We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alte Brucke

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swakopmund
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alte Brucke
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convenient and clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here as part of a group tour enroute from Sossusvlei to Etosha. The facilities are good and the location is very close to the beach and the town. The self catering aspect allowed us to have a group barbeque which worked well in this setting.

The breakfast, which is included in the rate, was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    76
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
56
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

As a group of retired Hoteliers on a camping trip to Namibia we needed to refresh , clean up , do some vehicle repairs and supplies shopping en route from Etosha to Sossusvlei, Fish River Canyon and home via Kgalagadi Transfronter park. We stopped in Swakopmund for three days, no booking and simply drove around , looking for a place to camp or stay.
Well fortune smiled upon us as we stumbled across Alte Brucke!
This is one of the cleanest , most friendly , well organised , well considered , well thought through and best managed places it has been my pleasure to experience in Southern Africa.
The campsites are lawned, with private ablutions , the gardens are fresh and lovely whilst the chalets are perfect , well equipped, comp bottle of wine, immaculate and fresh.
The staff we dealt with were kind and attentive. Our breakfast chef went out of his way to please us and the Management took time to ensure we had all we needed and offered assistance and advice at every request.
In my opinion Alte Brucke sets the standard to which every such place should aspire. Well done and thank you...We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthAfricaAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

This was our first campsite with private bathroom. Unfortunately the weather was terrible when we arrived. We had to make a campfire for keeping warm. Staff was very friendly and the bathroom was clean and had a good powerful hot shower. It a bit far from the town centre, but close to the beach.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Baskotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

For a town camp site it was brilliant! Very clean, very organised with everything you need. The views weren't great but that's because it is a town camp site, so you can't blame that on them! But it is incredibly functional grat BBQ lovely clean bathroom perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I really don't remember now how many times we stayed at Alte Brucke, definitely more than 6 and each time it has been a rewarding, relaxing and truly pleasant experience! As a travelling family, at that time, we loved their well equipped, self-catering units set in neatly kept garden and spacious "overall area" - just great for our kids with their bikes! It's one of the best family-friendly places in Swakopmund! Situated just a walking distance from the ocean, aquarium, jetty and center of town. Plus each morning, delicious, buffet breakfast! Many years ago, when campsite wasn't there yet our kids found sand roses and pretty, semi-precious desert stones buried in the sand, while they were building their sand castles!

Room Tip: Book rooms in the lovely garden court. You can enjoy quiet, windless evenings by the braai surrounde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaSmaNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed three nights when attending a conference. Clean large chalet with bedroom, bathroom and lounge with kitchen. Some items and tiling a little tired, but spotless and functional. A good buffet breakfast. All the staff I dealt with were friendly and helpful. A free bottle of white wine in the room was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

If you just want a bed for the night in Swakopmund with no frills, this is the place. It was clean and the staff at the reception was very pleasant.
Unfortunately there was nowhere to sit in peace outside as there was a constant stream of vehicles coming past.
Breakfast was very good indeed, they even had steak tartar and made fresh eggs in front of you.
I thought the wi-fi could have been included in the price but otherwise this is a basic and clean room for the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notstandingstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alte Brucke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alte Brucke

Property: Alte Brucke
Address: 477 Strand Street South, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alte Brucke is a Holiday Resort featuring self catering chalets, camping / carravanning facilities as well as a Conference and Functions Venue.The self catering chalets are fully furnished and equipped with linen, towels, kitchen, living room, flat screen television, telephone, minibar, private braai (barbeque) area, veranda and secure parking. Different units can accommodate a maximum of 2, 4 or 6 persons. Our bed price includes a scrumptious buffet breakfast (except for the peak season). For your convenience your chalet is serviced daily. Camping and Caravaning guests can expect fully lawned camp sites each with their own private bathroom, wash up area, private braai (barbeque) area and power point. Our Conference and Functions Center can cater for any event you plan including company year end functions, birthday parties, weddings etc. We offer two air conditioned conference halls which can seat 85 and 16 delegates, complete with white board, projector and PA system. We also offer buffet lunches and dinners for groups of 30 or more persons if booked in advance. If you are looking for a great location, Alte Brucke Holiday Resort can offer you exactly that. We are situated 200m from the beach, 1.2 km from the center of town as well as within easy walking distance from many popular restaurants, pubs, local shops and attractions in town. Our action desk can give you information about activities available at the coast and will book any activity offered in town for you, at no extra cost to you. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing