We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tagine surprise”

Restaurant du Coeur
Ranked #14 of 297 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After two weeks in Morocco we thought we had tried all the different types of Tagine - lamb, veg,fish,meatball,beef - all good but more less the same. What I hadn't had was octopus and that was what we went in search of last evening. As we walked by Restaurant du Coeur I spotted Octopus Tagine on the menu and asked the owner who waited patiently outside. he assured us that he had it (several other places we have stopped listed various dishes on the menu but didn't have them when we tried to order).
We started with the fish soup which was a bit creamy and delicious, not fishy as others we had tried. The octopus tagine was served in a rich tomato sauce which was outstanding. Another couple in the restaurant also tried it and was impressed as well. Other dishes our party has were good as well. The atmosphere was welcoming and the smooth music much appreciated.
A great experience and a most enjoyable dinner.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent Small friendly restaurant with great seafood. Thoroughly recommend it. Sea bass and calamari excellent

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wanted to eat lunch at the loft but they were closed so we went next door and we were really happy that we did. The waiter showed us the fresh sea bass and encouraged us to try the set lunch - it was amazing. We got the grilled sea bass with 2 different salads. The first was a calamari simple salad and the second had rice as a side, potatoes, and zucchini with cheese. It was lovely and we ate every bite.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I first stepped in the restaurant I was sceptical about the review read on Tripadvisor. When they served us the food, it was completely mind blowing! The starter and sea food is awesome! Will definitely go back again whenever I will be in Essaouira again.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KiatYeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Fantastic little place fresh food lovely staff and all for less than £25 for 3 main courses will definitely return if visiting again

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant du Coeur also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant du Coeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing