We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 49 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp-Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

First impressions are so important. So when we – a group of 4 friends – arrived at the Cornerstone Guesthouse and were made to feel at home immediately by the warm welcome Peter and Margo extended us, we knew we were in for a treat. We were not disappointed. The rooms we got overlooking the well-kept court yard were modern, spacious and impeccably clean with an en-suite bathroom boasting a heavenly shower unlike many we’d come across during our stay in Namibia. Breakfast was bliss too, with Peter and staff fussing over us so we wouldn’t want for anything. Don’t know what other B&B’s or hotels are like in Swakopmund, but if I ever make it back to the seaside resort I wouldn’t look for anything else than the Cornerstone Guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Harding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    64
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
91
251
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed at An Der Mole apartment belonging to Cornerstone and it was beautifully clean and comfortable. Excellent balcony overlooking the sea. Tasty breakfasts at the guesthouse and nothing was too much trouble for the owners Peter and Margo. We will hopefully return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plainfields22016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at the Cornerstone B&B for two nights at the end of our stay in Namibia. This B&B sets the standard for all B&B's, in fact it is almost like a boutique hotel instead of a B&B. Friendly welcome, service and advice from Bettina. Peter was also an excellent host at breakfast and as a coeliac I was very impressed with the gluten free choices that were provided (especially the freshly baked bread). Great place to spend my birthday! We recommend to anyone staying in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Hardly possible to find a better place in Swakopmund. 5-star service, hospitality and comfort receivd all staff members - including the owner - in a family-type lication. Excellent breakfast in a brillantly arranged setting. Has its own, protected parking. Have chosen this location thanks to TripAdvisor as our Travel agency was going to book us in one of the best local hotels. We have definitely taken the right decision and can wholeheartedly recommend the Cornerstone Guesthouse.

Room Tip: Maybe room no. 1 (what we had and which next to kitchen/reception) has a smaller patio than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Werner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Finland, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Swakopmund is not a large town so any place to stay would be convenient for the casual visitor. The hosts at the Cornerstone Guesthouse were very welcoming and the service was fine, polite and efficient. The room we stayed in was clean and tidy and the bed very comfortable. Parking was a slight problem since their enclosed and secure car park was only suitable for 3 vehicles so with 5 rooms two guests could be leaving their vehicles on the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed at the cornerstone guesthouse for 2 nights between the dunes and the dessert.
Room was large, immaculately clean and well equipped. The staff were great, especially helping us get our credit cards unblocked!! Also they got up early to ensure we could have a proper breakfast before setting out on a kayaking trip. They also provided us with an emergency contact phone to staff for any problems.
Laundry was quick and efficient.
The rooms and location are great but it is the service which really makes this place stand out.
This is small luxury hotel quality without the pomp.
Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horgen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Cornerstone Guesthouse is well located in Swakopmund. It's very calm and quiet place. The Rooms are spacious very clean and have everything you need (Safe, Fridge etc.). The Owners are very helpful and friendly - Thank you ! The Breakfast was one of the best we had in Namibia - just outstanding ! Parking is free and secure. Strong recommendation !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wurzelreiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
339 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 49 in Swakopmund
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
#2 of 35 in Swakopmund
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Guesthouse

Property: Cornerstone Guesthouse
Address: 40 Hendrik Witbooi st, Swakopmund 9999, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerstone Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small, private and peaceful bed and breakfast an easy walk to the sea and the town centre of Swakopmund on Namibia's fascinating Skeleton Coast.Occupying a quiet corner of Swakopmund's old town near the marine museum and the old brewery, Cornerstone Guesthouse offers the charm and intimacy of a family-run B&B combined with the modern amenities of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cornerstone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing