We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”
Review of Riad de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad de la Mer
Ranked #88 of 174 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We booked this riad as a group of 9 with mixed ages and it worked perfectly. There was plenty of room for us to get along nicely and the rooms were all generous in size and nicely furnished. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was useful for hot drinks and snacks as we mostly ate out, Abdul the concierge and his wife were lovely. Abdul organised the taxi for us and his wife prepared a delicious breakfast on the patio every morning. She also cooked for use one evening and the food was delicious.
The view from this riad is amazing.
Thank you to Dianne the owner for helping to make this such a good holiday,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sal.gram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2011

My second trip to Essouira, stayed at Riad de la Mer for a couple nights,and loved it so much I have booked the entire Riad for a week for summer 2012. Fantastic all the way down the line: Diane the owner is wonderful, responsive and accommodating. The hosts of Abdul and his wife are charming and so friendly, a pleasure to get to know! The location is great, close to the heart of the old city yet once you close the front door you are transported to a another world. the house has all the old world, unique charm that I was looking for. Beautiful antiques populate the house but do not clutter, very tasteful and artful. Amazing tile work everywhere. beautiful light permeating every room, airy and quiet. All is exceptionally clean, sheets dried in the hot sun which made me love to get into bed, wonderful smell. Every room is unique, be sure to check the well documented website to see what works best for you. I chose to room in the sky, all the way at the top which has its own private terrace - I loved it. Highly highly recommend!

Room Tip: check out the website, the info will give you a great sense of the diverse rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcolivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Riad de la Mer couldn't have be better for our short visit to Essaouria. It was perfectly located and we love the mystique of walking down narrow alleys to reach the door which is a feature of so many riads in Morocco - it is not daunting in the slightest and the locals are very friendly with no sales hassle like Marrakech. I will always marvel at the impact when opening a dark and mysterious door and entering a haven of tranquility. The riad is beautifully designed with some lovely creative touches and the fact that we had a floor (apartment) with two rooms suited us great for me and the 3 kids (10,11,13)
Breakfast on the roof overlooking the ancient town fortifications and harbour was perfect and my kids will never forget the giant seagull that swooped down to steal a whole croissant ! A very worthwhile inclusion on our tour.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmaurs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed in this lovely, little riad mid February and from the moment we contacted the owner to make the booking, all the arrangements from payment to being greeted by Abdul the house manager on arrival, went like a dream. We had reserved the room at the top which was accessed by a spiral staircase, good for walking off the delicious breakfast and Moroccan cuisine we sampled while in Essaouira. The room was decorated tastefully in fresh pastel colours and had its own roof top terrace which was reached by climbing a wooden ladder. Be prepared for the quirky bathroom space which added to our experience. I think some other rooms are en-suite. Great value for money as the panoramic views of the port and out over the town were breathtaking. We were able to appreciate this vista each morning as we took breakfast on a lower rooftop terrace. This was served to us by Abdul's wife who was meticulous in ensuring we had everything we needed. Other well travelled guests we spoke to who stayed in our riad seemed very happy with their accommodation too. The rooms were spotlessly clean as were the main areas. The entrance to the riad is down an alley just off the main square. Abdul met us and seemed to genuinely want us to enjoy our stay. All in all top class room for the price and we would not hesitate to stay again if visiting Essaouira.

Room Tip: Can't beat the room at the top for views!!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley77721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My friend and I had the pleasure of staying on the 2nd floor of this beautiful riad recently.
We stayed on the 2nd floor which had 2 bedrooms, both with comfortable beds and were really clean (something I am quite fussy about!).
We were woken at 5am each morning by the mosque but this is to be expecting everywhere, nothing a set of earplugs doesn't fix.
The house lady was very sweet making an included breakfast each morning of coffee, tea, fresh juice, pastries and baguette with jams, served on the roof terrace.
The riad is really well situated - a stones throw to the main square and to the fishing port.
A delightful stay at great value for money - I would highly recommend it and look forward to returning myself someday.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We had one night here on trip around Morocco. Rooms for my family were large - we had a whole floor! Place is a bit run down and nowhere near the standard of other riads in Morocco or hotels in Essaouira. Location is good, in the Medina, but entrance is down a poorly lit tunnel with a few drunks hanging around at night. Breakfast was good on a sunny roof terrace but would not have liked more than a night here even though price was cheap.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianethomas, Owner at Riad de la Mer, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
We’re really sorry that this family didn’t have the wonderful time of some of our other clients. They had been double-booked by another hotel (in the luxury category) in Essaouira, which they went on to, and we were able to put them up at the last minute. As a traveller that’s never the best experience, and it’s difficult to see a place in its best light when you were expecting something very different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Essaouira was my favourite place in Morocco and this riad was part of the reason. It was super relaxing and so so pretty. We had the room with private terrace, it had it's own bathroom which was really lovely but very funny - the ceiling height is about 5ft and my boyfriend is 6'3" but it all added to the charm. Diane was really lovely and very helpful leading up to our trip and answered all my questions promptly and with really good information. The who place was spotless, the breakfast was amazing (the juice in particular) and all the staff were really nice.
If I went back to Morocco, this would be the only place I'd bother visiting - it was a haven!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PippaCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#22 of 74 in Essaouira
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Casa Blanca
Riad Casa Blanca
#90 of 174 in Essaouira
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Loulema
Dar Loulema
#62 of 174 in Essaouira
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#4 of 174 in Essaouira
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de la Mer

Property: Riad de la Mer
Address: 7-9 Rue Khalid ben Oualid, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad de la Mer is a very large 18th century Jewish merchant’s house situated in the oldest part of the Medina, known as the kasbah. Recently restored with the addition of modern facilities, it nevertheless retains the rich character of the original house.This is one of the best located riads in Essaouira, with stunning panoramic views from the terrace of the sea, port and the massive sweep of the entire bay. Just a few paces from the heart of the town, Place Moulay Hassan with all its bustling cafes and restaurants, this is nevertheless a house which affords a great sense of tranquillity and considerable space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad De La Mer Hotel Essaouira
Riad De La Mer Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing