We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, relaxing lovely terrace specialy during the sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Smara

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Smara
Ranked #65 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Barcelona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing lovely terrace specialy during the sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I think it's very good option quality/price ratio
Rooms were simple but enough for me and the space was clean and tidy. I enjoyed the sound of the waves across my window and of course the sunset in the terrace, unforgeatable!

Very well situated "Scala" among antiquares and hand-made shops and near big square

Staff was kind and correct with me

Room Tip: Double room has a more space and the prize worth it. The 11th was the mine ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    14
    8
    6
    12
See reviews for
1
17
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Our first night there we killed 7 bed bugs in room #12. Unfortunately, our stay coincided with the gnaoua music festival and other places in our price range were booked. We told the front desk and one person said the climate is too cool for bed bugs. As a person with a Masters of Science in Public Health (parisitology focus), I would like to state that he is incorrect. We switched the room to #3, on a separate floor level, slept in out own gear, and still killed a couple of bed bugs, although the infestation was not as bad. Stay away at all costs or you risk bringing the bugs with you on your travels!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notpra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Essaouira hotels

Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in the quatro room on the top floor.
I'm not a demanding traveler so in my oppion it's quite ok.
though the rooms were really not clean, a lot of dirt on the floor and the bathrooms were dirty even as the toilets.
A bit anoying, there were no poweroutlets in the room to charge a phone or camera.
though the sheets were clean and the beds ok, and the view in the morning was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Whatever you do....don't stay here. It was damp in mid summer. It was NOT clean at all and the bathrooms gave your gag reflex a good work out. I arrived and pulled back the covers to inspect the bed only to find bits of wall in my bed. Yes, bits of wall - the plaster was falling off into the beds. But i thought 'hey it's budget, ill brush it off n it'll be fine'. Then my friend spotted the first of the bed bugs! Now I don't mind one or two, it's to be expected in a cheapy hotel. However I awoke at 2:30pm along with my 2 travel companions only to find another one on my pillow and my friend to find 2 and my sister to find 3/4 as well. We swiftly killed them and turned the pillows over to return to our somewhat disturbed sleep. WOAH! A further 8 crawled on the other side and a further 4 scurried across the bedding. It was at this point we decided we wouldn't sleep in our room and made the move to the damp internal room (courtyard) - There was no one on reception to complain to or ask to be moved rooms so our only option was to set up camp in the courtyard, a deck of cards and ipod in hand.

After 3 hours sleep across the whole night, we were not impressed that noone came onto reception until almost 8am! By this time we were dressed and ready to leave. The only matter now was the pay! The man was outrageously rude! We had merely stated that we had not actually slept in our rooms due to the number of bed bugs and that we didn't really want to pay the full amount - hoping for a 10% discount or similar. The man went on to call us liars and that there was nothing wrong with the beds. We offered to show him the evidence but he told us we would have to wait for his manager who would be there in 20 mins. He then proceeded to call up to the cleaners - i can only assume he was telling them to clean our room to remove the evidence. He told us we should have said something to him, so we pointed out that noone was there to talk to at 2:30am! In the end we just wanted to get out and find a nice hotel so we paid our money and left! (it was only just over £15 for the 3 of us for the night, but it was the principle of it really)

We did manage to find a nice hotel for our second night, the Bleue Rivage, just off the main square. This was also listed in the lonely planet guide and was really lovely. It was 150dhr each, so roughy £10 a night. The rooms were clean and tidy and the bathroom was clean and didn't smell. The huge bonus was the balcony!!! overlooking the square and harbour. Just lovely, I would recommend this hotel for sure!

Essouira is the most peaceful and beautiful town. The residents are very chilled out and it was a welcome retreat from the manic nature of Marrakech (which was equally awesome in it's own way).

I will definitely be returning to Morocco. But not the Hotel Smara!!!

Room Tip: dirty, bits of wall in the bed, bed bugs galore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rjwl1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

My two girlfriends and I recently stayed just one night at Hotel Smara, while it is in a good area, close to the ramparts and the sea, this hardly makes up for the severe bed bug infestation!!! After just one night my friends and I have literally hundreds of itchy bites between us! We quickly checked out and ran around the corner to an affordable hotel and were happy to spend a few dirham more to escape the bugs. Please do yourself a favour and DO NOT even think about staying here.

Ps I do not understand how this place is listed with 3 stars!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank odessa1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Located in the heart of medina just behind Essaouira ramparts it is very good choice to stay. You can listen to the sounds of seagulls and ocean waves. Walking distance to the center square, port and beach. Friendly staff.
One hint - it could be great to see little ordinary rug on the concrete floor.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kasia_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

We stayed there only 1 night and found the mattress covered with black little stains. Since we never dealt with bed bugs before we didn't know this was a sign of bed bug infestation. We saw some bed bugs just before going to bed kind of late so we put some essential oil
(lavender and clover) in the bed linen to protect us from bites, knowing we were only staying one night. We didn't get any bites but unfortunately we brought back some home with us, probably from leaving our baggage on the bed before we noticed anything.
We were staying in room No 12... beware!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alphonser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#26 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#34 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smara

Property: Hotel Smara
Address: 26 Rue De Skala, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Smara Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing