gardening staff were very friendly and always seemed busy.

  • Liked — good breakfast, freindly waitresses and cleaning/gardening staff
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2008

We stayed in Essaouira for two nights during a week's trip to Morocco. After a few nights in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, Essaouira felt welcoming and free of hassle. Riad Asmitou is within the medina of the city, located near the Mellah or Jewish quarter, a few alleyways away from one of the high streets. This in itself was both a good and bad thing: although on the one hand, the Riad was very handy for exploring Essaouira, on the other hand it is situated in quite a busy and noisy area.

On our first night, we stayed in a room over looking the street which was a mistake. After being kept awake until two in the morning by people arguing loudly and being awakened at 7am by the nearby workshops, we asked to be moved to a quieter room. Our charming host, Solange, was kind enough to put us in another room towards the back of the riad which was much quieter, and also larger. Both rooms we stayed in were pleasant, comfortably furnished and clean, with interesting decoration.

I think one of the reasons we enjoyed our stay in Riad Asmitou was due to the excellent service provided by the staff. The breakfast provided (fresh orange juice, pancakes, cake, fresh bread, fruit and coffee or tea) was plentiful and nicely presented on the roof terrace. Solange, Ibrahim and the other ladies were always friendly and welcoming, never laughed at our clumsy French and were happy to leave us to ourselves.

Although we are unlikely to return to Morocco (we found it too stressful to ever be thoroughly relaxing!), if we went back to Essaouira I would happily stay in this riad again.

  • Liked — great staff, lovely rooms, nice breakfast
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemsaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2008

Our Riad in Marrakesh advised us to stay here which we were grateful for. It is a beautiful Riad located in the middle of the medina.
That can sometimes be a little bit noisy but it didn't keep the six of us awake. Anyway: do you want a medina experience or not?? With a glass of Vin gris we loved secretly watching the people passing by from the roof terrace.
Solange, the night guard and the "breakfast girls" were all very helpful. They patiently answered all our questions and we even had a lovely drink together.

  • Liked — decoration, staff
  • Disliked — showers
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rs-amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Asmitou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Asmitou

Property: Riad Asmitou
Address: 32 Rue Bagdad | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Asmitou 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Asmitou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Asmitou Essaouira
Riad Asmitou Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing