We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just plain basic” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunedin Star Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunedin Star Guest House
Ranked #42 of 49 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Just plain basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Yep, there has to be one that's just not right up there.....and this one is it! It seemed dark
and a bit dingy..........the showers were a litle dangerous as 2 people in our group had
falls because of this. The bathroom basin seemed to be fitted for a giant as I almost needed a step to access it. Breakfast was ok......but a bit stingy too! The staff seemed
to lack any sort of joy . The good bits were that it was within good walking distance to the main part of town. For a 2 night stay - we were on a Nomad overland Safari.......I think
there must be better places around.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Australiangroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    21
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
5
32
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed at Dunedin Star during a visit to Namibia. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The service at reception was good and we enjoyed the breakfast in a big, open dining room. The waiters were very helpful and we enjoyed the cooked breakfast as well as the cold breakfast. The staff were very helpful at all times. The parking is not very big but we did not have problems getting our car out when we wanted to go somewhere.
The questhouse is conveniently near the centre of town and we enjoyed walking to town at any time of day or night.
The garden is well-kept and has a homely effect. I will definaterly recommend Dunedin star to people who want to stay in a safe and friendly environment.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan542702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

We found the place dark, gloomy and unwelcoming. The rooms are sparse and dark with limited space, the common areas are also limited. Free internet is good there when it is working.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubaitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

For $40 USD I couldn't pass up this guesthouse for my one night off-season (July is winter) in Swakopmund. Weather was warm morning and night. The is one block off the main road (Sam Nujoma/B2) and about four blocks from most shopping. Easy walking distance to everywhere, even all the way to the beach. Don;t spend time in your room, as it's just a place to sleep. If you're going to spend more than a night in Swakopmund, then get a hotel room, perhpas the Hansa Hotel, where we had dessert and coffee (elegant and charming). Diner was very good at The Tug Restaurant, right on the beach! It was atmospheric and we had sundowners there on the deck too!

Dunedin Star is a fairly large guesthouse with security, kind of like a compound. Your key gets you in the gate. It's an attractive looking sandy, rust color with decent grounds inside. There's parking, but since someone may park behind you inside the gate, be sure the front desk has the keys of the guests. This was a small problem when I wanted to leave but was resolved within 15 min. Breakfast is basic, but they did cook eggs and bacon as a choice to the cold choice. No juice (you pay for that). Coffee is included. Breakfast opens at 7am.

All in all, adequate place for a night's stay, especially if on a budget or just passig through.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jszyman806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension A la Mer
Hotel Pension A la Mer
#14 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.0 mi away
BON Hotel Swakopmund
BON Hotel Swakopmund
#11 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Wiese Backpackers Lodge
Villa Wiese Backpackers Lodge
#44 of 49 in Swakopmund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
#36 of 49 in Swakopmund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meike's Guesthouse
Meike's Guesthouse
#2 of 49 in Swakopmund
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.0 mi away
Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin Star Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Star Guest House

Property: Dunedin Star Guest House
Address: Cnr. Daniel Tjongerero & Windhoeker Street, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunedin Star Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunedin Star Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing