We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not helpful”
Review of Casa Naima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Naima
Ranked #81 of 181 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I had booked Casa Naima for four days as a restful alternative to Essaouira medina. We arrived having had to wade through the streets of Essaouira up to our ankles (a flash storm) and were soaking wet. My husband is 76 and is already on medication and of delicate health. Both of us felt unwelcome from the start. There was no offer to dry our clothes so we had to sit for hours in front of the fire (the rest of the house was cold) keeping warm and drying out clothes. The room we had was cold and bare. We asked for a second heater and were roundly and indeed unpleasantly told off by Severine for asking for a heater when the door was left open (not much I think) which I found most offensive and upsetting. Even if we were in the wrong there was no reason to be so agressive.
There was no attempt to show us where we could go the following day - there were no maps of the area available, even hand drawn, which surprised us as surely other guests would have wanted to wander around. It is also worth pointing out that perhaps at this time of year the pool is not operational, not that this was an option for us. The food too was not appetising (bar the puddings). Suffice it to say that we couldn't leave fast enough and so left after two nights rather than the four we had originally opted for. We returned with relief to the wonderful Riad Malaika where we did feel welcome and valued guests and who charged us less for considerably more.
I was very disappointed as the previous write ups had been so positive. Neither of us were prepared for such a frosty welcome. I don't think I have ever felt less welcome in any hotel or bed & breakfast in my life!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

I stayed here for four nights with my girlfriend in September 2010. Its a quiet, peaceful house in the countryside approximately 20 minutes by car from Essaouira. French Husband and Wife team Jacques and Severine have created a beautiful space which felt a million miles away from sweltering Marrackech. Our bedroom was massive, the swimming pool was perfect and there were various rooms to lounge around and relax in. The breakfast served every day was great and we also ate dinner there twice and were not disappointed. A car would be an advantage, but we didnt have one and got on fine. There are buses every hour or so to Essaouira, but we just used Aziz who is a friend of the hotel and charged 100 dirhams a trip. You could take a local taxi and negotiate cheaper if this was a problem. Overall a very relaxing few days and would recommend for those who just want to chill out for a few days.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farradam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

My wife and I stayed at this fantastic guest house with our close friends in July 2009. From the moment we arrived (we were greeted in the centre of Essaouira and taken to the house) to the moment we left, we were treated like family guests. The husband and wife team of Severine and Jacques have created a relaxed and welcoming house in the countryside near Essaouira; an ideal antidote to the busyness of Marrakech.

In 45 degree heat the swimming pool was a definite hit and Severine's nightly meals meant that a trip into Essaouira for dinner wasn't essential. Her cooking was fantastic too. Most nights we relaxed in the communal living room, enjoying the night time stars, playing cards and forgetting about life back in England. Bliss.

Whilst it would be hard to stay here without a car, it is great value for money, has everything you need at the house and works well in contrast to the buzz of the medina of Marrakech. We'd love to return some day.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leeds81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

This is a great escape if you want to stay outside the bustling and noisy streets of Essaouira. The owners, French expads, have constructed a very nice guest house just a 20 minutes drive from Essaouira in the countryside surrounded by a wonderfull garden with pool. This is the right place to relax and to enjoy the silence and meagre beauty of Morrocan landscape. Every evening a 3 course fixed dinner is served which is a real bargain and much better as everything else we tried in Essaouira.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansfromFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We stayed at Casa Naima for 3 nights in the middle of a trip to Marrakech. The property is tucked away outside of the main town, so if you want to be walking distance/near the harbour then this is probably not the right place. It is however a relaxing and quite secluded location to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The property has a fabulous pool and the owners could not have been more helpful. Casa Naima's owners drove us into the main town, arranged for us to go horse riding (which we'd really wanted to do) and the maid took us to visit a traditional hammam, and then to her family home for mint tea. Talk about service! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R58C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

This is a lovely place where you are made to feel incredibly welcome. I went with a friend and Severine and Jacques and their kids could not have done more to make our week relaxing. It is in lovely countryside outside Essouira so you really feel you are getting a bit of the Moroccan rural experience and getting away from it all, but a bus stops outside the house every hour and its an easy 20 min trip into Essouira if you dont have a car. Great pool, lovely rooms, fantastic service (Severine speaks English if you dont have French) and really delicious food. A real family and intimate feel too. Fabulous - would work for friends, a couple or a family.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshwomanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

This is the place to come if you want to get away from it all - utter tranquility, only 15 mins drive from Essaouira and the beach of Sidi Kaouki, yet less windy due to being slightly inland. Owned by a lovely french family (with 2 adorable children) who made us feel right at home - even helping us to change our tyre when we had a puncture. Great pool, although was sadly too cold in March. Good food and wine too (and the best breakfast pancakes we had in Morocco!)
Our one minor gripe would be the rather feeble shower, but this often seems to be a problem in Morocco and didn't bother us too much.
Would love to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lem76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.7 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
505 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dar Sahil
Dar Sahil
#3 of 181 in Essaouira
214 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
6.3 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
299 reviews
7.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Naima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Naima

Address: Ida Ogourd, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £51 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Naima 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Naima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing