We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Breeze Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!!!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

It was a great pleasure to have stayed at this wonderful property. I had heard of the lodge before hand and couldn't wait to try it myself.

As we checked in, Margareth was phenomenal, she helped us get to know a few things to do while in Swakopmund, super friendly and always with a smile.

Once we checked in the the room, I was amazed at the decor, 5 stars in my book. There was a cute little lounge with a fire place already set up, an amazing view of the dunes can be seen either from the nice little balcony or as you wake up. The window opposite the bed is very wide, giving you a nice panoramic view of the Namib Desert.

Breakfast was also fantastic and it was in a good quiet area.

Thank you for the stay, I will come back for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, but request a room that is furthest out closer to the dunes, more intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
118
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

All been said above, but can honestly say that the whole experience (room, location, staff) etc were awesome. I would definitely stay here again. As I only stayed one night, I did not get to try the evening meal but the menu looked good. Breakfast was good - served in the dining room, which also has a great view of the desert.

Room Tip: All rooms look like they would have a good view of the desert, based on the layout of the individual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The lodges are extremely well finished, inside and out. I really enjoyed our stay here, mainly because of the spectacular views from our beautiful lodge - Our bedroom looked out onto the dunes through a huge panoramic window.
The staff are so friendly and helpful. We got great advice on which route to take for the rest of our journey.
The breakfast is pleasant although small. it would be nice to have the option of dinner here, which is not yet offered.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you like the beautiful Sossusvlei, you will have to stay here. We travelled all over the world from the east to the west. But we have never been more impressed, staying in a lodge, then here. This lodge has only large bungalows. All with a tremendous view over the desert which touches the Ocean. The view from you bedroom is awesome!. It is a pity to get out of your bed to visit the very relaxing and safe city of Swakopmund. We wished we had booked an extra night here. The bungalows itself are very well decorated and luxury equipped and we had our own bridge to reach the bungalow. With arts and antiques which you will find over the whole lodge. You can see that the whole place is arranged by people which has a good sense of interior designing. We even had a nice fireplace in the room, because nights could get cold in winter in Swakopmund. The bathroom was stylish and spacious. The restaurant at the reception was decorated the same way as the rooms. The service and staff was more than helpful and friendly. With lots of tips and good advice. We had twice a very good dinner and breakfast. With only a few car-minutes from the town centre, it is probably the best place in town.

Room Tip: We stayed in no 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaoJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at the Desert Breeze the past week for two nights and I couldn't be more impressed with this place. I travel a lot ant it is difficult to find a place that I can consider that goes over my expectations, Desert Breeze definitely goes over everything. The location has no way of being described, you must go and see by yourself, is amazing. The staff goes a mile extra to make you feel comfortable, from the management until the night guard that is awake to open the gate for you without we even buzzed. The rooms are spacious with a lounge, a fire place and a fantastic veranda overlooking the desert. The bathroom very big for the standards that we see nowadays in the hotels. The decoration is sober and adjusted to the scenery, congratulations to the architect and the interior decorator. Right in the dunes, early morning you just have to walk down the property to walk in the dunes. I strongly recommend, if you go to Swakopmund and you don't stay at the Desert Breeze you missed the best of Swakopmund. Congratulations to all.

Room Tip: Any room, they all looking into the desert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco-Namibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were blessed to stay at this charming establishment where we felt ever so welcome - the hospitality of all staff was phenomenal. Our room at Desert Breeze was simply exquisite. We loved the quirkiness of the chalet design, the cleanliness of the room and the coziness of the fireplace. The colours, the art, the attention to detail, the Eco-friendly feel, landscaping and sculptures - just perfect. Great daily breakfast fare and excellent dinners (should you choose to eat-in) are also on offer. The lodge is truly rustic and unique and offers panoramic vistas of the desert dunes stretching ahead of you. Thank you for a truly memorable and relaxing stay. We soaked up every moment of it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

An amazing place, a great desert experience at a very good price. Quiet yet in reach of the town centre. service is great, efficient and it is overall a very well run lodge. view of the desert is amazing from the room. rooms have a fireplace for a cosy winter fire late afternoon and evening. staff were friendly. chef is one of the best and the food is done to perfection.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
1.6 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
371 reviews
2.0 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
327 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
296 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Stiltz
The Stiltz
#7 of 49 in Swakopmund
251 reviews
1.8 mi away
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
#2 of 35 in Swakopmund
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Breeze Lodge

Property: Desert Breeze Lodge
Address: Riverside Avenue, Swakopmund 4045, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Desert Breeze Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In it’s prime position above the ephemeral Swakop River overlooking a vast and sensuous apricot dune sea, Desert Breeze offers the ultimate desert experience. A short drive from central Swakopmund, its spectacular location provides peace and tranquillity away from the bustling town, and the privilege of savouring the ancient Namib Desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Desert Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing