We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meike's Guesthouse - Absolutely Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Meike's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meike's Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 48 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Meike's Guesthouse - Absolutely Excellent”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just a quick note to advise that we have been travelling around Namibia and have just stayed at Meike's Guesthouse in May 2014.
I give it 100% full marks in terms of location near the town, cleanliness and super friendly owners and staff.
PS: The breakfast was super too.

Room Tip: Book early as this property has a high occupancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    41
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
154
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Wow, if only there was such a welcoming and adorable place in every city I have traveled! The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating, the rates are an extremely good deal, the breakfast is fresh and beautifully prepared, and the rooms are large, immaculate, and very tasteful. You can tell they put a lot of attention to the details, which I really appreciated. Also, great location to easily walk to the beach and restaurants. I will definitely return if there is an opportunity to visit this lovely town.

Room Tip: I advise booking through their website directly. Sometimes booking.com is not accurate availability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeTraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was very impressed with the quality of the finishes, fittings and the cleanliness of the rooms at Meike’s Guesthouse. The owners are friendly people, as is their little Jack Russel whose tail never stops wagging. They have a great deal of local knowledge and are eager to share that knowledge with their guests.

The court yard and walkways are tastefully decorated with local arts and crafts as well as semi-precious stones and other interesting artefacts and knick-knacks which gives the place a very friendly feel – it reminded me in some ways of our own home. The all-encompassing theme throughout was that of the humble guinea fowl, which is one of Gail’s favourite creatures.

Breakfast was very good and the off-street parking was secure with an overnight guard looking after our vehicles, important to us as we have loads of camping equipment on board. I would definitely recommend Meike’s Guest House to anyone looking to spend a few nights in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Meike's guesthouse is the Place to go if you want to stay one or a few nights in Swakopmund. The owner are very friendly and open minded and are really interested in their guests. They are wiling to give nice tips about the country and help you with whatever problem you have.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean, you feel like in a hotel.
When we were there in the middle of May we booked two rooms with breakfast included. The breakfast which is prepared in a lovely kitchen is more than a dream. You really get everything to eat what you could ask for and even more.
To sum up I can really recommend this lovely place to everyone who is looking for a place to stay in Swakopmund also because it is low priced and situated in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed two nights in this guesthouse. The location is safe and secure. I was the atypical non-driving customer, but basically the whole town was within walking distance. There seemed to be plenty of secure parking though if you're driving. The owner and staff were very kind. The breakfast was plentiful and many options of a typical European variety. The rooms were comfy and clean. I was there during a hot spell, and my room didn't have a fan, so it was not the most comfortable sleeping. But apparently this was extremely rare and usually it is the other way around with heat needed, and there were electric blankets in the drawers to prepare for that. I would consider this a good value and go again if I was in Swakop. And this loyalty was shared, as I met one couple who has visited every year from Europe for 26 years in a row. It is a very nice place. One note is that checkout was 10 a.m., which might be typical for Namibia, but surprised me as no notice was given until 9:45 a.m., so be prepared for the local custom.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maverick171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I really love this place, it felt like home! I could stay here forever.
Great rooms, a fantastic bed and your own little patio/garden. Its really nice to be able to sit there with a glas of wine at the evening.
The rooms are quite big, with big bathrooms and a fridge. Everything is so clean, everywhere! And all of the staff is very friendly.
It´s close to the city centre, 5 min walk to restaurants/shops and next to a grocery store. The beach is 10 minutes away.
It feels very secure(both city and guesthouse) and it was no problem to stay here a a single travelling woman.
Just ask for anything, and they will help you in any way they can.

Room Tip: I had room number 3, and I think it has a bit of more "privacy" than the other rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoWi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Sussex
Level Contributor
172 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Meike's Guesthouse is a gem of place. Such lovely and helpful people. Very nice breakfast as well. Stayed for 2 nights on 17/18 December and couldn't have been happier. Meike has to be one of the nicest people I have met in the hospitality industry in a very long time. You cannot go wrong staying here - not at all. 5 stars all the way!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrNBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
#1 of 48 in Swakopmund
422 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 48 in Swakopmund
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meike's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meike's Guesthouse

Property: Meike's Guesthouse
Address: 23 Windhoeker Street | P.O.Box 2858, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Meike's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meike's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing