We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
6
27
35
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
27
35
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaundry donerooms are basictwo nightscampingguesthousesafarisupermarketbedding
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Yep, there has to be one that's just not right up there.....and this one is it! It seemed dark
and a bit dingy..........the showers were a litle dangerous as 2 people in our group had
falls because of this. The bathroom basin seemed to be fitted for a giant as I almost needed a step to access it. Breakfast was ok......but a bit stingy too! The staff seemed
to lack any sort of joy . The good bits were that it was within good walking distance to the main part of town. For a 2 night stay - we were on a Nomad overland Safari.......I think
there must be better places around.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Australiangroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed at Dunedin Star during a visit to Namibia. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The service at reception was good and we enjoyed the breakfast in a big, open dining room. The waiters were very helpful and we enjoyed the cooked breakfast as well as the cold breakfast. The staff were very helpful at all times. The parking is not very big but we did not have problems getting our car out when we wanted to go somewhere.
The questhouse is conveniently near the centre of town and we enjoyed walking to town at any time of day or night.
The garden is well-kept and has a homely effect. I will definaterly recommend Dunedin star to people who want to stay in a safe and friendly environment.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan542702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We found the place dark, gloomy and unwelcoming. The rooms are sparse and dark with limited space, the common areas are also limited. Free internet is good there when it is working.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dubaitraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

For $40 USD I couldn't pass up this guesthouse for my one night off-season (July is winter) in Swakopmund. Weather was warm morning and night. The is one block off the main road (Sam Nujoma/B2) and about four blocks from most shopping. Easy walking distance to everywhere, even all the way to the beach. Don;t spend time in your room, as it's just a place to sleep. If you're going to spend more than a night in Swakopmund, then get a hotel room, perhpas the Hansa Hotel, where we had dessert and coffee (elegant and charming). Diner was very good at The Tug Restaurant, right on the beach! It was atmospheric and we had sundowners there on the deck too!

Dunedin Star is a fairly large guesthouse with security, kind of like a compound. Your key gets you in the gate. It's an attractive looking sandy, rust color with decent grounds inside. There's parking, but since someone may park behind you inside the gate, be sure the front desk has the keys of the guests. This was a small problem when I wanted to leave but was resolved within 15 min. Breakfast is basic, but they did cook eggs and bacon as a choice to the cold choice. No juice (you pay for that). Coffee is included. Breakfast opens at 7am.

All in all, adequate place for a night's stay, especially if on a budget or just passig through.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jszyman806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews