We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful European-flavor riad!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad de la Mer
Ranked #85 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful European-flavor riad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

After a so-so experience for 2 nights in Essaouira, we moved on short notice to the Riad de la Mer for our last night. Diane's prompt email communication made for an easy reservation. Abdul met us there and made sure that our stay was comfortable. We had the second floor apartment, a wonderful set of wooden-door and shuttered rooms overlooking the open terrace below, 2 bedrooms, bath and kitchen (website photos are accurate).
One bedroom was HUGE with wonderful decorations: fireplace, clothing on walls, a small table, and a nice antique mirror. The second was smaller but still not tiny. It was cold in January, but one room had a nice heater that we moved around to share. The bath was adorable with plenty of hot water; loved its open door to the walkway.
Breakfast and views on the rooftop was perfect in every way. Downstairs there is common area that includes a wonderful dining room, again intriguingly decorated and a small salon. Remaining walls and stairwells of the riad are also beautifully touched with Moroccan clothing, a very nice touch.
The Riad de la Mer is very moderately priced and has a nice European flavor to it. It is not 5-star posh, but it was very comfortable and the service was excellent! I wish we'd spent all our 3 night there! I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MlissH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I have been to Essouira many times and stayed in various hotels, this time we stayed at Riad de la Mer for 9 nights and loved it. Abdul and his wife are charming and so friendly, a pleasure to get to know! They keep the place spotlessly clean. The location is quiet with a great atmosphere and close to the heart of the old city. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

This riad was clean and easy to find, made all the more easy by Abdul and his wife Saida. Diane made it easy to booko the riad through paypal. There was one other guest staying and we were able to communicate with Siada that we would like dinner. The whole riad smelled savory and delightful. She is an excellent cook and we were served in the dining room by lamp light and soaked up every last drop of the amazing tagine that was cooked for us. Abdul lead the way to and from the supratours bus. It couldn't have been easier

Room Tip: From top to bottom all the rooms were beautifully decorated and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arhLongIslandNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere-Stad, Flevoland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

From the moment we walked in the door of this riad with the kind Abdul we felt peace coming over us. The rooms are spacy clean and very comfortable. You can feel and see that the owner has a great taste for details and the personal touch made us feel very at home away from home.
Saida coocked us a wonderful tahina with chicken lemon and olives. We all agreed that this was our best meal we had in Marocco.
Everymorning we had a wonderfull breakfast on the roofterrace with a vieuw over the port and the atlantic. We had one regret and that is that we left too soon to go back to Marrakech where we found the people very annoying. What a difference with the calm and piecefull Essouira. Thanks again and we will deffinately come back to stay in the Riad. kim loraine and wim

Room Tip: We only saw the second floor and it was great to stay with a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed here after Marrakech and felt instantly relaxed. Abdul the manager kindly met us at the coach station which is swarming with chariot(trolley) pushers and riad hawkers very keen for your business!!
We stayed on the fourth floor which is lovely and light and airy. The views out to sea and the little islands are stunning, even more so from your own terrace above the room which feels like you have the best view in town. The Riad is very nicely done, is a great location for everything and is very well run by Abdul and Saida. Breakfast is very nice served on another terrace with equally fab views.
Couple of drawbacks are the nearby mosque which has morning prayers at 5 am and seem to last about 15 minutes! Also the stairs are quite steep and narrow to the top if your not too fit.
Essaouria itself is very nice, although it's a tourist destination it's still very Moroccan and tourists in the minority. There are lots of druggy types hustling for coins everywhere which did put a bit of a bum note on things. Lots of lovely crafts including a lovely Thuyya wood craft shop tucked away in the ramparts and a fab restaurant Des Alizes just a minute from the riad.
Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Has to be the fourth floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kg1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isleworth,United kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Having stayed in the riot that is Marrakesh for three days,we travelled on to Essaouira and found calm. The Riad de la Mer is centrally situated and we were met by Abdul the manager. It is about 10 minutes from the coach station of Supr@tours. The Riad is beautiful inside and very quiet. We had booked to be on the top floor and had the bonus of a roof terrace with panoramic views of the town - and what views especially towards the sea and the islands. The rooms were clean and we really relaxed from all the stress caused by Marrakesh. It is also very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Insist on the top room the views are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gocid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We are a family of five on our first visit to Morocco and we spent a total of fifteen nights in the Riad during Ramadan. De la Mer is very well located, being just off the main square. It is spacious, clean and has some lovely little touches. There are some superb views over the port and the beds are very comfortable - a must after a day's horse riding! The housekeeper and his wife, Abdul and Saida, were discreet and incredibly helpful. You should be aware that there are stairs to negotiate - those with dodgy knees ought to nab the bedrooms on the lower floors.

The Riad does, as others have said, have a magical quality. Our party ranged from an eight year old, to teenagers and through to adults. We all loved the Riad and Essaouira and are certainly considering returning before too long.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Loulema
Dar Loulema
#53 of 176 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Lazuli
Dar Lazuli
#29 of 176 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jack's Apartments & Spa
Jack's Apartments & Spa
#26 of 176 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad des Palmiers
Riad des Palmiers
#63 of 176 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Perle d'Eau
Riad Perle d'Eau
#8 of 176 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de la Mer

Property: Riad de la Mer
Address: 7-9 Rue Khalid ben Oualid, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad de la Mer is a very large 18th century Jewish merchant’s house situated in the oldest part of the Medina, known as the kasbah. Recently restored with the addition of modern facilities, it nevertheless retains the rich character of the original house.This is one of the best located riads in Essaouira, with stunning panoramic views from the terrace of the sea, port and the massive sweep of the entire bay. Just a few paces from the heart of the town, Place Moulay Hassan with all its bustling cafes and restaurants, this is nevertheless a house which affords a great sense of tranquillity and considerable space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad De La Mer Hotel Essaouira
Riad De La Mer Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing