We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Swakopmund Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swakopmund Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Really bit worth the money. It is not located in the centre of town and you need to walk a few blocks to find all the shops and cafés that make Swakopmund special. While the building itself is nice, service and food is much better at Hansa Hotel, where you can stay for half the price. Also note that the hotel includes a casino, meaning that you will collide wig the gambling crowd everywhere (pool, restaurants, etc).

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ARThiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    126
    46
    11
    4
See reviews for
36
103
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our group from New Zealand spent one night at this hotel. We found it very good, with comfortable rooms and all services. The meals were excellent. It is well situated, within a few minutes walk from the shopping streets and the waterfront. It is an interesting city, with its German and South African history apparent in the architecture.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
888 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 927 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I stayed the standard two nights and loved every minute of it. Service was great, rooms were clean and well appointed and the food in the restaurant was good with lots of variety. Most importantly, this was the first hotel in Namibia where we found the wifi to be fast and reliable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
95 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Here two nites as part of a tour. Nice facility, rooms a little dated, buffet meals OK. Pretty hotel-standard. Save your laundry to have done here if you are on the go-rates are most reasonable. Staff was friendly, and the facility has an interesting background-it was once a train station. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank like2travelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel which was a train station during colonial times. The building is interesting and the atmosphere is formal. I would not say it was charming; but it has character. Our room was large enough, clean enough and the bath facilities good enough. The wifi worked fine. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet meals were a cut above the usual, breakfast being especially well turned out. I would stay there again; but I would not write home about it. The downtown location makes it convenient to the waterfront and to shopping and restaurants, especially if you do not have your own vehicle. I would recommend it as an interesting place to stay while spending a day or two in the area. This is not a destination resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wabanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

A two night stopover from travelling was a rest indeed. The hotel is a converted railway station and has improved on the charm that its' earlier existence might have had. Good food and clean well appointed rooms are all that one could ask for. A rather pushy porter tended to dull the initial pleasure a little.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morton J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

In the middle of our tour of Namibia we spent 2 nights at the Swakopmund Hotel. My room was large, clean and very comfortable. The hotel which was originally a railway station had a lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was sumptuous. Service was great and I would happily have stayed longer!
The location was good too, walking distance to the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swakopmund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swakopmund Hotel

Property: Swakopmund Hotel
Address: 2 Theo-Ben Gurirab Avenue, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swakopmund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swakopmund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing