We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located, friendly hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eberwein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Eberwein
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well located, friendly hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights, great location pretty much in the centre of town. The room we had (room 5) didn't face the road, so was nice and quiet. There was no air con but the fan that was provided was more than adequate. There was also a fridge stocked with well priced drinks and snacks. Breakfast was lovely, and they'd taken the trouble to provide some rice cakes for my gluten free diet. We ate out at Bits and Pizza's (they do gluten free pizzas as well as ordinary ones) and also the fish deli - both were great. They have underground secure parking and you are given a fob to operate the electronic door.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LN001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    44
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
40
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Fairly Simple.

Arrived in Swakopmund, and was greeted by the receptionist on duty who took me up to my room. Very decent room with minibar, tv and air con. Slept very well, the bed was comfortable and the decor was a very antique. I would have loved to stay in the Suites as it is a bit more spacious.

In the morning the friendly waitress from breakfast greeted me with a smile and asked if I wanted some eggs or omelettes. Breakfast was fairly strong with some German influenced dishes.

Great stay and great service. Will recommend :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had already spent 10 days in Namibia before staying at the Eberwein and it was very different from other hotels we stayed in. It felt very European and very un African! Even had sherry in a decanter on the table.
Our room was superb with a bath which was a real treat. Bed was comfortable and the room was very clean and cared for.
The hotel does not provide dinner but breakfast was good although we did have to wait for a table for around 10 minutes as the area is small and a large party had taken it all. Staff were excellent and recommended places for dinner and booked us tables. Swakopmond is a safe town to walk around even in the evening.
Wifi is available in the foyer area and has a good signal.
I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-on-Thames
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel is quite central, easy to walk to the seaside. We were made very welcome. Our room was quite large and had a coveted fridge. We could watch the world go by from our window on the first floor. Opposite is an old fashioned German bakery, which we also visited. The breakfast is self service with English brakfast served by a wiatress. The breakfast offers a large choice of fresh ingredients, including yummy fresh rolls. Unfortunately i could not get a connection on the internet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redfunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, Wa Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had 2 nights in this lovely hotel in the middle of town, staff extremely helpful and we could walk anywhere safely, loved the place, musea, art market and most of all the restaurants, quality of food was excellent. We ate 1 night at Erichs and 1 night at the Jetty. Absolutely Yummie

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wytske C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Much of Swakopmund -- and this hotel is no exception -- feels so much like a quaint German seaside town that you can forget you're even in Africa. It's a very odd experience, but a memorable one, at least. The hotel itself has an old-fashioned, Old World charm to it that many would appreciate... although it also felt a bit like I was staying in my grandmother's house. Next time I will probably choose a place with a younger or more modern vibe to it. But I loved the extensive breakfast bar here with breads, cereals, five different kinds of marmalade/jam, gourmet cheeses and salamis, and fruit -- as well as the option to order hot eggs or oatmeal made to order. All in all, everything was clean, comfortable, and centrally located -- with excellent service -- so we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elephantist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This was my fifth visit to Hotel Eberwein and each time I promise myself that I will return. The rooms are spacious, extremely clean and the staff is very helpful. The property is located near the town centre, secure parking is provided and their breakfast is a treat. Don't just stay for one night.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the corner rooms for space, or one of the back rooms if you prefer not to hear the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eberwein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eberwein

Property: Hotel Eberwein
Address: Corner of Sam Nujoma Ave & Otavi Streets | Right in the Center of Town, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eberwein 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Villa Wille" now called Hotel Eberwein is a historic building, offers individually designed rooms where the Victorian style has been preserved. Enjoy distinguished luxury in the honey moon, Standard or Victorian Rooms. Situated right in the heart of Swakopmund walking distances to all shops, restaurants and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Eberwein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing