We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 50 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2009

This guesthouse is a good quality B&B in a good location in Swakop. The rooms are comfortable, with tea and coffee, TV and small outdoor patios. After the splendour of Namibian countryside and smart lodges, Swakop was a bit of an anticlimax. It's a pleasant town, but doesn't have the wow-factor like all the other places we visited in Nambia.
While staying in Swakop, we joined both the popular Tommy's desert tours (which was excellent) and the Mola mola harbour cruise from Walvis Bay (also enjoyable).
There were quite a few restaurants around town, but I can't say we were overwhelmed by choice. The Tug was fully booked, so instead we dined in the Gruner Wald, the Grapevine and a Feesh place (just up the road from the Cornersone).
The service in the Gruner wald was iffy ("we'd like a table for two please" "how about this" "well, we'd prefer our own table" as 2 girls already at the table look on bemused. They also asked us to share a menu, despite a pile of about 30 sitting by the entrance). In saying this the food was excellent and really good value.
The Feesh place looked a bit like a fast food joint but again served great food.
The Grapevine was the priciest but again the food was good. A nice touch was that you could pick a bottle of wine after tasting a selection at the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scientesquodcarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2009

The Cornerstone is 5 minutes walk into town and about 15 minutes walk from the beach. The rooms are spotless, spacious and the owners are extremely helpful. The bathrooms are very clean with lovely showers. The room has a kettle and fridge with minibar which is very welcome. The breakfast room is lovely with friendly and helpful staff. They all speak perfect English. The breakfasts are very good. Location couldn't be better. Good restaurants nearby, eg Grapevine and Ocean Basket. The Tug is a famous restaurant, ask the owners in advance if you want a booking as it's their speciality!! Do take a desert tour and boat trip from Walvis Bay. Really recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank megnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornerstone123, Owner at Cornerstone Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank monnschder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornerstone123, Owner at Cornerstone Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sabreGh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension A la Mer
Hotel Pension A la Mer
#13 of 19 in Swakopmund
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 50 in Swakopmund
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stiltz
The Stiltz
#8 of 50 in Swakopmund
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meike's Guesthouse
Meike's Guesthouse
#1 of 50 in Swakopmund
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Guesthouse

Address: 40 Hendrik Witbooi st, Swakopmund 9999, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range: £86 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerstone Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small, private and peaceful bed and breakfast an easy walk to the sea and the town centre of Swakopmund on Namibia's fascinating Skeleton Coast.Occupying a quiet corner of Swakopmund's old town near the marine museum and the old brewery, Cornerstone Guesthouse offers the charm and intimacy of a family-run B&B combined with the modern amenities of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cornerstone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing