We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Riad, stunning views.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad de la Mer
Ranked #85 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad, stunning views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed here after Marrakech and felt instantly relaxed. Abdul the manager kindly met us at the coach station which is swarming with chariot(trolley) pushers and riad hawkers very keen for your business!!
We stayed on the fourth floor which is lovely and light and airy. The views out to sea and the little islands are stunning, even more so from your own terrace above the room which feels like you have the best view in town. The Riad is very nicely done, is a great location for everything and is very well run by Abdul and Saida. Breakfast is very nice served on another terrace with equally fab views.
Couple of drawbacks are the nearby mosque which has morning prayers at 5 am and seem to last about 15 minutes! Also the stairs are quite steep and narrow to the top if your not too fit.
Essaouria itself is very nice, although it's a tourist destination it's still very Moroccan and tourists in the minority. There are lots of druggy types hustling for coins everywhere which did put a bit of a bum note on things. Lots of lovely crafts including a lovely Thuyya wood craft shop tucked away in the ramparts and a fab restaurant Des Alizes just a minute from the riad.
Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Has to be the fourth floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kg1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isleworth,United kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Having stayed in the riot that is Marrakesh for three days,we travelled on to Essaouira and found calm. The Riad de la Mer is centrally situated and we were met by Abdul the manager. It is about 10 minutes from the coach station of Supr@tours. The Riad is beautiful inside and very quiet. We had booked to be on the top floor and had the bonus of a roof terrace with panoramic views of the town - and what views especially towards the sea and the islands. The rooms were clean and we really relaxed from all the stress caused by Marrakesh. It is also very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Insist on the top room the views are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gocid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We are a family of five on our first visit to Morocco and we spent a total of fifteen nights in the Riad during Ramadan. De la Mer is very well located, being just off the main square. It is spacious, clean and has some lovely little touches. There are some superb views over the port and the beds are very comfortable - a must after a day's horse riding! The housekeeper and his wife, Abdul and Saida, were discreet and incredibly helpful. You should be aware that there are stairs to negotiate - those with dodgy knees ought to nab the bedrooms on the lower floors.

The Riad does, as others have said, have a magical quality. Our party ranged from an eight year old, to teenagers and through to adults. We all loved the Riad and Essaouira and are certainly considering returning before too long.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Riad de la Mer is right off the main square in the old walled city of Essaouira. Finding it though, is kind of a trick. You enter the arched stone entrance to the left of the Cafe Paris and proceed down an ancient tunnel, pas the shops of craftmen and artist until you find a blue door with a sign "Riad de la Mer" barely visible in the dim light. Upon opening the door though, you find a lovely house.--an open center courtyard with the Riad itself rising some five stories up. And it is a lovely, magical house, with winding staircases, great wooden doors, tiled floors and antiques. And on the very top, a terrace overlooking the harbor and the island fortresses that once guarded "Mordor".

The breakfast was continental, but great. Croissants and bread, jam, butter, juice and coffee, tea, mint tea or chocolate. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms quite private. There are a lot of stairs--72 from the entrance to the terrace on top--and if you have more than one room (floors) there are a lot of locked doors to negotiate to go from say, the third floor to the terrrace room. But it is all so lovely and other-worldly.

One warning. In the "terrace room" on the 4th floor, you are almost directly across from the mosque loudspeaker and the morning call to prayer (at about 5 a.m.) involves some lengthy reading of the Koran. The voice was quite soothing and peaceful, but I don't speak Arabic and it WAS 5 a.m. I later found out that I was being told that prayer was more important than sleep and was being exhorted to pray. (I was praying, but I am not sure that "Please let this stop so I can go back to sleep" was what the Iman had in mind.) Anyway, if you are a light sleeper, you might try a floor on a lower level (the rest of our party could not hear this at all). Or bring a pair of earplugs.

Paying was quite easy as I was able to pay the proprietor (Dianne in the U.K.) via paypal. Please note that it is customary to tip the inn staff in Morocco if you are pleased with your stay and the service.

Also, watch out for the seagulls at breakfast. They are mercenary and will steal you croissant if given an opening!

They have good wireless on the ground level, though the security code is 20 or 24 characters in length (seriously). A hint. Ignore the spaces, it is all case sensitive (upper case) and that is a zero, not an "O")

For food, I recommend the Cafe Mogodor near the beach for lunch (and beer or drinks as these are not widely available in the Medina). The rooftop cafe at Taros also off the square is also a good place for drinks and we had a truly wonderful meal at a small restaurant called "Les Trois Ports". Wonderful shrimp and probably the best meal we had in Morocco.

(We did try to eat athe the infamous Elizir, which our guidebook assured us "does not take reservations". Well, that was bad advice. They do take them and you probably need them. The food is supposed to be world-class, but we'll have to let you find that out for us...)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Middle_Aged_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We booked this riad as a group of 9 with mixed ages and it worked perfectly. There was plenty of room for us to get along nicely and the rooms were all generous in size and nicely furnished. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was useful for hot drinks and snacks as we mostly ate out, Abdul the concierge and his wife were lovely. Abdul organised the taxi for us and his wife prepared a delicious breakfast on the patio every morning. She also cooked for use one evening and the food was delicious.
The view from this riad is amazing.
Thank you to Dianne the owner for helping to make this such a good holiday,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sal.gram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

My second trip to Essouira, stayed at Riad de la Mer for a couple nights,and loved it so much I have booked the entire Riad for a week for summer 2012. Fantastic all the way down the line: Diane the owner is wonderful, responsive and accommodating. The hosts of Abdul and his wife are charming and so friendly, a pleasure to get to know! The location is great, close to the heart of the old city yet once you close the front door you are transported to a another world. the house has all the old world, unique charm that I was looking for. Beautiful antiques populate the house but do not clutter, very tasteful and artful. Amazing tile work everywhere. beautiful light permeating every room, airy and quiet. All is exceptionally clean, sheets dried in the hot sun which made me love to get into bed, wonderful smell. Every room is unique, be sure to check the well documented website to see what works best for you. I chose to room in the sky, all the way at the top which has its own private terrace - I loved it. Highly highly recommend!

Room Tip: check out the website, the info will give you a great sense of the diverse rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcolivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Riad de la Mer couldn't have be better for our short visit to Essaouria. It was perfectly located and we love the mystique of walking down narrow alleys to reach the door which is a feature of so many riads in Morocco - it is not daunting in the slightest and the locals are very friendly with no sales hassle like Marrakech. I will always marvel at the impact when opening a dark and mysterious door and entering a haven of tranquility. The riad is beautifully designed with some lovely creative touches and the fact that we had a floor (apartment) with two rooms suited us great for me and the 3 kids (10,11,13)
Breakfast on the roof overlooking the ancient town fortifications and harbour was perfect and my kids will never forget the giant seagull that swooped down to steal a whole croissant ! A very worthwhile inclusion on our tour.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Loulema
Dar Loulema
#53 of 176 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Lazuli
Dar Lazuli
#29 of 176 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jack's Apartments & Spa
Jack's Apartments & Spa
#26 of 176 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad des Palmiers
Riad des Palmiers
#63 of 176 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Perle d'Eau
Riad Perle d'Eau
#8 of 176 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de la Mer

Property: Riad de la Mer
Address: 7-9 Rue Khalid ben Oualid, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad de la Mer is a very large 18th century Jewish merchant’s house situated in the oldest part of the Medina, known as the kasbah. Recently restored with the addition of modern facilities, it nevertheless retains the rich character of the original house.This is one of the best located riads in Essaouira, with stunning panoramic views from the terrace of the sea, port and the massive sweep of the entire bay. Just a few paces from the heart of the town, Place Moulay Hassan with all its bustling cafes and restaurants, this is nevertheless a house which affords a great sense of tranquillity and considerable space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad De La Mer Hotel Essaouira
Riad De La Mer Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing