We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Swakopmund Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swakopmund Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Fantastic staff and service. We had the most amazing breakfast and the hotel offer a complementary shuttle service which was an enourmous help as well as letting us leave our bags in their safe keeping after checking out while we explored the town. We will definitley visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

The Swakopmund Hotel is, a converted railway station the original was a grand German colonial design.
The accommodation we had was roomy, comfortable, but we had to request the balcony.

The staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. It was cool during our two night stay so we did not use the swimming pool but it is attractive and in warmer weather we would use it.
The breakfast was nice with good choice of dishes including fresh oysters the other meals that we had were not that great.
The casino is shabby with a rough cliental the bar area in the lobby ir open and subject to drafts which made sitting there uncomfortable.

My problem with the hotel is the cost you are paying 5 to 6 times what you pay at any other hotel at the coast but you do not feel you are getting any additional value for money.

All though a nice place to stay it is way over priced.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 4 rooms with a proper balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drury P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This converted train station is now a nice hotel.
Well located, with friendly staff and a nice swimming pool.
The restaurant has an excellent buffet (I usually don't even rate buffets as I don't like the concept).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skylab2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The Swakopmund Hotel is, unusually, a converted station building but the original was of quite a grand German colonial design and seems to have converted quite well. We found the accommodation roomy and comfortable, and the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. It was unfortunately quite cool during our three night stay so that the swimming pool was not an attractive amenity although in warmer weather one can believe that it would be. The cool weather also affected the desirability of spending time in the bar area, which is located in the large lobby area subject to cool draughts when external doors are continually being opened. The restaurant provided a nice breakfast with a good choice of dishes but we were disappointed with the one evening meal that we had. We were impressed with the shuttle service run by the hotel which was available, free, at any time to drop one off in any local destination and, at a phone call, also to collect and return one to the hotel. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGEDNOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had a supper at the restaurant of that hotel. At first we were only 5 in that immense room; eventually 12 more people arrived. The buffet could have served hundreds of people . The buffet was full of goodies. We had a nice supper, service at the table (for wine) was perfect. The hotel is part of the old railway station dating the beginning of the city. It has been expanded and converted in a plush hotel and casino.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank B265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with our 3 kids. Hotel staff were friendly and willing to help. Rooms are clean. Wifi works well and is free. Grounds in well kept condition. Breakfast buffet selection was good, including fresh fruit, yoghurt, eggs made to order, cereals, cold cuts, cheeses, breads and pastries and even steak and chicken if that's what you fancy. Made some nice restaurant recommendations within walking distance. There's a shuttle to town but we didn't use because we found the town easy to walk. We did quad biking nearby with Desert Explorers. Was a lot of fun and they'll collect you from your hotel and return you when you're done. We also did the Dolphin cruise which was quite enjoyable, they also collected and returned us to the hotel. Overall and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: we had room 203 and 205. 205 had a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I returned to the Swakopmund Hotel and Entertainment Center with my family for 3 nights over New Years Eve. Our stay was as excellent as ever. Seriously. I travel a lot around Namibia and probably average 40 different hotel / lodge stays a year and the Swakopmund Hotel is always a favorite.

First - best breakfast buffet in Namibia! Hands down #1. From fresh salmon and oysters to eggs prepared as you choose; grilled steaks to ample fresh fruit, it's a terrific meal every time.

Second - smiles. The staff smile. It's such a simple thing, but it makes such a difference, especially to kids.

Third - helpful staff. My family is large and despite all best efforts, things get left. The last time we stayed our 5 year old left her doll in the restaurant. Our waitress ran outside and caught us by the car to return it! It would have been a long, agonizing ride home without the doll. This past visit we left a pair of sunglasses. I returned in the afternoon to find them waiting for us.

Fourth - wonderful property with excellent facilities and good amenities. The property itself is excellent, with large rooms, excellent internet, lights and cable, good quality mattresses and good, sufficient bath amenities.

I recommend the Swakopmund Hotel and Entertainment Center without reservation of any kind. We look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: Room 262 has a very nice balcony and pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kwsproule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.4 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
285 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
African Pride Burning Shore
African Pride Burning Shore
#19 of 19 in Swakopmund
51 reviews
3.4 mi away
SeaSide Hotel and Spa
SeaSide Hotel and Spa
#18 of 19 in Swakopmund
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swakopmund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swakopmund Hotel

Address: 2 Theo-Ben Gurirab Avenue, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range: £127 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swakopmund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swakopmund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing