We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel at the coast”
Review of Hotel Zum Kaiser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zum Kaiser
Ranked #8 of 50 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel at the coast”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This was a lovely little hotel very close to the beach. The rooms were of high quality, and very clean. The breakfast was also of good quality. I would recommend for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    99
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
41
115
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Location is great, central and close to the beach, shops and restaurants in walkable distance. Good breakfast if you can ignore the Afrikaans disco beats playing along. Staff friendly but gets hectic when a "Hummeldumm" bus tour arrives. The noise is a big problem too, from inside and outside the house you hear everything, the sound of the mini bar does not help either. Although the rooms are decorated very nicely the hotel is lacking charm as there are white tiles everywhere in the halls which gives a sterile and cold impression and also contributes to the noise. The staff was very helpful and friendly though.

Room Tip: They have interleading rooms for families, e.g. no. 16 and 17, but be aware that if you have blinds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thandiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Excellent location, close to the water. Our room did not have a view but had a furnished balcony which was great. Excellent helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edm_van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenzburg
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed two nights at the Boutique Hotel as part of a Namibia Tour, where we stayed in higher class lodges and resorts. Compared to the mostly generous infrastructure of the lodges, the boutique hotel offers rather very small rooms without balcony nor other amenities. The window of our room gave a view on the wall of the next house. The hotel was very clean however and the service at the reception was great. It's very central to the city and also close to the ocean and the beach. On the roof there is plenty of opportunity to enjoy a gorgeous sundowner. Breakfast is offered in a nearby restaurant, which they recommended also for dinner. In Summary, we can recommend the Bourtique Hotel, if one can renounce the usual confort and amenities of the good Namibian Lodges.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberwell, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

A wonderful hotel situated in close proximinity to the busy parts of the town with pier and beach within five minutes walk. It is a delightful town Swakopmund and the people are all very friendly and you feel safe here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and I decided to go on a limb and arrive in Swakopmund without having sercured accomodation. After a short trip through the town and a perusal of the accommodation we had seen via the internet, we were glad we had not. When we spotted the Boutique Hotel we initially thought that because of its great location and fresh decor the pricing would be out of our budget. To our suprise we got a very good rate and had a great stay. The staff was very friendly and the " in house " restuarant served great food.

I would definately stay at the hotel again and p.s. we had great weather clear skies throughout our stay, apparently this is quite rare for late September in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Swakopmund Boutique Hotel is well situated in the greatest spot of Swakopmundnear everything - in walking distance.
After the long long long bad road from Sesriem the friendly faces of the owners and staff was a great welcome 

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djdup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.2 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
339 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#10 of 19 in Swakopmund
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zum Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Kaiser

Property: Hotel Zum Kaiser
Address: 4 Sam Nujoma Avenue, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia (Formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel)
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zum Kaiser 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on Sam Nujoma Avenue in the picturesque Swakopmund, the luxurious Hotel Zum Kaiser offers direct access to the beach and the town's vibrant street life, quaint architecture, shopping and fine dining. This exclusive hotel houses 21 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, each featuring a full en-suite bathroom, television, coffee-and tea making facilities, bar fridge, electronic safe and wireless internet. The tastefully decorated hotel offers a combination of Court Yard Suites, Front Facing Suites and 3 family rooms with inter-leading doors. Each of the Front Facing Suites is equipped with a private balcony to enjoy splendid views of the historic town and partial views of the nearby Atlantic seaboard. Uniquely combining modern furnishings with a touch of classic elegance dating from imperial times, the Hotel Zum Kaiser creates a truly authentic and intimate ambiance. Enjoy delectable cuisine at the on-site Bistro Zum Kaiser and sip sun-downers whilst experiencing the spectacular sunsets over the Atlantic from the hotel's idyllic Roof Terrace. The Hotel Zum Kaiser is fully equipped and offers the ideal setting for conferences, banqueting and celebrations. Exciting activities in the area can be booked directly at reception. Let our attentive team welcome you to our kingdom and make you feel like an Emperor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zum Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing