We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”
Review of Riad de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad de la Mer
Ranked #87 of 175 Essaouira B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My friend and I stayed here in May and I could not fault the Riad. We had a great welcome by Abdul and his wife Saida, who made amazing breakfasts every day. Our rooms were beautiful, so comfortable and spotlessly clean every day. Great location and amazing roof terrace overlooking the fort and sea. We had nothing to complain about at all and loved every minute in this beautiful and relaxing Riad. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butty_123_456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We had a wonderful time in Essaouira. The riad is super, very peaceful and clean, with lovely decorative touches. We stayed on the 4th floor and though the stairs are challenging, they are definitely worth the climb to such a lovely room and the sea view. We loved the atmosphere, which we found very relaxing, especially after a few days in Marrakech. Manager Abdul and his wife Saida, who carried our tray of tasty breakfast up to the roof terrace each morning, were friendly and helpful. We hope to visit Morocco again one day and would love another stay at the Riad de la Mer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We travelled as two couples to Essaouira and stayed for 5 nights in this gorgeous riad. From the booking process onwards, everything was smooth sailing - Diane, the riad owner, based in the UK, gave us lots of helpful information and was prompt and pleasant to deal with in booking the riad. She recommended a fab taxi driver, Abdul, who picked us up from the airport and drove us (very carefully, unlike some Moroccan drivers!) to the riad in his very cool and retro 1980's Mercedes sedan with great musical accompaniment, including Eric Clapton, The Eagles, Dire Straits and Tracy Chapman! Maybe not everyone's taste, but we loved it!

On arrival at the riad, the housekeeper (another Abdul) was there to welcome us and show us around. Both him and his wife, Saida, who prepared our breakfasts and cleaned our rooms each day, were lovely and friendly and tolerated our very poor French with much humour (and sign language!). We had booked the 3rd and 4th floor rooms as two couples and it was a perfect location - the 4th floor has its own private roof terrace and is lovely and light, with views from the bedroom windows over the port and the sea. The room on the 3rd floor has a little outdoor courtyard area with potted plants and a nice big wetroom with plenty of hot water at all times, as well as a sitting area with sofa, chairs, chess and a little table - great for the odd occasion when it's raining (which it did on one evening). Sleep quality in the 4th floor, although a lovely comfortable bed, was slightly worse than on the 3rd as you can really hear the mosque at 4am call to prayer, whereas on the 3rd floor (and I expect the lower floors) the sound is shielded somewhat and the other couple in our party on the 3rd floor had 5 nights of undisturbed sleep. Perhaps bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper! The sound of the mosque is present wherever you stay inside the medina, so it's not a problem specific to this riad (and it's not really a big deal - it's only a few minutes at 4am and anyway is part and parcel of staying in a traditional Muslim town). Downstairs the communal area and ground floor courtyard is decorated in a traditional style. Breakfast served on the terrace in the sunshine each morning was a highlight, although you have to be on your guard for raiding seagulls! The view from the terrace across the town as the sun is setting in the evening is stunning too.

The location is great - right by the main square, so easy for orientation, but set back from the bustle in a peaceful location through some archways. The beach is a 5 minute walk.

We loved our stay and highly recommend Riad de la Mer and its chilled-out atmosphere. Go there - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The room on the top floor is lovely and light, has sea views and its own private terrace - we loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LittlestHoboFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great location, fantastic rooms, friendly staff - really enjoyed the stay here

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clivecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

A charming and and attractively decorated riad just a few yards from Moulay Hassan. The first and second floor each have private terrace overlooking the central ground floor patio area. The third floor has a small outside area which leads to the rooftop terrace. Then there is where we stayed which is the top floor room overlooking the terrace, small but lovely and light with a wooden staircase which takes you onto your own little rooftop area.The view from this room was wonderful and justified our choice. the bathroom is very interesting and pleasant (but maybe not quite so much if you are over 4ft 6in).
The property manager Abdul met us in the square and guided us to the riad. His wife Saida provided us with a lovely breakfast of pastries, croissants, preserves, fresh orange juice and tea or coffee. This riad has has the atmosphere of a private house rather than a hotel and is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the life of Essaouira.

Room Tip: Be prepared for quite a climb to the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenryWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

After a so-so experience for 2 nights in Essaouira, we moved on short notice to the Riad de la Mer for our last night. Diane's prompt email communication made for an easy reservation. Abdul met us there and made sure that our stay was comfortable. We had the second floor apartment, a wonderful set of wooden-door and shuttered rooms overlooking the open terrace below, 2 bedrooms, bath and kitchen (website photos are accurate).
One bedroom was HUGE with wonderful decorations: fireplace, clothing on walls, a small table, and a nice antique mirror. The second was smaller but still not tiny. It was cold in January, but one room had a nice heater that we moved around to share. The bath was adorable with plenty of hot water; loved its open door to the walkway.
Breakfast and views on the rooftop was perfect in every way. Downstairs there is common area that includes a wonderful dining room, again intriguingly decorated and a small salon. Remaining walls and stairwells of the riad are also beautifully touched with Moroccan clothing, a very nice touch.
The Riad de la Mer is very moderately priced and has a nice European flavor to it. It is not 5-star posh, but it was very comfortable and the service was excellent! I wish we'd spent all our 3 night there! I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MlissH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I have been to Essouira many times and stayed in various hotels, this time we stayed at Riad de la Mer for 9 nights and loved it. Abdul and his wife are charming and so friendly, a pleasure to get to know! They keep the place spotlessly clean. The location is quiet with a great atmosphere and close to the heart of the old city. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#37 of 74 in Essaouira
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Casa Blanca
Riad Casa Blanca
#93 of 175 in Essaouira
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dar Loulema
Dar Loulema
#54 of 175 in Essaouira
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Perle d'Eau
Riad Perle d'Eau
#4 of 175 in Essaouira
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Ayour
Dar Ayour
#43 of 56 in Essaouira
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de la Mer

Property: Riad de la Mer
Address: 7-9 Rue Khalid ben Oualid, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad de la Mer is a very large 18th century Jewish merchant’s house situated in the oldest part of the Medina, known as the kasbah. Recently restored with the addition of modern facilities, it nevertheless retains the rich character of the original house.This is one of the best located riads in Essaouira, with stunning panoramic views from the terrace of the sea, port and the massive sweep of the entire bay. Just a few paces from the heart of the town, Place Moulay Hassan with all its bustling cafes and restaurants, this is nevertheless a house which affords a great sense of tranquillity and considerable space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad De La Mer Hotel Essaouira
Riad De La Mer Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing