We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and a great Restaurant”
Review of Swakopmund Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swakopmund Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Braga, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place and a great Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This converted train station is now a nice hotel.
Well located, with friendly staff and a nice swimming pool.
The restaurant has an excellent buffet (I usually don't even rate buffets as I don't like the concept).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylab2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    130
    46
    11
    5
See reviews for
38
106
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The Swakopmund Hotel is, unusually, a converted station building but the original was of quite a grand German colonial design and seems to have converted quite well. We found the accommodation roomy and comfortable, and the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. It was unfortunately quite cool during our three night stay so that the swimming pool was not an attractive amenity although in warmer weather one can believe that it would be. The cool weather also affected the desirability of spending time in the bar area, which is located in the large lobby area subject to cool draughts when external doors are continually being opened. The restaurant provided a nice breakfast with a good choice of dishes but we were disappointed with the one evening meal that we had. We were impressed with the shuttle service run by the hotel which was available, free, at any time to drop one off in any local destination and, at a phone call, also to collect and return one to the hotel. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGEDNOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromont, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had a supper at the restaurant of that hotel. At first we were only 5 in that immense room; eventually 12 more people arrived. The buffet could have served hundreds of people . The buffet was full of goodies. We had a nice supper, service at the table (for wine) was perfect. The hotel is part of the old railway station dating the beginning of the city. It has been expanded and converted in a plush hotel and casino.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with our 3 kids. Hotel staff were friendly and willing to help. Rooms are clean. Wifi works well and is free. Grounds in well kept condition. Breakfast buffet selection was good, including fresh fruit, yoghurt, eggs made to order, cereals, cold cuts, cheeses, breads and pastries and even steak and chicken if that's what you fancy. Made some nice restaurant recommendations within walking distance. There's a shuttle to town but we didn't use because we found the town easy to walk. We did quad biking nearby with Desert Explorers. Was a lot of fun and they'll collect you from your hotel and return you when you're done. We also did the Dolphin cruise which was quite enjoyable, they also collected and returned us to the hotel. Overall and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: we had room 203 and 205. 205 had a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, WY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I returned to the Swakopmund Hotel and Entertainment Center with my family for 3 nights over New Years Eve. Our stay was as excellent as ever. Seriously. I travel a lot around Namibia and probably average 40 different hotel / lodge stays a year and the Swakopmund Hotel is always a favorite.

First - best breakfast buffet in Namibia! Hands down #1. From fresh salmon and oysters to eggs prepared as you choose; grilled steaks to ample fresh fruit, it's a terrific meal every time.

Second - smiles. The staff smile. It's such a simple thing, but it makes such a difference, especially to kids.

Third - helpful staff. My family is large and despite all best efforts, things get left. The last time we stayed our 5 year old left her doll in the restaurant. Our waitress ran outside and caught us by the car to return it! It would have been a long, agonizing ride home without the doll. This past visit we left a pair of sunglasses. I returned in the afternoon to find them waiting for us.

Fourth - wonderful property with excellent facilities and good amenities. The property itself is excellent, with large rooms, excellent internet, lights and cable, good quality mattresses and good, sufficient bath amenities.

I recommend the Swakopmund Hotel and Entertainment Center without reservation of any kind. We look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: Room 262 has a very nice balcony and pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwsproule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathu, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Fantastic service, Fantastic room great location. Not really alot for the children to do except swimmimg pool and we really expect them to have more activities for the kids especially because it was over the christmas period. Staff was. Ery friendly, extremely helpful and very professional. Will recommend this to averyone travelling to Swakopmund for a few nights stop over. Parking was good and the hotel is located in the heart ofmthe city so walking to all the shops and restaurants were very easy. Breakfast and dinner buffets were out of this world and through our 4 nights stay we surely could not complain about anything.
Well done, we ejoyed our christmas in Swakop!

Room Tip: Any room on the ground floor as the rooms open onto the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lezanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here recently. On arrival nobody took our cases, nobody welcomed us and the whole atmosphere seemed very 'businesslike' and very very impersonal. We came on our Honeymoon and were bitterly disappointed with the level of service.
The rooms are clean and spacious.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.4 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swakopmund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swakopmund Hotel

Property: Swakopmund Hotel
Address: 2 Theo-Ben Gurirab Avenue, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swakopmund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Swakopmund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing