We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swakopmund Hotel Hosts Amazing Gathering of 700+”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swakopmund Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swakopmund Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Swakopmund Hotel Hosts Amazing Gathering of 700+”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Any organization considering a potential venue for a major event ought to consider the Swakopmund Hotel & Entertainment Center, which served as the base for the 2013 Adventure Travel World Summit. Led by its creative and very positive leader, Janet Wilson Moore, the security staff, the hotel staff, the management staff, was just "on" throughout our entire stay and for the entire event. Our entire Adventure Travel Trade Association staff, our 700+ delegates and our partners throughout Namibia had almost entirely positive thing to say about the venue. By seeing to every detail and being so present throughout the entire event, they eased a lot of anxiety, and made it so our team did not have to sweat the little stuff. Creative use of tent venues gave more dimension to the hotel, the food was delivered in fine style and the operational side of things was top notch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    126
    46
    11
    4
See reviews for
36
103
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for one night on the 1st leg of our short trip to Namibia. The hotel staff are friendly and the rooms were exactly what we expected - clean, efficient and quiet.
The restaurant food was OK although some of the meat looked like it had been waiting since lunchtime so was a bit dry round the edges.
Overall, I have no complaints, the hotel "did what it should" in terms of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acid_slug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

At time of our stay there was no bar - refurbishment- which was disappointing. The hotel did offer "room service" in the reception area - but the experience was awkward. The hotel was fresh looking - bits were being painted during our stay - and the inner courtyard - containing the pool -was beautifully maintained. Rooms were clean and well appointed. The restaurant was good - the food was well cooked and there was a large choice. Restaurant staff were sometimes too keen to clear plates- do not pop to the toilet until you have finished your course - but generally friendly and efficient. The reception team were not up to the standard set in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband. The staff wrre eager and friendly. They were also very helpful. The hotel itself was not that impressive and the prices suggest. It is very old and I think they should update the furniture in the restaurants and rooms. I liked the food on the breakfast buffet. I am however not sure if I would stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at the Swakopmund Hotel and Entertainment Centre for about 10 days in September. It is really quite a complex! It's the old rail station and you can tell, it has that air about it. It's sort of on the edge of downtown but very easy to walk to everything.

Reception – This is nice. There's a lot of places to sit down and hang out and wait for people or just hang out comfortable. There's a bar there too, in the corner, which is a little weird I thought, it's almost like an afterthought, but we did use it and enjoyed it, they did work to please and also sold us a bottle of wine. Upon our arrival they served us juice, which is so nice from a hospitality standpoint and the juice was really good! Also, they had reservations early for me. There is a shop in the lobby as well that sells all kinds of souvenirs, and I suppose it is good in a pinch, but really not needed since there's so much so close.

Grounds - This is really a complex. There was a conference center, fitness center, a casino (with actually really good food and a bar, but the casino was smoky), meeting rooms all over the place, a business center, a Chinese restaurant with mediocre food and just as mediocre service, a pool that isn't really a pool in the courtyard (it is more like a fountain with lounge chairs around it and some umbrellas, but it said guests could use it, I waded in but it was too cold).

Important to note: There is no elevator – a porter helped with our bags, we were only on the second floor of two, but for those who cannot navigate stairs, this is not a wheelchair accessible hotel. There was one room that I think I saw that said it was accessible but I'm not sure. If in doubt - ASK.

Rooms - are really big! It takes South Africa or Europe plugs. The showers were basic, but good. There was great hot water and pressure. I didn’t have a hair dryer but someone else did in their room. But... Cold! The first night I froze. Housekeeping, bless their souls, saw the next day that I had been really cold (I used both duvets) and added another blanket to my bedding. I had to blast a/c to 26 degrees for days on end. Eventually it was toasty and nice, although not the bathroom.

Fitness Center – lots of weight and other machines, There were 3 treadmills but only 2 worked, one was “women only”, 3 ellipticals, same thing with one women only, and then 5 bikes. It's not affiliated w/hotel directly but you could get a free pass at the desk for your stay. It had weird weekend hours, but during the week was open at 5:30 am, and I was impressed that they opened at pretty much exactly when they said they would. It was VERY busy at 530-6:30 am – you can only stay on :20 as there are long lines.

Breakfast – mussels! (I did get a bad one though, and paid for about half the day for that). It was really good overall - lots of variety and also, you could get chicken breasts or other meats grilled to order as well as omelettes and other items.

I signed up for their car service to the airport, I believe it departs hourly, and it was about US$25 per person. Very reasonable.

I was there for meetings and the Conference Center was pretty good. We had some formal occasions and they were handled really well. We also had many working areas of many different sizes and needs and in all the accommodations and acoustics were very good. Staff was friendly and good at breaking things down and reconfiguring them.

If I had any complaints, it was with the wifi. Wifi was okay but slow, but then when it didn’t work for a significant amount of time the front desk was lethargic in its response when you told them and asked about the problem – seemed to be no interest in resolving the issue. In the room it was fine for the most part, although apparently the entire town is off of a single line, and for about 36 hrs. it went down and no one could get wifi at all. It was frustrating because apparently everyone just sits and waits for it to come back on, there's no desire (or maybe no ability) to call tech support or someone and let them know it's not working and get an ETA on functionality. In the Conference Center – again there were many wifi problems, basically it didn’t work all week regardless of what the organizers tried and what they were given as far as wifi connection passwords and so forth. So that part was pretty bad. But still, I was mostly in meetings or out and about and no need to live in the wifi world!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

This is a good hotel though it is old its been well maintained. Check in was quick and efficient and the porter who took the bag to the room was fast and friendly, took the to explain everything in the room, bearing mind a very large number of guests had arrived at the same time of the plane he was efficient, I later on as I went to supper saw the same waiter running with more bags. Great work ethic. The room was big, clean, nice balcony, the bathroom was old though everything worked. The shower head was not the greatest but did the job. The TV was not to great picture quality was blurred in some channels so you could not enjoy all the channels and on a few channels someone forgot to take the cable suppliers info of the screen so you could not actual see the channel, just the channel info. Breakfast was good, everything I could ask for including oysters though service on day one was not good, asked for coffee three times before it actually appeared. Service in the breakfast room on day two improved. We had dinner on one night here as well and the again good with attentive service. The little cloths and gift store by checkin was a disappiontment walked in no greeting and got the distinct feeling I was not welcome and the prices were 5 times what you get in town, skip and walk to town the excersise will do you good and you save a fortune, must be aimed at the rich German market. I would stay here again but looking at the other hotels around there are newer and cheaper priced.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mwant999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The hotel is extremely well run. Front office staff very helpful. Breakfasts are great.

Rooms very comfortable and spacious.

This property is perfect for groups because of its size, so if you aren't with a group you have been warned. There are plenty of boutique hotels and guest houses in Swakop.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wild_World_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swakopmund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swakopmund Hotel

Property: Swakopmund Hotel
Address: 2 Theo-Ben Gurirab Avenue, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swakopmund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swakopmund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing