We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was quite nice! ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il mare

Il mare
Ranked #177 of 262 Restaurants in Essaouira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Essaouira, Morocco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was quite nice! ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my meal. It was quite nice! The view through the window was lovely and the food was quite nice aswell! They had live music which was quite nice aswell, although only 1 half of the room could see it, which was the half of the room I was not sitting at! Although, all together I enjoyed it

Helpful?
Thank Emily90790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    99
    87
    55
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only for a drink!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We've been to Il Mare for dinner- lured in by the amazing view for sunset. The food was clearly the worst we've had in Essaouira, tasteless, dull. Even the tajines, which are usually a safe bet were disappointing, but overpriced. I suggest you take a wine to watch the sunset and head off for dinner just anywhere else!

Helpful?
Thank Orsoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
616 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Awesome views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Up a little lane and lots of stairs however the view makes it all worthwhile. Enjoyed a few drinks at happy hour before moving downstairs as it became cooler. We ordered pizzas, we found the margarita pizza quite bland, however the red wine was lovely. When we came to pay the bill we had been charged for quite a few drinks we didn't have and my husband had to spend time with the waiter reconciling the bill.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NswAustraliaDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place to watch the sun go down..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I am quite surprized by the bad reviews... I went with a group of friends for dinner, quite early, and thought the staff were very good, accomodating, quick, attentive. I had lobster salad and some fries, sat leaning back on very comfy cushions in different colours, very relaxed...... Food was delicious! Or you could sit outside and listen to the waves crashing and watch the sun setting... Was a perfect end to a busy afternoon in the Medina.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Candy572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great location, food good but overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a late lunch at this place, mainly because other places where you can also get a beer seem to stop doing lunch around 3 pm. The location is great but the restaurant looked a bit shabby and in need of a makeover. The waitress was helpful. My husband had a fried baby squid starter which he said was excellent. My own starter was a tomato salad and whilst it was nice it was grossly overpriced. I ordered seafood pasta for the main course which was slightly over cooked but the seafood tasted fresh. My husband had fish kebabs which were good. Overall we had a good meal but the price was steep for what it was and I went away feeling slightly ripped off.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Basilcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il mare also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Il mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing