We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing house, lovely people, great food, good music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Dar Afram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Afram
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Amazing house, lovely people, great food, good music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Me and my friends stayed 3 days in this beautiful house. It´s such a lovely and extraordinary atmosphere, you just feel like home there. We could have stayed at dar afram for the whole time of our marocco trip. The owner abdul is a friendly, lovely and talented musician, who sings and plays the guitar every now and then and makes your evening even better. The cook excellent food and its like sitting with a huge family around one table, sharing the same things. The terrace is perfect for hanging out, reading, eating or just for watching the sea and the gulls flying around. Dar Afram is one of the best and especially coziest hostels you could find in essaouira!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padalex2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    16
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
49
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had a lovely, unique stay in Dar Afram. Firstly it was an excellent surprise to arrive at the bus stop in Essaouria at 10.00pm and be met by Soufiane who guided me to the riad.

When i walked into the riad i knew it was my kind of place with amazing colourful artwork covering the walls, beautiful tiles throughout, and there was a little jamming session taking place. I felt at home right away.

My room was very clean and shower worked well. I was pleased to hear breakfast wasn't too early! It was nice to eat on the roof terrace and tasty too. As I was travelling on my own I decided to have dinner at the riad, and lunch in town. This worked well, and I enjoyed the food and company very much! I had a feeling of sadness leaving Dar Afram, and Soufianes fantastic hospitality. I shall be back soon as need to practice my surfing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Ive stayed at this Riad a few times now and finally decided to review it. It is run by father and son Abdul and Taz and they are more than welcoming. Every night they have a jam downstairs where everyone is welcome to sing/play along. This is one of the great things about Dar Afram. The food is great and reasonably priced, I love having my breakfast on the rooftop terrace where the views were amazing. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are really comfortable. The decor is absolutely stunning and the staff go above and beyond to meet your needs. I recommend this place to all my friends travelling to Morocco and I always end up staying longer than I had planned.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbeyMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Booked 2 nights in Dar Afram but ended up staying for 4! Wonderful little place, so glad we ended up here, most of the other guests were returners and so will we be. Such a great chilled environment, and super friendly, Safien came and met us from the bus so we didn't have any hassle getting there, and both he and Abdul were the most wonderful hosts! Could not have asked for a more welcoming place, and the nightly entertainment was an added bonus! its a brilliant location, about 10 mins walk from the bus, and 2 mins from the souk lanes, rooms are huge and gorgeous, the whole place is beautifully decorated with art, most of it Abdul's own work! Dinner at night is taken communally, by candlelight,
if you decide to eat in, so get to know everyone else quickly, and the food was great, mix of Moroccan, Italian etc, breakfast on the roof terrace with great views. It was February so quite cold at night, as the sea breeze was quite strong. Abdul got a jamming session going every night, joined by musical guests Or friends, Soufien gave drumming lessons, it was like a free concert in your living room, with Abdul's amazing voice and guitar (singing his own songs mostly too), felt more like staying with old friends than in a hotel. Sorry we missed saying goodbye, Soufien, and thanks so much for everything. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeanCuig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I came here in 2007, absolutely loved it and returned In 2011 and will be returning in April this year!!! We adore this gorgeous riad and the wonderful owners, cooks and cleaners are fabulous!!!!

We loved absolutely everything about the whole place!

It's crazy how relaxed you feel considering the hustle and bustle all around. The views on the rooftop are stunning! The decor is gorgeous! the food is divine, they cater for your needs, just let them know and they'll try there best to keep you happy. There is a mini bar and music until at least midnight. So if you like an early sleep this might not be the right place for you. Such a shame if so, maybe bring ear plugs, you should still stay here!!!

WE LOVE TAZ & AB!

Lots of love the Malibu girls xxxxxx


Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank geraldeneamyhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My fist visit to Dar Afram was in 2004 and I instantly fell in love with beautiful Essaouira and Dar Afram. On my first visit I met Abdul and Doris and their little daughters. They made my three friends and myself very welcome. From that visit I have regarded them as my Moroccan family. Later the same year I returned with my daughter and the year after with my grandson. There have been many visits since with various friends. I have always had a superb stay and everyone who has visited with me has enjoyed the experience and have had nothing but compliments for Abdul, Taz and the riad. My daughter has also returned to stay at Dar Afram. I have always felt welcome and cared for and I have met some wonderful and talented people. The house is spotlessly clean, the food is excellent quality, the atmosphere is relaxed and happy. The music is fantastic and Abdul and his son Taz are excellent hosts. The girls who keep house and cook have all be lovely, friendly young women who have ensured the needs of the guests have been met. Over the years I have become good friends with Abdul, Doris and Taz and I know that when I visit they will make sure my stay is a happy one filled with good memories. That to me is priceless. My next visit is booked!

Room Tip: I think I have stayed in every room at some time. All rooms are excellent and of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Initially I was just planning a couple of days in Essaouira, but when I found how good Dar Afram and Essaouira were I decided to stayed for the whole week. I'd have to say Dar Afram must be the best in Essouira, so I'd strongly advise booking to stay here - you won't be disappointed.

So to give a little info, Dar Afram is tucked away in the medina of Essouira but as soon as you walk in its a riad like no other. Really nicely decorated, with great areas to chill out inside and out, rooms were excellent, and always great music playing on the hifi. Abdul who runs Dar Afram (named after his old band!) is an amazing host, really goes the extra mile to look after everyone who stays - as he says its more like a home than a hotel.

There's also various guitars / percussion scattered around the riad, and in the evening we often played some tunes / had a jam, with Abdul singing some of his songs. If you are a musician or just into music, i'd definitely recommend staying here, always great songs on the playlist. Also being in the heart of Esssouira you can always pop out to eat, but Dar Afram also do excellent home cooked food in the evenings which i'd recommend.

Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here. I'm planning on heading back to Essouira soon, and Dar Afram will definitely be the first place I go when I arrive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenMaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#15 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#25 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#14 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Afram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Afram

Property: Riad Dar Afram
Address: 10 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Afram is famous for music, a funky vibe and a special, unique atmosphere. A beautiful traditional riad run by friendly aussie-moroccans.There are 6 high standard spotless bedrooms like apartments with private bathroom and showers, sleeping 2 to 4 people. There is also a single and shared rooms available.You can enjoy a fantastic 360 degrees view of the sea and see far accross the roofs of the medina.Breakfast is included and is usually served on the terrace. Sunset barbeques is another feature of this wonderful terrace.Communal evening meals are organised everynight with some of the towns finest chefs and live music follows. Musicians and artists from all over the world visit dar afram. We even have an online you tube channel that captures some of the talent flowing through. Check out Dar Afram TV for some of the live perfomances.As written in our trip advisor and lonely planet reviews, Dar Afram is the pefect place to meet people and make new friends.A house of charm, inspiration and good feeling which is beautifully decorated with various art and antiques.Our guests often stay longer than expected and truly feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Dar Afram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing