We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll feel like you discovered a hidden gem.”
Review of Hotel Riad Nakhla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riad Nakhla
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Lonely Planet is correct that this place is a little intimidating from the outside, but we found the inside courtyard, roof deck and room 15 to be beautiful. We moved to Nakhla after an expensive night at Lalla Mira, and the value was apparent immediately. The stairs are no joke though.. Serious workout, but worth it for our view of the beach. Arrive early, during the week so you get your pick of a room.

Rashid (and the others on the staff) were super nice and accomodating (even gave us a little deal on the room). Great suggestions on restaurants. Ask them where to get the best mint tea!

Room Tip: #15 is up the stairs, but has great water pressure and a lovely view. Wifi is strongest closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Lonely Planet ranks this highly as a budget hotel. For only a few dirham more, go find another riad. The sheets were clean but everything else was pretty bare bones. My wife hated the smell.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Very helpful staff made our visit to Essaouira very easy. The rooms are very clean and the
views are very nice. The fish market and restaurant was a wonderful experience. The hammam
for women was a great experience--highly recommended if you have the time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham5665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The trouble with this Riad is the stairs! When we got there the power was off and we had to lug our bags up five very steep flights of stairs in the dark...not great if you are older than 25. No towels in the room and no soap. Promised Internet connections never eventuated. Had booked for three nights and left after one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were a bit doubtful walking down the alleyway to get to this riad (cats everywhere!) but once we were inside we were very pleasantly surprised. The inner courtyard in the reception area is beautiful and the staff were very helpful (we hadn't booked). They gave us a map, directions and recommended a few restaurants to us. Our twin room was spacious and warm - it was January and other places we'd stayed had been freezing! - and the bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water. The TV didn't work but we weren't spending much time in the room anyway. The view from the roof terrace was stunning, we watched the sun rise over the sea and breakfast was great. The location is fantastic and this riad really is great value for money. We absolutely loved Essaouira and would definitely go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

A fine family run hotel just inside the medina, it's close to everything. The rooms are homely, If a tad small, The welcome is warm without being excessive, the breakfast on the upstairs terrace is AMAZING, There was a TV in my room but it didn't seem to be working, The quality of service and the beauty of the Riad stand out considering the cheap price. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauldkelly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This place was one of our trip highlights. Rooms were comfortable, clean and water hot. Albeit not large this is how we travel. We were not disappointed. January is cold. Heating is a small electric fire, knocking off the chill. We slept well and were snug under plenty of wool. The inner courtyard is elegant and beautiful. It felt like we were in a small palace. Breakfast was standard for Morocco. Clean, tasty, with some daily variety, good jams, honey and butter. The best was Abdel, one of the managers. We spent hours just talking together as friends. He is the one to ask about travel and other activities. I felt he cared and was honest. Aware, educated and balanced in his views he educated us as to the city itself, Morocco and local experiences. We were steered to a very nice affordable restaurant, the Dar Mounia. Best of all he taught us about tourist items and how to get the best qualities at decent prices. He convinced us to shop for our own food, and where in the market to take it to be cooked, all at reasonable rates. Our own design tajine was splendid. We felt like locals and ate affordably as well. I would go back again for the Riad, the city and especially to see Abdel. I am a US doctor, my daughter lives in Paris. We travel to third and second world places often. Morocco is a tad above most of our experiences and was quite a bit easier on us travel-wise. I was pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: We faced a small air shaft. It was quiet. A view may be nicer but perhaps noisier. I can't co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimTheSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 75 in Essaouira
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#42 of 75 in Essaouira
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#37 of 75 in Essaouira
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#23 of 75 in Essaouira
327 reviews
4.8 mi away
Riad Dar Etto
Riad Dar Etto
#2 of 2 in Ghazoua
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#33 of 75 in Essaouira
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riad Nakhla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riad Nakhla

Address: 12 Rue d'Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: £33 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riad Nakhla 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riad Nakhla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nakhla Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing