We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpfull staff, wonderfull room”
Review of Hotel Zum Kaiser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Zum Kaiser
Ranked #10 of 50 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel has a large buffet style breakfast, ver y nice rooms and is located on the corner of the main street and the beachfront. Staff wil help you choose and reserve a restaurant, and even had my shoes repaired. Wonderfull experience! (All the restaurants are around the corner, and the environment feels very safe)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank eelcobuach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Eelcobuach,
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the buffet breakfast and the service from our staff!
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best Wishes,
The Team at Hotel Zum Kaiser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I spent 2 nights in this modern hotel during September 2013. My room (# 5 or 6?) was, on the second floor, quite small with a single queen size bed. Bed was firm and comfortable. Bedding was beautiful. Bathroom was spacious and clean. Towels were clean and fluffy and there even was a bathrobe. Safety box, coffee maker, fridge and air-con are provided. Breakfast was excellent; Complementary coffee and tea is offered in the reception area. Staff was very friendly.There is a small lift in this hotel. This lodge is only 5 minutes away from the city center and the beach.

The only cons in this room is the space, it would be a bit of difficult to lay down a large luggage because of the special layout of this room (see my pictures).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Jane,
Thank you for your great review! Glad you enjoyed all the amenities at our hotel and in the room.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next journey to Namibia!
Best Wishes,
The Team at Hotel Zum Kaiser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a nice cosy hotel. Passive décor and well appointed rooms. Very pleased to be there. Close to the centre of town and some good restaurants. Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Breakfasts were will done will all you could want. This is a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but probably ask for a room overlooking the front street. We had one at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Lynton,
Thank you for your fantastic review and kind complements to our staff. Glad you enjoyed our rooms and the breakfast!
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next journey to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Hotel Zum Kaiser Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel is a touch of opulence on the Atlantic Ocean. Stayed two nights and it was very relaxing. Nice refreshing drink on arrival and greeted by friendly, helpful staff. You're not spoiled for eating choice either. If you don't fancy eating in the hotel's Bistro The Tug (seafood), 22 degrees South (Italian), The Lighthouse and The Jetty Restaurants are within easy walking distance.
Breakfast in the Bistro is very good - and starts early for those travellers wanting to make an early start. Room quiet and very comfortable.
Swakop is a pretty, very Germanic town and the hotel reflects the attractiveness of the buildings in town. Don't expect many 'traditional' African touches - you could be in a luxurious hotel just about anywhere in the world - but it is decorated with style.

Room Tip: The suite has the bath located next to the bed - might be a bit disconcerting for some. Do bring wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheetahgirlBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Cheetahgirl,
Thank you for your wonderful review! Glad you enjoyed a nice relaxing stay with us and that you enjoyed the breakfast at our Bistro! The Suite also serves as our honeymoon suite, hence the bath in the room – The shower and toilet are private and enclosed... :-)
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Hotel Zum Kaiser Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Writing this whilst still here, as at last the sun has come out! Be warned, Swakopmund can have 4 seasons in a day, and it can get quite cold.

Excellent hotel (we turned up a day early after a disappointing lodge near Sossusvlei) and they managed to find us a smaller room. After that, we had a suite which was a great size including a log fire which we nearly lit. Like others, not convinced by lack of wall around bathroom, as it steamed up all the windows.

Also noticed noise, school starts opposite around 6:30 so be warned if you lie in!

Great location near sea (see our other reviews) and the staff are brilliant, Natasha and Jerome deserve a special thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Charles & Anne,
Thank you for your review and kind complements especially to Natasha and Jerome! Glad you enjoyed our hotel and had a great rest!
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Hotel Zum Kaiser Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It can be hard to get entries updated on TripAdviser but I would urge the management to try and do so. This property currently appears way down the list of B&B accommodation under its earlier name of Boutique Hotel, whereas it should appear as Zum Kaiser under Hotels and, in our view, deserves to be well up the list. (The adjacent Zum Kaiser bistro appears, correctly, as a separate entry under restaurants and, as an aside, readers may wish to know that this closes at 7pm).

Anyway we stayed two nights and found it to be extremely clean with very tasteful decor in the well-designed rooms. Quality beds and bedlinen ensured a good night's sleep, and although we were initially apprehensive that the hard surfaces around the stairwell might cause generate noise, this didn't in practice happen.

One novel feature which we haven't come across elsewhere (but seems eminently sensible) is that there is a fridge cum mini-bar in the room which is initially empty. We ourselves don't drink but we suspect that most people prefer one type of poison to another. Accordingly, rather than try and stock it up with everything under the sun (leaving little room to store any refreshments or perishables of one's own) and in the process necessitate constant checking, the practice here is to start empty and the staff will fill up with whatever you specify.

Last but not least the breakfast selection in the bistro next door was excellent and included a wide selection of quality breads.

We couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_and_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Chris & Jean,
Thank you for your fantastic review! We have since been able to change the name on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the rooms and the breakfast served at our Bistro!
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Hotel Zum Kaiser Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stopped here for one night en route from Sossusvlei to Damaraland. We booked a room at the Boutique Hotel but arrived to find the name, and presumably ownership had changed. There is a very large portrait of Kaiser Bill to welcome you when you check in.
The hotel is situated very close to the beach but as the regular fog closed in on Swakopmund shortly after our arrival, we didn't get the chance to walk off our leg stiffness along the beach.
Our room was in the Zum Kaiser wing of the hotel and is linked to the main hotel by a second floor walkway. The room was clean and comfortable but had the novelty of having the bath in the same large rooms as the bed!
We ate in the ZK restaurant which is in the same building as our room provided adequate food. The staff were friendly and very willing to please.
There was internet connectivity available.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 880Paddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Hotel Zum Kaiser, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear 880Paddy,
Thank you for your review and kind complements to our staff. You stayed in the Suite at the hotel which is also for honeymooners, hence the bath in the room – The shower and toilet are still enclosed. The standard rooms in the hotel do have a full enclosed bathroom.
We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Best wishes,
The Hotel Zum Kaiser Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.2 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zum Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Kaiser

Address: 4 Sam Nujoma Avenue, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia (Formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel)
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range: £90 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zum Kaiser 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on Sam Nujoma Avenue in the picturesque Swakopmund, the luxurious Hotel Zum Kaiser offers direct access to the beach and the town's vibrant street life, quaint architecture, shopping and fine dining. This exclusive hotel houses 21 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, each featuring a full en-suite bathroom, television, coffee-and tea making facilities, bar fridge, electronic safe and wireless internet. The tastefully decorated hotel offers a combination of Court Yard Suites, Front Facing Suites and 3 family rooms with inter-leading doors. Each of the Front Facing Suites is equipped with a private balcony to enjoy splendid views of the historic town and partial views of the nearby Atlantic seaboard. Uniquely combining modern furnishings with a touch of classic elegance dating from imperial times, the Hotel Zum Kaiser creates a truly authentic and intimate ambiance. Enjoy delectable cuisine at the on-site Bistro Zum Kaiser and sip sun-downers whilst experiencing the spectacular sunsets over the Atlantic from the hotel's idyllic Roof Terrace. The Hotel Zum Kaiser is fully equipped and offers the ideal setting for conferences, banqueting and celebrations. Exciting activities in the area can be booked directly at reception. Let our attentive team welcome you to our kingdom and make you feel like an Emperor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zum Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing