We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riad de la mer”
Review of Riad de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad de la Mer
Ranked #87 of 173 Essaouira B&B and Inns
st helens, uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Riad de la mer”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed at riad de la mer in nov. We had the top floor room which was lovely, with our own terrace which had lovely views over essaouira. Abdul was very helpful if we needed any information. His wife and son served breakfast on the terrace and were very courteous. Essaouira is a lovely place, and if we return we would not hesitate to stay at Riad de la mer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank clive r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in Essaouira, very nice little town, laidback and relax... not as busy as Marrakech, vendors not as pushy as in Marrakech. No noise of cars, truck, buses etc....
We liked the riad very much... our room on the fourth fwas great, we enjoyed our private terrace a lot, great place to watch the sunrise/sunset.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We rented the entire Riad for a week during August and it was simply the best decision we could have made. Booking was easy and Diane was extremely responsive and helpful. The Riad is just an amazing house, with six rooms and i lost track of how many bathrooms - tastefully decorated and super comfortable. We were three couples and felt like living in a palace. Abdul and his family completely spoiled us with rooftop breakfasts in the morning, and deliciously homemade dinners when we came back from the beach. Fatima's dishes were the best we tried in Essaouira! The location is perfect, although the feels a little sketchy at first (as 90% of the medina also does), opening the door to the riad is like walking into an oasis. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melibearock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I inhabited the room on the top floor – including a large double bed and a small washbasin, sea view and a private roof terrace with the most splendid panorama oft the Médina, the harbour, the bay and the ocean – for one week. The bathroom is half a staircase below and even shorter people must watch their heads inside and particularly when passing the door… In general, one must admit that the narrow staircase is not to everyone’s liking and/or ability – but when you’re upstairs, it’s spectacular, like being in a boat cruising the bay of Essaouira. The room itself is bright, sunflooded, nicely furnished and decorated, clean and, as the rest of the carefully restored ancient building, impeccably kept. Lamentably, neither the private terrace nor the common breakfast terrace offers any shadow (or wind shadow, come to that).
Locally typical, simple Continental style breakfast but with fresh bread and orange juice kindly served by housekeeper Saida or her son Amin; habitual coffee drinkers should make an exception and vote for mint tea or tea instead…
The Riad’s situation is privileged, merely a few steps from the central square, near the harbour and within minutes from both the centre of the Médina and the beach – nevertheless, at night all you hear are the waves, the seagulls – and of course the bells from the tower signalising the hours – and the muezzin’s call.
If I’d return to Essaouira alone again, this very room would always be my choice – whereas if in company, I’d vote for the terrace below – and can also recommend the other place owned by the Riad’s proprietor Diane which I had the pleasure to visit, Riad des Palmiers, more luxurious, beautifully restored and also centrally located but not as close to the sea.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josephine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

This was our second Riad having travelled by bus from Marrakech . The arrangements worked well- we were met at the bus station and our luggage transported by cart to the Riad.
We had the roof top accommodation with stunning views of the sea, harbour and the typical rooftop vista. It was delightfully furnished, secluded and yet in the heart of the medina.
Breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace - a great way to start the day! And so the seagulls thought too!
It was truly a place to unwind, wander around and savour seafood dishes.
The staff were quietly attentive and the Riad clean and welcoming.
Booking was easy through the English contact / owner? who even sent a utube clip about the town.
We hope to return to recharge our batteries in the foreseeable future.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Riad! We had the top floor room which was so light, airy and dreamy. I loved that you could just watch the sunset from our room. The entire riad was very charming and the staff was more than gracious. We loved the dreamy and sleepy atmosphere. The view from the rooftop terrace is breathtaking! We had a wonderful time and we would return any day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavement_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Riad de la mer! 9 days with an excellent and warmhearted breakfast service by locals. Big roof terrace with incredibly inspiring views of the harbor and the surf off the island of Mogador.
Very centrally located, yet quite at night time. Good value for money. We can heartily recommend the clean and friendly Riad de la mer! Isa, Cathy and Chanti

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PontaDelgada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#22 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Loulema
Dar Loulema
#60 of 173 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Casa Blanca
Riad Casa Blanca
#86 of 173 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Perle d'Eau
Riad Perle d'Eau
#4 of 173 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#6 of 173 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de la Mer

Property: Riad de la Mer
Address: 7-9 Rue Khalid ben Oualid, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad de la Mer is a very large 18th century Jewish merchant’s house situated in the oldest part of the Medina, known as the kasbah. Recently restored with the addition of modern facilities, it nevertheless retains the rich character of the original house.This is one of the best located riads in Essaouira, with stunning panoramic views from the terrace of the sea, port and the massive sweep of the entire bay. Just a few paces from the heart of the town, Place Moulay Hassan with all its bustling cafes and restaurants, this is nevertheless a house which affords a great sense of tranquillity and considerable space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad De La Mer Hotel Essaouira
Riad De La Mer Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing