We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great roof top and yummie dinner with travellers connection”
Review of Riad Dar Afram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Afram
Certificate of Excellence
Bregenz
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great roof top and yummie dinner with travellers connection”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Dar Afram is a Riad in the Medina of Essouira. They have a great roof top to breakfast and to relax. Really nice view over the Medina of Essouira. Rooms are big, may you have to share it with other people. Toilets and bath rooms are shared as well. It's not the newest and cleanest hotel but very nice and friendly staff. You definately have to eat dinner at the hostel. All travelers are coming together and food is great! Tipp: Get a bottle of wine in the drug store... :-)

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kathrinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    16
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
49
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane-Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I am mostly happy with the hotels I book as I really study the Trip Advisor reviews but I can't believe how badly wrong I went with this one. The reviews are good - Dar Afram IS NOT!

The most important point are BED BUGS. Many people are bitten by bed bugs but you do not feel it at the tie and do not know you are being bitten until the bite appears a day or so later (if at all). Unfortunately for me, I am allergic and I was covered in bites(at least 40, maybe more) that came up in huge welts and then blistered. The bugs could only have been from this Dar as we stayed several nights. Even if you are not allergic - who wants to be bitten by bed bugs?!!

Other annoyances were that there was often no hot water in the shared bathrooms and the noise that carried up to the higher floors from the inner courtyard where staff, visitors and guests played music until late in the evening. We stayed in several other Dars and even a Riad in Marrakech for similar pricing that were much better in quality and service.

Yes, I'm really down on this place becauseI think the bed bugs are totally unacceptable. Sure, the location is good but I don't want to sarifice comfort and cleanliness for location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ryanpiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Dar Afram is probably the best place in Essaouira to meet other travellers. Everyone seems to gravitate towards it! Great atmosphere, super cute little riad full of like minded people. The rooms are a little small and could do with a few more furnishings and are a bit expensive for what you get, but it's worth it. The roof terrace is spectacular, wonderful views of the sunset.
I recommend eating in at least once, the food is WONDERFUL, 90dh and you get to meet everyone else before calming down for the live music after.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Beautiful and clean hostel/riad. Friendly staff and owner. Stunning terraces. Chilled out vibes. Nice breakfast. Great location. Perfection!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

I've stayed in Dar Afram about three times already and probably will in the future as well. It's a cute place, a bit like a youth hostel in Moroccan style. Most rooms are pretty spacious and definitely very clean, bathrooms are all shared. It locates in the medina, right next to the sea, you can see it from the rooftop terrace. The price includes a breakfast which is very traditional and plentiful. By traditional i don't mean youth hostel traditional toast and milk, no no, i mean Moroccan breakfast - bread, tea, orange juice, honey, olives, jam etc. The owners are a son-dad combo of Australian/Moroccan ethnicity, there's a strong musical vibe in the house because the father has/had a band and they both play an instrument. It's not a budget place though, and also not a traditional riad, like i said before - it's more like a cozy youth hostel with a Moroccan flare. If you'd like to read more about Dar Afram, please visit my blog: http://sshiksa.blogspot.com/2010/03/monsieur-sofi-part-2.html

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragne_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

An amazing riad tucked away at the back of the main square. Run by an Aussie/Moroccan with a penchant for acoustic guitar. The rooms are spacious and clean, atmosphere chilled and friendly and the food great. Evening meal is available on request nightly. A group usually gathers for evening meal around candlelit tables. There's lot's of chatter and a bit of guitar strumming by the owner. A youngish crowd but anyone would feel welcome. Upstairs there's a roof terrace with amazing views over the town. I came for 2 nights and stayed 8!

Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank joeydeaconsapopstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

roof top terrace to die for, a comfy bed and smell, not to meñtion view of the ocean!!!! like i said in the guest book, your thinking Essaouira, your thinking Dar Afram!!! Taz your the mañ!

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jared13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
488 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Afram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Afram

Property: Riad Dar Afram
Address: 10 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Afram is famous for music, a funky vibe and a special, unique atmosphere. A beautiful traditional riad run by friendly aussie-moroccans.There are 6 high standard spotless bedrooms like apartments with private bathroom and showers, sleeping 2 to 4 people. There is also a single and shared rooms available.You can enjoy a fantastic 360 degrees view of the sea and see far accross the roofs of the medina.Breakfast is included and is usually served on the terrace. Sunset barbeques is another feature of this wonderful terrace.Communal evening meals are organised everynight with some of the towns finest chefs and live music follows. Musicians and artists from all over the world visit dar afram. We even have an online you tube channel that captures some of the talent flowing through. Check out Dar Afram TV for some of the live perfomances.As written in our trip advisor and lonely planet reviews, Dar Afram is the pefect place to meet people and make new friends.A house of charm, inspiration and good feeling which is beautifully decorated with various art and antiques.Our guests often stay longer than expected and truly feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Afram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing