We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable campsite in town close to most everything.”
Review of Alte Brucke

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swakopmund
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alte Brucke
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Nice campsite with a private little washroom for each site. The place is nice and neat and close to most everything in town. The configuration of the site is such that if it is windy (you are only a couple of hundred meters from the sea) that the wind is kept out for the most. Would recommend this for sure.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank AvH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed two nights on a private campsite which had our own bathroom, built in braai (bbq), outdoor sink and electrical outlets. The site was very clean and secure with guards walking at night. The campsites were really close to each other so it was easy to see your neighbor, but other than that it was walking distance from the beach, aquarium, pier and to the city centre. I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a campsite near a corner for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xsnwgirlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

After the dust of Caprivi, Estoha and the journey southwards, two nights in a clean grassed and private campsite was marvelous. We were recommended by a local friend and arrived with out booking but were made to feel welcome from arrival. The private ablutions were ample for the four of us, with a good supply of hot water, a washup for dishes and electrical power pionts. Cell and Wifi reception so we caught up with the outside world. Close to the beach and town which has a vast selection of restuarants for tired of cooking campers. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here as part of a group tour enroute from Sossusvlei to Etosha. The facilities are good and the location is very close to the beach and the town. The self catering aspect allowed us to have a group barbeque which worked well in this setting.

The breakfast, which is included in the rate, was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

As a group of retired Hoteliers on a camping trip to Namibia we needed to refresh , clean up , do some vehicle repairs and supplies shopping en route from Etosha to Sossusvlei, Fish River Canyon and home via Kgalagadi Transfronter park. We stopped in Swakopmund for three days, no booking and simply drove around , looking for a place to camp or stay.
Well fortune smiled upon us as we stumbled across Alte Brucke!
This is one of the cleanest , most friendly , well organised , well considered , well thought through and best managed places it has been my pleasure to experience in Southern Africa.
The campsites are lawned, with private ablutions , the gardens are fresh and lovely whilst the chalets are perfect , well equipped, comp bottle of wine, immaculate and fresh.
The staff we dealt with were kind and attentive. Our breakfast chef went out of his way to please us and the Management took time to ensure we had all we needed and offered assistance and advice at every request.
In my opinion Alte Brucke sets the standard to which every such place should aspire. Well done and thank you...We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthAfricaAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This was our first campsite with private bathroom. Unfortunately the weather was terrible when we arrived. We had to make a campfire for keeping warm. Staff was very friendly and the bathroom was clean and had a good powerful hot shower. It a bit far from the town centre, but close to the beach.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Baskotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

For a town camp site it was brilliant! Very clean, very organised with everything you need. The views weren't great but that's because it is a town camp site, so you can't blame that on them! But it is incredibly functional grat BBQ lovely clean bathroom perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
407 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
292 reviews
0 mi away
African Pride Burning Shore
African Pride Burning Shore
#19 of 19 in Swakopmund
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alte Brucke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alte Brucke

Address: 477 Strand Street South, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range: £34 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alte Brucke is a Holiday Resort featuring self catering chalets, camping / carravanning facilities as well as a Conference and Functions Venue.The self catering chalets are fully furnished and equipped with linen, towels, kitchen, living room, flat screen television, telephone, minibar, private braai (barbeque) area, veranda and secure parking. Different units can accommodate a maximum of 2, 4 or 6 persons. Our bed price includes a scrumptious buffet breakfast (except for the peak season). For your convenience your chalet is serviced daily. Camping and Caravaning guests can expect fully lawned camp sites each with their own private bathroom, wash up area, private braai (barbeque) area and power point. Our Conference and Functions Center can cater for any event you plan including company year end functions, birthday parties, weddings etc. We offer two air conditioned conference halls which can seat 85 and 16 delegates, complete with white board, projector and PA system. We also offer buffet lunches and dinners for groups of 30 or more persons if booked in advance. If you are looking for a great location, Alte Brucke Holiday Resort can offer you exactly that. We are situated 200m from the beach, 1.2 km from the center of town as well as within easy walking distance from many popular restaurants, pubs, local shops and attractions in town. Our action desk can give you information about activities available at the coast and will book any activity offered in town for you, at no extra cost to you. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing