We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay in Swakop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skeleton Beach backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Skeleton Beach backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay in Swakop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Skeleton Beach is a fantastic place to stay - it feels literally like you are staying at someone's house rather than a backpackers, and in a good way. The owners are super-welcoming and really helpful. The beds have huge duvets - the most comfy beds I've ever had ina hostel. There is a nice communal tv lounge and a great garden. Breakfast is fantastic and included - a great spread. Whole place is super-clean. It is only a short walk into the centre, and its a beautiful walk along the sea front. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whynot27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    24
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
25
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Skeleton Beach was a wonderful place to stay. Very clean and well managed. I'd happily stay there again, also the woman who runs it is quite helpful.

The only thing I'd point out is that it's a bit further than it's competitors, but if you have a car and want to be near the beach than it's perfect.

Also it's tricky to find based on their directions. Just follow street signs for Villa Indongo, which is next door and you'll find Skeleton Beach very quickly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Skeleton Beach backpackers was just what I was looking for in a Swakopmund accommodation. The rooms and living area are very clean, the kitchen is free for one to use as one wishes (I made several home cooked meals with other guests). The bed linens were clean and comfortable, and even though the bathroom was shared it was clean as well.

The place is also in great walking distance to the ocean and shops.

Room Tip: All the dorms are nice but there is a dorm room inside the main house which I preferred. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I found the service from the Skeleton Beach Backpackers impeccable. For the price the rooms are just so worth it, so spacious, very comfortable, spotless clean like a pin and offer everything you need for a perfect stay. The owners are amazing!!!
It outweighs the others! We were treated with atmost hospitality, and all our needs were taken care of, while our privacy was respected at all times. We felt very welcome and there is just one regret! We wanted to stay longer! But had to leave due to responsibilities. I can, with a clear conscience, recommend Skeleton Beach backpackers to anybody if you would like to be treated as a VSP! (Very Special Person).
The accommodation is just a walkable distance from the beach.

Great accommodation, great owners, value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swakopmund, Namibia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

The location, staff and rooms are really great! I stayed here for longer period due to my work in Namibia as a photographer and I must say the atmosphere is great and it is a very relaxing place with only 100 meters to the beachwalk in Swakopmund. I also stayed here with my girlfriend and we enjoyed the place and the garden and house got a romantic feel about it. I highly recommend this to any traveller who wants to stay in a modern & beautiful guesthouse with all the convenience of a great self catering kitchen, a very nice terrace with a braai & safe parking. This is not to be missed if you´re planning a trip to Swakopmund. There is free wifi and nice flatscreen TVs for the ones in need of that!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikStiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed here during the low season in May. We had the whole place almost to ourselves! Honestly, the vibe was more like we were guests in their home vs. a hostel. Good, hearty breakfast. I think they are also building up another accommodation behind the house which perhaps will have more of a "hostel" feel. But this place was low key and we loved that. It is right near the water and a ~10-15 minute walk into town. Best of all was the great price for what you get! Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Blitzburgh412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I agree with other reviews that this place doesn't feel like other backpacker accommodations, but much more like a friendly family-run guesthouse. The hosts were kind and helpful, the rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable, and breakfasts were great. We chose the en-suite double room and it was very nice. Location is a three minute walk to the water, and close enough to be able to walk back after eating at the restaurants closer to downtown.

Room Tip: We chose the double room for the privacy since it came with a en-suite bathroom. Excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad_singapore_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
BON Hotel Swakopmund
BON Hotel Swakopmund
#11 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
#6 of 33 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments
Sandcastle Apartments
#3 of 33 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jetty Self-Catering Cottages
Jetty Self-Catering Cottages
#8 of 33 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeleton Beach backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeleton Beach backpackers

Property: Skeleton Beach backpackers
Address: 14 Moses Garoeb | Vineta, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are well situated within a 15 minute walk along the beach to town. We have camping (garden setting), dormitories + double rooms with communal kitchen and lounge with DSTV. We offer free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Skeleton Beach backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing