We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for stop-over. Excellent breakfast!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 51 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Nice Place for a Swakopmund stop-over. Quiet and well furnished rooms with own patio. Very well maintained garden. Secure parking for about six cars. Professional services. Excellent breakfast. Best in Namibia :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ure63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed for one night on our way through Namibia. Great little boarding house. The room was immaculate. Clean and everything in its place. The place is secure with the usual high fence and electric gate.

The breakfast was also very good. The place is so clean and the hosts were pleasant and helpful.

There were three couples and none of us had an issue.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leanneandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is perfect for a stay in Swakopmund. Friendly Service, near to the town and excellent tips for restaurants ("22 degree" - sitting outside direct beside the old lighthouse, or "Jetty" on the Beach). The room was perfect for our family (2 adults and 2 children) and very clean.
We would recommend this hotel very much!

Room Tip: Familly rooms are perfect for 4 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MG0067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Cornerstone Guest House for two nights on our honeymoon in December 2013. The accommodation is clean and fairly simple - but this fits in well with the seaside ambience of Swakopmund. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, and the breakfasts bountiful and delicious. We found the hosts, Peter and Bettina, to be welcoming, friendly, and helpful in planning our activities around Swakopmund. The free WiFi (albeit limited) was a much-appreciated added bonus.

For the level of service we received, the pricing was very competitive. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is our 2nd visit to Cornerstone (and 2nd review) and as far as guesthouses go, Cornerstone remains up there with the best of them in Swakopmund and I would reiterate my previous comments of 2010. Immaculately clean, comfy, lovely gardens in a good location, very helpful hosts, a good breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The guesthouse itself was full when we traveled to Swakop in late November but Cornerstone has 3 self-catered apartments that it rents out at comparable rates to the guest rooms. My brother and I stayed for eight nights in Moringa Gardens, the penthouse apartment they have in the center of town and it was a wonderful experience.

Pros:
+ Incredibly spacious (3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms; vaulted ceilings)
+ Glass windows all around (views of dunes from living room)
+ 3 balconies (including individual ones for 2 of the bedrooms)
+ On a high floor so noise not an issue and felt very secure
+ Cornerstone gave us a Namibian phone, map, and the option to have breakfast in the guesthouse every morning so never felt isolated
+ Location is ideal, 1 block away from heart of town

Cons:
- Wifi doesn't extend to all of the rooms

The icing on top was how hospitable the Cornerstone staff were. Even though we weren't staying in the actual guesthouse, Bettina and Robyn organized our entire itinerary, customizing it perfectly to the blend of adventure sports, desert exploration, and relaxation that we were looking for.

Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a great stay. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable and had everything you could need. The guesthouse is walking distance from everything in town and felt very safe. The owners and staff were very helpful; they happily made reservations for us at local restaurants and on a local day trip. The breakfast was delicious. We couldn't fault this place and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
337 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 51 in Swakopmund
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meike's Guesthouse
Meike's Guesthouse
#1 of 51 in Swakopmund
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Guesthouse

Address: 40 Hendrik Witbooi st, Swakopmund 9999, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range: £94 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerstone Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small, private and peaceful bed and breakfast an easy walk to the sea and the town centre of Swakopmund on Namibia's fascinating Skeleton Coast.Occupying a quiet corner of Swakopmund's old town near the marine museum and the old brewery, Cornerstone Guesthouse offers the charm and intimacy of a family-run B&B combined with the modern amenities of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cornerstone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing