We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Swakopmund Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swakopmund Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is quite an expensive hotel and whilst the family rooms are small, apart from that, our stay was excellent. The staff are very very friendly (as I found across Namibia). They accommodated our requests from cleaning cars, to finding beaches to braai on, to moving tables so we could sit outside our room etc. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The hotel itself is very well kept and the architecture is lovely. Didnt even bother to visit the casino or cinema next door. Our daughter lost her blanket on this trip. It is so old that it resembles a rag. We suspect that a cleaning lady picked it up and maybe threw it away. Whilst we never found it, the staff went out of their way to look through laundry etc. (It was time it went anyway!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donnalee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Swakopmund Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel has colonial influence, could have been a nice hotel. We had poor experience with the staff, especially impolite at the front desk and the staff who carried out luggage would just stand there to make sure they got tip before they were "willing" to leave the room. The overall cleanness was questionable, especially with older furniture. We had some tower with black marks. We wouldn't recommend this hotel, definitely not near any four stars. We had all other accommodations in our Namibia trip way better than this, was disappointing we got recommended to stay here. The city was wonderful, a lot to do, and we also noticed some much nicer choices in the city

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ting S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for 4wks on business and overall it was ok - managed to negotiate a much lower rate for my duration (as if not, I would be very unhappy with the cost/experience).

Staff are friendly, but not overly helpful/useful - if you submit laundry and put 'on hangers' don't be surprised if your clothes are all returned folded in a plastic bag instead.
If you choose something off the menu - don't be surprised if they don't have this tonight, or that, or the other tonight...
Internet is not free, and doesn't last long before you have to 'top up.
A popular place for groups of tourists - not exactly exclusive.

Other than a few trivial issues, it's an ok hotel - nothing stands out as massively better in the area, so you're probably stuck with it.

Only good thing - cleaners are on the ball - that's good enough for me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A very nice and comfortable hotel in a very "German) town in Namibia. The hotel staff was very helpful, but the wait staff in the Platform One Restaurant was rather slow. The hotel's location is excellent for exploring the town of Swakopmund.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realbigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel is very nice, and the fact that it is the old Swakopmund station makes it a landmark in town. the rooms are spacious, but a bit dated. The bathroom was very small and very out dated. The shower in particularly was a nightmare. Staff was helpful but that's it! The restaurant is not fantastic, food is average and service average as well. It is a good place to stay, but do not expect too much.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManfrediPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed here the past week end. Check in was a drag with the one receptionist on the phone speaking out loudly and trying to sell massages to me whilst still being on the phone instead of checking us in. The room was standard with all the amenities, The stairs to the room was a bit of a bother seeing that my wife is pregnant. There was a power outage at around 11 pm and there doesnt seem to be abck up generator so i was stuck outside my room for a bit . All in all our stay was average.

Room Tip: Choos a room that faces theswimming poll on the lower levels
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We loved the hotel. The room was great. Breakfast every morning was stunning - good variety. Staff are friendly. Unfortunately our stay was spoil because the air conditioner in our room was broken and was not fixed even though we reported it. Our room was unbearably hot which spoilt our stay. The hotel does not have family rooms so we requested that the two rooms booked were next to each other, but when we checked in this was not the case and the staff were unable to fix this error.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueV256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.4 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
359 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swakopmund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swakopmund Hotel

Address: 2 Theo-Ben Gurirab Avenue, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range: £127 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swakopmund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swakopmund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing