We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We planned to stay for 2 nights, ended up staying 5!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Dar Afram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Afram
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We planned to stay for 2 nights, ended up staying 5!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

The fact that we were not the only ones we know who have extended their stay in Dar Afram says a lot about how warm and welcoming the place is. Obviously Essaouira is a great place to relax for a few days, but if we had not had such a great time in Dar Afram we would have spent the extra days somewhere else.

All rooms are clean and spacious, set around the internal courtyard of an old, restored riad. The riad itself is tucked away in a quiet corner of the medina, seconds away from one of the main streets and a couple of minutes walk from where most of the shops are. There is also a rooftop terrace with chairs and sofas, with views to the sea over the medina walls. It is an ideal place to have breakfast or just relax, read books or play one of the guitars laying around the place.

The breakfast included is generous, and the manager organises dinner in the evening for whoever wants to join. They are delicious, reasonably priced and a great opportunity to meet other travellers and exchange tales. Most importantly, there is beer and wine available.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JorgeBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    16
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
49
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickwell
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

I originally went to Essaouira for three nights, and ended up staying in Dar Afram for nearly two weeks. I extended my trip in Morocco whilst here and this place was the main reason I did so. I even returned here for a few more nights later on in my trip.

My praise is due to a wide variety of reasons, but first and foremost must be the company. It is the perfect environment for meeting other people, and most nights consisted of sitting around in the lovely 'living room', roof terrace, or just about any of the beautifully decorated rooms, with lots of cool people, chatting, playing music and just generally enjoying myself.
The food is fantastic (thanks Malika!) if a little pricy, but well worth every penny, especially as dinner-time provides another opportunity for socialising. The availability of red wine (and other drinks) another plus....
The only problem I can see is if you really need your early nights, as although people were respectful, and rooms seem very separate from the communal areas, you probably won't be able to drag yourself away until late.
In terms of facilities and cleanliness etc it's great; internet generally available (not that you'll want to spend too much time online anyway), bathrooms well stocked and always spotless, and the dorm room I was sleeping in was always immaculate too, despite my best efforts otherwise! It is right in the centre of town, and very close to the main square and most shops, as well as feeling right on the sea, particularly from the roof.
Special mention must go out to the owners, who were always ready to help, but most importantly just available to have a chat, entertain, make people feel at home and generally create a good atmosphere. Thanks Taz, I will be back!

Anyway, stop reading my comments, and just go there!

Room Tip: The dorm room is the cheapest, and feels like a private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cemblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Dar Afram is one of those hotels/hostels that make you feel at home right from the minute you walk in regardless of the sort of traveller you are. From the cozy lounge, through the comfy beds in eclectically decorated rooms, to the roof terrace with fantastic views over the old town and the sea (only 50 m away) and the great dinners, I can only praise this place. Staff is laid-back and superfriendly, and there is always some good music to set the mood. I'll be back, Inshallah!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoltand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Definately recommend Dar Afram if you're looking for a place with your own space plus also opportunities to mingle with other like-minded travellers. Taz, was a great host and the place had a really friendly vibe. Our private double room was huge! The two roof terraces are great to laze around on during the day! Good view of the sea too. Enjoyed the music each night! Not too sure about the showers (hot water seemed to run out)
Great location and helpful staff.
Would stay again!
Thanks Dar Afram

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

This is one of these Guesthouses you will only find once in a city!A beautiful Riad with superb atmosphere,really nice and helpfull staff ,an extraordinary terrasse on the rooftop with great views and the perfect place to be creative,make music,meet nice people and relax your soul!
It was really hard to leave these place,and we will be back for sure!
Thx for the great times we had,
Panos

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Planned on blowing through Essa for a day and after spending the night with the afram crew I stayed for 3 months. What a killer place. Brilliant music, tasty dinners. Ultra relaxing chilled staff which seem to attract like minded travelers. If not three months than at least drop by for a night.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnewlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

The hotel california of essaouira got me stuck for longer than just a week. Breakfast on the roof is the morning prayer buts its the nighttime dinners and music in the berber room that gives dar afram its magic.In a well designed and sophisticated arab arty atmosphere of intimacy the home cooked food breaks barriers in getting together and jamming as the hosting Afram family take the guitars and sing along. Take your time with this one its a family affair. My only criticism is that the place seems to attract a lot germanic travellers escaping the european winter but dar afram even manages to bring the sunny soul out of them. bless

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jakobthediscodread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#15 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#14 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Afram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Afram

Property: Riad Dar Afram
Address: 10 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Afram is famous for music, a funky vibe and a special, unique atmosphere. A beautiful traditional riad run by friendly aussie-moroccans.There are 6 high standard spotless bedrooms like apartments with private bathroom and showers, sleeping 2 to 4 people. There is also a single and shared rooms available.You can enjoy a fantastic 360 degrees view of the sea and see far accross the roofs of the medina.Breakfast is included and is usually served on the terrace. Sunset barbeques is another feature of this wonderful terrace.Communal evening meals are organised everynight with some of the towns finest chefs and live music follows. Musicians and artists from all over the world visit dar afram. We even have an online you tube channel that captures some of the talent flowing through. Check out Dar Afram TV for some of the live perfomances.As written in our trip advisor and lonely planet reviews, Dar Afram is the pefect place to meet people and make new friends.A house of charm, inspiration and good feeling which is beautifully decorated with various art and antiques.Our guests often stay longer than expected and truly feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Afram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing