We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem in Swakopmund”
Review of Turnstone Tours

Turnstone Tours
Ranked #9 of 34 Tours in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Longview, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A True Gem in Swakopmund”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was an incredible experience which was not expected. The "Harbor Day Tour" name was misleading as this was so much greater than we had imagined. Riding the dunes in a Land Rover with Bruno made for a most delightful day. Experiencing the drive along the ocean to the point of contact with the dunes was exhilarating. Finding the animal life in that area was such a natural attraction. I love adventure and this day was full of unexpected pleasure. Would recommend this with Turnstone Tours wholeheartedly. Go for it !!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbymandoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    9
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sandwich Harbour Tour”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Ernest our driver made our day, he was knowledgable, a great driver and enthusiastic. He took us for an excellent walk right up in and through the dunes after ascertaining that we all liked walking, he even came with us, other tour drivers just sat in their vehicles sendings heir passengers just up a dune.
Lunch was excellent, it was really pleasant picnicking amongst the dunes.
Ernest also went out of his way to find us some gekko and beetles amongst the dunes, this required much dune climbing. He was very knowledgable about all the birds we saw too.
We had lots of fun driving back through the dunes, felt safe at all times.
I would definitely recommend this trip, I also thought it was reasonably priced for what we got to experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Turnstone is the best reason to visit Swakopmund”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Swakopmund is a tiny little, but beautiful pearl on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. This place would not be more than a good stop between Damaraland and Sossusvlei if it would not be Turnstone Tours. Thanks to Turnstone one can take a real tour of the Skeleton Coast, ride the dunes of the Namib Desert at Sandwich Bay and see the Flamingos at Walvis Bay. Great tours, excellent organized by a small team of real pros who know the place like nobody else. We were lucky to have Ernst as our guide and enjoyed his knowledge and humor.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaduZaciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great day out but expensive”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We enjoyed our day trip to Sandwich Harbour as the scenery was spectacular and this part of the coast felt so wild and isolated. The drive there and back was fun with the driver having to stop every so often to dig us out of the sand. Driving in the dunes was equally fun.
It was an expensive day which of course we knew it would be when we booked it. However the food could have been better as apparently the driver's wife who normally does the cooking was away. No consideration had been made for the vegetarian in the party; there was no substitute for the meat lasagne that everyone else was eating. Yet the same fee was charged.
We had to wait for some time in the landrover whilst the driver attended to some business in Walvis Bay which was not great considering how much we were paying.
Very disappointed that an item we left behind in the landrover and which was apparently found a few minutes after dropping us off was not returned to us that day & no effort was made to contact us at our hotel. We tried to contact Turnstone Tours but could not reach anyone, and consequently were not able to retrieve the item before we left Swakopmund. So make sure you check that none of your possessions have fallen on the floor during the dune driving..; an expensive mistake for us.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Onlyacustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved every moment!”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Turnstone Tours ticked all the right boxes for us on our day trip to Sandwich Harbour.
Our guide: Ernest was friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. An excellent driver too, he quietly but thoroughly assessed each situation and took the right line every time. Essential merits considering the conditions of the drive. He truly loves his job, and it showed.
The place: The coastline we traveled on our way to Sandwich Harbour is remote, desolate and dangerous; while at the same time incredibly beautiful.
The wildlife: We saw jackals and springbok; but the highlight is the incredibly prolific birdlife from the guano platform near Walvis Bay all the way to Sandwich Harbour. We were lucky enough to see the American skimmer in Walvis Bay, although at the time we did not know that it was a special sighting and I have included a photo of it with my review. Especially for you Ernest ... !
The food: We were treated to a delicious picnic lunch in the middle of the dunes.
Sandwich Harbour is surely a place to put on your bucket list. And, if you do go there, go there with Turnstone Tours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turnstone Tours also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Turnstone Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing