We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Organic Square Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Organic Square Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 49 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Good value, conveniently situated with friendly staff, great service and attention to detail. Worth coming back to and using as a base to fully experience the region - ask about local guiding options.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    58
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
77
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We had a great stay at this guesthouse, a clean nicely decorated andrelaxed spot in Swakopmund.
The breakfast was delicious and with a great variety of bread, cereals fresh fruit, cheese and meat.

Service is very personal and staff can privide a lot of touristic information.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hjbannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duenenblick, Public Relations Manager at Organic Square Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
It is always wonderful to get a good review and we thank our guests for taking the time to go online and thank us for our services. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. May your travels be safe and your memories unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I made a booking at Organic Square with the owner herself. To secure the room, we had to pay 50% deposit immediately and we received confirmation and a booking reference number, 33 days ahead of our stay. When we arrived at Organic Square, the owner was not available.(We arrived 17h45 on a Sunday afternoon) Our room was also not available anymore! No explanation was given to us, no apologies and our deposit was not even offered back to us. We travel Africa as well as the rest of the word extensively, and this was our first humiliating experience where a (paid) booking was not honoured and we were left on the street. When you book, you have to supply all your contact details, which ensures we could be contacted in time to enable us to find an alternative guest house as we are not familiar with Swakopmund. I can not recommend this place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duenenblick, Owner at Organic Square Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
It is regrettable that Annette R has reviewed us as “Worst experience ever”. We are always striving to make our guests feel as welcome and comfortable as possible, otherwise we would not be in this business. Having read the review we do however feel that a few of the statements need to be addressed. Our booking and confirmation policy is in-line with all accommodation facilities in Namibia and internationally where a 50% deposit secures and confirms a booking, so yes we agree that this “had” to be done, this was not a procedure carried out for Annette R only. The owner was indeed away at the time however the marketing manager was available at the Guesthouse to meet and check-in the guests once they arrived. A double room was booked for one night, it was confirmed and paid for and was ready on their arrival. The guests were in no way “left on the street”. We have another luxury self-catering accommodation a short distance away. The clients were offered an upgrade to this accommodation as well as a lift that evening to meet up with friends for dinner. Having made this offer, the guests still decided it was best to go and check into the same hotel as their friends. In terms of our best business practices and with the guests best interests at heart we did offer an upgraded option, which they did not want to view or accept. We do however hope that Annette R and her husband enjoyed their overnight stay in Swakopmund and that the rest of their journey through Namibia was filled with wonderful and happy experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Well located with attractive spacious rooms (not phased by the semi "open plan" en-suite other have mentioned). Attractive courtyard, excellent shower (the best we had in Namibia) & bedding, breakfast delightful & filling - hot options not necessary IMO. Hosts (esp Sinnia (sp?)) were welcoming & helpful. Would definately stay again & recommend to others.

The launderette round the corner doubles up as a bar and serves the cheapest draught beer in Swak .(that we found)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winchester_rattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had a nice stay at the Organic Square Guesthouse.
I particularly liked the decor, the colours and the nice and healthy breakfast.
Sometimes we missed having someone to check things in the reception, but all in all our stay was nice.
The guesthouse is well located and withing a walking distance to the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The good points: the breakfast is healthy. The rooms are simple and elegant and the location is close to town, beach, restaurants and shopping.

The bad points: We booked into this room through an online booking agent. After reviewing the T & C on the booking website and the private website of the establishment, it was clear that there were no listed charges for children and so we only booked for one adult. Our experience in Namibia has been that children 5 and under stay for free. That is not the case at this establishment. Upon checking out, the owner then asked us to pay N$225/night for the child, citing that the rate we booked at was a "special rate for one person". However, her added fee increased the price of the room to more than it would have cost if we booked for 2 adults through the booking agent!!! Surprise fees are a definite discouragement and I would not return. To make matters worse, we arrived at the establishment a 9:30pm. We rang and rang but no one answered. We were finally able to contact the owner who sounded very cross that we were there so late. She informed us that check-in time was 7:00pm and that she was already in bed and would have to get out of bed to come and let us in. I have never experienced a check-in time before and there was no check-in policy listed on the website. I felt like I was an inconvenience and felt very unwelcome.

Room Tip: The best place to eat in Swakopmund (imo) is Kukies, which is just a hop, skip and a jump from this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CanTravelGals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castres
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

This guesthouse is a modern building sitting behind high wall and gates . Maybe security requires this but after the desert it made me rather claustrophobic. Its location, while quite central and in easy walking distance of the town-centre and waterfront, is on a street corner in a residential area which is deserted at night.The room was pleasant but not very spacious.
Breakfast was a bit too ecolo for our tastes and a cooked breakfast would have been appreciated but the name of the guesthouse should have forewarned us.
The guesthouse was not full when we were there and apart from our arrival and breakfast it was impossible to contact the staff who were not on site most of the time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
#1 of 49 in Swakopmund
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 49 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namib Guesthouse
Namib Guesthouse
#7 of 49 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Organic Square Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Organic Square Guesthouse

Property: Organic Square Guesthouse
Address: 29 Rhode Allee Street, Swakopmund, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Organic Square Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Organic Square Guesthouse is perfectly located, in the heart of Swakopmund, with a difference! We are within walking distance of the main beach, town centre, restaurants and coffee shops. We offer 7 luxurious and spacious rooms, flat screen TV and wireless Internet. All our rooms are very private en-suites, each with their own secluded patio/courtyard. The breakfast room is sunny with patio seating. We serve a delicious healthy, organic, continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Organic Square Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing