We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located, clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunedin Star Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunedin Star Guest House
Ranked #42 of 49 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Centrally located, clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were booked here by our tour operator for 2 nights, rooms were very simple but clean, beds comfortable. Shower was not very good very poor water pressure and it took a long time for the hot water to flow through so we felt very wasteful having to run the water for several minutes before any hot water came through. Breakfast was simple with a choice of cereal/fruit/yoghurt, toast and coffee/tea or bacon/eggs/tomato, toast and coffee/tea. Internet was free but only available in the common area. Laundry can be arranged (24 hrs service) and was reasonably priced. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: If wanting a double bed make sure you request in advance, our room was on the street front but we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    21
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
5
32
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I made a reservation with this hotel and they charged my card with the amount due to pay. Unfortunately i had to cancel my reservation and the hotel assured me that they will send the money back into my account. After 4 month and a lot of emails i still didn't get the money. I wouldn't trust this hotel with anything.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SoniaTaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swakopmund hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

I have a list of issues.
1. Hot water 1 out of 3 nights stay so far.
2. Parking issues
3. No place to pack your clothes
4. Internet only available at certain area
5. No television, not even in breakfast room
6. Breakfast is pathetic. Oily beacon, and healthbread stated is bought as brown bread from local shop. Homemade muesli is from a box! Find it in you bowl and win a car.
7. You get woken at 7:30am on Holiday to move your car!
8. Trees lie on top of roof of your room. When wind blows 90% of the time, no sleep for you here..
We booked for 5 nights. After 3 we are moving out today. Found other accommodation!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarlV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We were booked in at Dunedin Star Guesthouse by our tour operator, New African Frontiers, in Swakopmund the past weekend and stayed for 3 nights, after initially only being booked for 1 night. As someone that travels regularly to Swakopmund and have stayed at various establishments in Swakopmund, Dunedin Star can be recommended to anyone looking for value for money. The staff was extremely friendly and helpfull, especially a wonderfull lady called Ivonne. The rooms were clean, and although decor is simple, you have everything you need and the beds were very very comfy. Its fairly centrally located and in my opinion, you wont find another guesthouse in Swakopmund at the rate of Dunedin star, that offers the type of accommodation it does. We were very happy with the choice New African Frontiers made for us, and will definitley return to Dunedin Star and will without a doubt trust any accommodation that the team at New African Frontiers recommends to us.
Thank you to the Team at New African Frontiers and also thank you to Ivonne at Dunedin Star that made our weekend very enjoyable..

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 21 , which was a good location. Had a nice little bench and table infront of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I definitely agree with previous reviews--the Dunedin Star has very basic rooms and I couldn't believe we were paying 500 NAD/~ $60 USD/night for a room, but that is less than the going rate in Swakopmund for a private room w bath. (All the rule signs everywhere was a little off-putting (if you stay there, you'll see what I mean)--we weren't used to this, but after walking around Swakopmund, we realized the whole town was kinda like that, so I guess it made sense.) The easy-going staff made our experience pleasant at breakfast and we spent most our time around the corner hanging out at their backpacker place where we utilized the free wifi and the kitchen to self-cater. Parking was secure and the location was convenient--Swakopmund laundry mat was nearby (15 NAD/wash for a machine-full if you do it yourself--The guest house charges 70 NAD/kilo, so this is definitely the cheaper way to go, and a good deal if you have a lot of dirty clothes.) Also, there is a fantastic grocery store 'Fruit & Vegetable Market' (I think that is the name) about a two-minute walk away from the guest house in a shopping complex with a Nando's, Steer's, fish and chip place, etc. This grocery store has affordable takeaway meals and groceries (prices similar to Shop Rite, which is also located nearby). Overall, I would stay at the Dudedin again--not bad!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

The Dunedin Star is about as basic as you can get without being an outright dormitory. The rooms, beds, and decor are basic. The bathroom is utilitarian. Not even a shade on the lights, just the bulbs.

That said, it is clean and centrally located. We stayed as part of a package tour and had no choice in the matter. We would not choose this place if we had control, but it was not disagreeable to the point of needing to change accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gburg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Our stay here was a pleasant one. Very central to the city centre and restuarants.
Lovely clean room, small but efficient bathroom and pleasant dining room with a good hot breakfast.

Room Tip: Nice safe, clean and central accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianne004500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension A la Mer
Hotel Pension A la Mer
#14 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.0 mi away
BON Hotel Swakopmund
BON Hotel Swakopmund
#11 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Wiese Backpackers Lodge
Villa Wiese Backpackers Lodge
#44 of 49 in Swakopmund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
#36 of 49 in Swakopmund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meike's Guesthouse
Meike's Guesthouse
#2 of 49 in Swakopmund
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.0 mi away
Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin Star Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Star Guest House

Property: Dunedin Star Guest House
Address: Cnr. Daniel Tjongerero & Windhoeker Street, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunedin Star Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunedin Star Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing